We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“COULD NOT HAVE BEEN BETTER !”
other travellers have booked this property
The villa with view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The villa with view
View of grazing sheep and olive grove Kitchen entrance, loggia and garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The villa with view
View of grazing sheep and olive grove
Kitchen entrance, loggia and garden
View of valley
Kitchen and dining area
Fireplace in kitchen
Living room
Master bedroom
Master bathroom
Bedroom with queen bed
Back yard
Bedroom for three: queen bed and single bed in loft
Room for three with loft
Sun room
10x5meter pool and patio
The pool 10x5 meters
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Scarperia e San Piero, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BIGbob07
SWAINSBORO
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“COULD NOT HAVE BEEN BETTER !”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

we stayed the first two weeks in september, '14 - some friends stayed with us the first week and our daughter and her husband stayed with us part of the second.

this 500 year old farmhouse northeast of florence is very spacious with modern conveniences. it has an eat-in kitchen, three bedrooms, two baths, living room, and a sitting room off the living room with a picture window of the most beautiful view! the terrace in front of the house is partially covered and has a large table that provides outdoor gathering and dining at its very best!

there are two charming donkeys closeby who bray from time to time, and there is meadow below the farmhouse that is sometimes full of sheep (if you bleat, some'll bleat back!), whose tinkling bells and watchful (sometimes barking) sheepdogs provide the most serene setting!

as much as we enjoyed this place, we regret having made too many plans, as hindsight would require that we spend more time there during the day as opposed to treating it like a home base from which to travel to cinque terre, lucca, san gimignano, siena, and, of course, florence. because the location is near a speedway that hosts famous races, there are many very good restaurants. don't miss the war memorial just down the road. if you are a knife enthusiast, scarperia is world famous.

the owner, janilee, who lives on the premises, is very knowledgeable, extremely helpful, and most accommodating. she is from the u.s. but has been living there for years and speaks fluent italian. her help in navigating logistics, making reservations, and offering suggestions is most invaluable. as so completely understandable as janilee's directions to her farmhouse are, we still advise that you first arrive by daylight, as this is a remote location.

we did extensive research on may, many properties before deciding on janilee's farmhouse, and we made the right choice - nothing could have been any better!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: owner's grace, ambiance and charm, kitchen facilities, modern conveniences, bucolic views.
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
Thank you for the best review yet! I really enjoyed having you as guests in my villa. And thank you again for the fantastic pic-nic basket that has become so usefull to me.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrowsto...
Marrowstone Island, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A dream come true in Italy.”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We found this Tuscan Villa almost by accident and it turned out to be the most wonderful vacation ever. The Villa has old farmhouse charm, but has been modernized with wonderful bathrooms, kitchen, several bedrooms with very comfortable beds, and a large Great Room to relax in at the end of the day while recapping the days' activities over wine and cheese. There was also a beautiful Sun room for reading or napping, and the Villa had good Wi-Fi service which was important to us. We spent a week and it was too short. We became fast friends with the owner who is delightful and took good care of us. She is an amazing chef and prepared our dinner upon our arrival and brought delicious homemade pastry for breakfast. She knew all the best local restaurants, made reservations for us, and recommended a wonderful Winery in Chianti. She speaks several languages including English and Italian, which was very helpful to us Americans, as well as checked in with us every day to be sure we were taken well care of.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: This felt like our home away from home.
Liked least: Our time was too short.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrismate...
Mazan, France
1 review
“What a fabulous place!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The location of this villa is wonderful, in the hills above Scarperia, teaming with wildlife.
The villa comes very well equipped from the kitchen to the internet and is very comfortable, cool and spacious.
It's a 10 minuite stroll up the track to the main road where there is a restaurant/bar where you can eat in or take home made produce back to the villa, perfect for us as we were only there for 4 days for the Mugello MotoGP 5 km away. We could have stayed a lot longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it really
Liked least: The track was a little difficult on a road motorcycle.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pvbsue
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous hostess and property!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Italy which included a week in Lake Como and 8 days in the Tuscany region. We traveled with friends and had done a good bit of research before booking this property. The Trip Advisor reviews were the real selling point and we were not disappointed in our selection. The farmhouse is simply amazing and is truly a home - the owner, Janilee Jones, moves to a downstairs apartment when she has guests in the main house. Having her on property at all times, made our visit complete in more ways than one.
First of all, she helped us with travel arrangements and reservations in the area and led us to wineries, hiking trails and out of the way restaurants that we would never found on our own.
Secondly, she is a fabulous cook and prepared 2 glorious meals which were really the highlight of our visit to her home.
The farmhouse is very unique in that it looks down at sheep grazing in the fields below, you can hear donkeys braying at very odd times, and the property itself, while 500 years old, comes equipped with modern kitchen equipment, Wi-Fi, and hot water. The farmhouse is just outside Scarperia and you must be prepared for a drive up a very steep curvy road and then down a very steep gravel road to get to the property. The beautiful valley views and serenity of the site make the drive worthwhile.
Scarperia is a nice town with all the amenities including a large grocery store, a few restaurants, and shops specializing in the cutlery that the area is known for. There is also a well known racetrack nearby which adds another element to your visit to the area.
Thank you Janilee for being such a gracious hostess and sharing your beautiful home with us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The setting and the hostess.
Liked least: The location from town and the long curvy driveway!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachlady...
Michigan City, Indiana
1 review
“It was a perfect week in rural Italy”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We spent a week in this wonderful farmhouse. It is a perfect way to experience rural Italy and to live for a week in a comfortable, well appointed home. Janilee was an excellent hostess and provided everything we needed plus more. Her knowledge of the area and language are really great resources and she was "one of the family" before we left. We could not have asked for a better location, accommodation and experience in Tuscany

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: rental car
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing