We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heaven on earth”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Primrose Sands, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
malavona
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed 7 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Recently stayed at frogmouth cottage in Primose Sands, it was nothing beyond amazing peaceful and a breath of fresh air. Everything was beyond perfect and immaculate with a touch of peace and comfort. I highly recommend this slice of heaven to everyone. It’s a place that will rejuvenate your mind body and soul. Will be returning to paradise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David N
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 22 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

4 generations thoroughy enjoyed their stay at Frogmouth Cottage. It was right on the beach and so nice to hear the waves and watch the tides go in and out.. The cottage was beautifully decorated and well equipped. The kayaks supplied were lots of fun. We would recommend this cottage to any family.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dc8-63
Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“The magic is still, well, magic”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Second visit in a couple of years and we wondered if first time around we were just so overwhelmed that the rose-coloured glasses took over. The truth. Nah. We dwere right first time. This is a spectacular, unique (no more superlatives) place, right on the edge of the sand of a beautiful Tassie beach in a quiet Tassie town. If isolation is your thing with all the advantages of excellent amenities within cooee then this is the place for you. A great spot for couples (romantic, sounds of the sea), or families (beach, kayaking, fishing), or solos seeking inspiration for that novel. What can we say? Frogmouth is just about perfect. Great hosts (Branko and Ivanka) with precious touches such as all the kitchen basics, first class cooking and BBQ facilities, a stunningly-efficient fireplace for chilly night, fishing gear, play equipment, kayaks, DVDs, books ... the list goes on. We spent 12 nights this time around. Frankly, we would love to live there!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2017
Thank you for a lovely review, Steve. There is no business like a repeat business, all of our guests say they want to come back and many have. For us, it's a challenge to make guest's return as pleasurable as the first impression but we work hard at it, constantly improving, maintaining and upgrading.
It's nice to know you had great and relaxing family time and that you left with wonderful memories. Till next time, take care. Cheers!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne S
Muswellbrook, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

thank you Branco and Ivanca for a wonderful and memorable stay, your detail to make your guests feel welcome was second to none
if anyone is visiting the wonderful Tasmania we would highly recommend you spend time in Frogmouth Cottage at Primrose Bay, we managed to visit Hobart, Port Arthur and Bruny Island without much effort at all from the Cottage

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2017
Thank you for making Frogmouth Cottage the first stop, of your, first-ever trip to Tasmania. As they say, there is no impression like the first impression. We are glad you are taking some beautiful memories with you and we are sure that the rest of your stay in Tassie will be just as wonderful. Thank you for the review and we hope you visit us again.
Cheers
Branko
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballaratt...
Ballarat, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The perfect beachside getaway”
Reviewed 18 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Hidden at the bottom of a beach hillside in Primrose Sands with absolute picture perfect beachfront views. Stroll along the beach, or just sit next to the fireplace and look through the magical beachside window that acts as the best TV picture you will ever see. The real TV is good but the view out the window is much better. There are 3 bedrooms, all of good size, and the kitchen / living area is superb. Three couples could stay here and never get in each others road. The kitchen is also well equipped with utensils and cooking gear, more than any other place I have ever stayed. A very comfortable and relaxing place. You can do everything (swim, kayak, fish, etc), or you could do nothing but relax and have a quiet drink by the water.
While Primrose Sands is located off the main road and may seem too far from things you wish to see, I can tell you that this quiet little town is easy to access and it is only a short trip to most places you may wish to see in South Eastern Tassie (Port Arthur, Hobart, Richmond, Huon Valley, etc). There is no retail in Primrose Sands, except for a general store that has reasonable provisions, but Dodges Ferry is only 10 minutes away and has a supermarket, or travel to Sorell 20 minutes away for all normal retail facilities (markets, banks, bakeries, butchers, etc).
This is a place for just about anyone, young and old, active or not, family or no family. You need to see this place to believe it.............

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2017
If you stay at Frogmouth Cottage you may meet "the other residents". Our 3/4 acre bush block on the beach is also safe home home to: Wally and Walla (the Wallabies", Cherry (blue tongue lizard), echidna, pademelons, bandicoot, red robin, kookaburra, finches, yellow tail cockatoos, Jack&Jill (pacific gulls), the Sooties( sooty oystercatcher pair), terns, pied oystercatchers and dolphins.
However, they are all in the wild and very shy so you will have to be patient ,slow and gentle.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing