We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rustic cottage in fabulous location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
The house
Relax pool
Relax pool
Sky sleeping room with ensuite bathroom
Living room
Front view
Front house
Terrace in summer
View from the upper terrace
Back view to upper part of Etna
View to old craters and the coast
The old crater in front of the house
Etna eruption
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Trecastagni, Province of Catania, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Michael F
1 review
“Rustic cottage in fabulous location”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Casa Etnea Volcano House is in a spectacular location on the slopes of Etna. The owner Giuseppe is a great host and very knowledgeable about the volcano, its geology and its history. He has written several books on Etna which can be found in the cottage. He went out of his way to make our stay special, including a tour of a nearby lava flow cave, and a quick text message was all that was needed if we needed a question answered.

The cottage is in a remote location - around 30-40 minutes' drive from Catania Airport - and a hire car is essential, but we were able to explore eastern and southern Sicily in day trips. It is a short drive to the Rifugio Sapienza in order to climb Etna.

The location of the cottage means that water is in short supply and you will need to bring bottled water for drinking (as seems to be normal in Sicily) -- water from the tap can be used for boiling and washing. As we arrived late, Giuseppe made sure we had enough bottled drinking water to last the weekend, before we were able to go to a supermarket.

The kitchen is cosy but has good facilities -- if you are planning to cook regularly you might want to bring a sharp knife and a spare tea towel or two. The bedrooms are very comfortable and maintained to a high standard, with plenty of bathrooms. There is easily space to park a couple of cars behind a locked gate.

Although we stayed in October when it was becoming a little chilly in the evening, there was nevertheless plenty of time to sit outside in the garden area, or on our balcony with its amazing views down to Catania and out to sea.

Thoroughly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and host
Liked least: Lack of a second tea towel in the kitchen
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Also Michael and his friends were special guests, so interested to discover and understand. Thank's to you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan A
Miami, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Under the Volcano”
Reviewed 22 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is a house with a heart and the perfect place to experience the natural beauty of Mt Etna. Placed on the edge of the national park this charming old farm house sits above an old vineyard and extinct volcanic cones that are being reclaimed by nature. It is a bit of a drive out of town so a great place to unwind or base daily excursions to the mountains or to the sea. The house is spacious and divided into three comfortable flats that cater for different size groups. I was lucky to have it all to myself but this would be a great place for a large group of friends or several couples to share. They have mostly all the comforts you will need and the views really are brilliant . Guiseppe your gracious host is a passionate local expert on the mountains and volcano and is a wealth of information about the natural history of Etna and the surrounds. He went out of his way to make sure I was comfortable and experienced the best that the area had to offer. Fantastic place I was sad to leave and would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quiet privacy and natural beauty
Liked least: I like to cook, the kitchen utensils were a bit basic but adequate. Worst part was leaving
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
26Anna
Malta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The surroundings are perfect for experiencing nature, the house is a home.”
Reviewed 18 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Volcano is the perfect place to explore Mount Enta as well as to find relaxing solitude close to nature with unforgettable views.
The landlord family's hospitality is extraordinary. We felt very welcome.
We enjoyed our stay very very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the house at night
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincenzo...
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: il silenzio della natura
Liked least: la strada di accesso da migliorare
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing