We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
24
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones tea property meeting beaches accommodation port history
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Best place for tea in Bathurst. Enjoyed a pot of Assam and a fresh scone while browsing through the travel books on the shelf inside. Nice British feel to the place. Didn't spend the night, but the accommodation looked great.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank CareyF65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

Very nice place to stay in an historical English country house setting. The owners are very welcoming and friendly offering a warm cup of tea or coffee on arrival.I highly recommend this for a comfortable stay.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Vietfrancesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorleyHouse, Owner at Morley House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Morley House and for your kind comments.

We are very glad that you were comfortable during your stay. It was a shame the weather was not so good, but hopefully you can return soon when the sun is shining as it usually is on the 'Sunshine Coast'.

Best regards,
Steve & Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the historical cottage. There is also a rondavel (round house) and permanent tent in the grounds to stay in. There is a pool, a covered decking area within the well maintained garden.
We were lucky enough to stay when they hosted there monthly curry night as the owners Steven & Emma had lived in Sri Lanka it was an amazing authentic meal and they went out of their way to provide a vegetarian alternative at request.

The cottage has 3 bedroom, two doubles and 1 twin singles. A very spacious kitchen. A comfortable sitting room. However we spent most of our time sat outside. The beds are comfortable and accommodation was clean.
Steve and Emma are fantastic hosts and have a great knowledge of the surrounding area and nearby activities. They were extremely helpful in helping us get the most from our stay in Bathurst.
If you don't get to stay just drop in for afternoon tea, I can recommend the scones.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ushi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorleyHouse, Owner at Morley House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Morley House and for the kind comments. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you had chance to join us for our Spice Night. We try to do a different cuisine each month (Thai, Indian, Malaysian etc) so hopefully you can come back again soon and join us for another Spice Night.

Best regards,

Steve & Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Stopped off in Bathurst to look at a craft shop then went to look for a cup of tea and found a gem in Morley House. This place is Immaculate. (Like an Old English garden) and credit to the hosts Steve & Emma for the presentation.The tea shop is quaint and charming and the tea's not bad either. We had tea and scones with cream and jam. My only disappointment was the size of the scone, it was teeny weeny and spoiled the whole experience. Needs to be twice the size then it's an English scone and what you expect from Tea & Scones no matter where you are in the world. Only open Thursday to Sunday for teas etc. But worth the visit.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bowwow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorleyHouse, Owner at Morley House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your visit to Morley House and for your kind feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience but we are sorry that you were not happy with the size of the scones. Emma bakes all the sweet treats herself and the recipe she uses is from the 'Be-Ro Baking Book' dating back to the 1920s which she got from her aunty in England. So they are definitely English in style. We did not want to bake the huge scones which are full of baking powder and air which you get in most South African tea gardens but I guess everybody likes different styles. Maybe next time you could try our cream tea which includes a scone, a slice of fruit loaf, jam, butter and cream and a pot of tea. We have over 20 different types of tea to choose from too.
We hope you can call in again to try them soon.
Best regards,
Steve & Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

Morley House an oasis after days on the road. The fresh baked bread and scones were divine. The breakfasts were excellent and a great way to start the day. The rondavel and tent were cosy and there is a lovely pool in which to cool off. Morley is run by an English couple who are the friendliest and most accommodating hosts. It is with no little sadness that we departed this most delightful and rejuvenating of rest stops.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Robinho C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorleyHouse, Owner at Morley House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Hi,
Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay at Morley House. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you can visit us again in the future.
Best regards,
Steve & Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews