We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Historic Pig & Whistle Hotel(Bathurst)(Great Value!)
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kingston Farm(Bathurst)
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
MyPond Hotel(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$51
US$47
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fish River Resort(Gibraltar Rock)
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Halyards Hotel(Port Alfred)
US$72
US$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$102
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$515
US$438
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$500/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$654
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$52
US$41
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
24
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesafternoon teaoriginal settlerssurrounding areawonderful experiencemade us feelthe kitchenemmacottagetentrondavelchorleygardenpropertyroadsizebedroom
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2017

Very nice place to stay in an historical English country house setting. The owners are very welcoming and friendly offering a warm cup of tea or coffee on arrival.I highly recommend this for a comfortable stay.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Vietfrancesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorleyHouse, Owner at Morley House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Morley House and for your kind comments.

We are very glad that you were comfortable during your stay. It was a shame the weather was not so good, but hopefully you can return soon when the sun is shining as it usually is on the 'Sunshine Coast'.

Best regards,
Steve & Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the historical cottage. There is also a rondavel (round house) and permanent tent in the grounds to stay in. There is a pool, a covered decking area within the well maintained garden.
We were lucky enough to stay when they hosted there monthly curry night as the owners Steven & Emma had lived in Sri Lanka it was an amazing authentic meal and they went out of their way to provide a vegetarian alternative at request.

The cottage has 3 bedroom, two doubles and 1 twin singles. A very spacious kitchen. A comfortable sitting room. However we spent most of our time sat outside. The beds are comfortable and accommodation was clean.
Steve and Emma are fantastic hosts and have a great knowledge of the surrounding area and nearby activities. They were extremely helpful in helping us get the most from our stay in Bathurst.
If you don't get to stay just drop in for afternoon tea, I can recommend the scones.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Ushi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorleyHouse, Owner at Morley House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Morley House and for the kind comments. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you had chance to join us for our Spice Night. We try to do a different cuisine each month (Thai, Indian, Malaysian etc) so hopefully you can come back again soon and join us for another Spice Night.

Best regards,

Steve & Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Stopped off in Bathurst to look at a craft shop then went to look for a cup of tea and found a gem in Morley House. This place is Immaculate. (Like an Old English garden) and credit to the hosts Steve & Emma for the presentation.The tea shop is quaint and charming and the tea's not bad either. We had tea and scones with cream and jam. My only disappointment was the size of the scone, it was teeny weeny and spoiled the whole experience. Needs to be twice the size then it's an English scone and what you expect from Tea & Scones no matter where you are in the world. Only open Thursday to Sunday for teas etc. But worth the visit.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bowwow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorleyHouse, Owner at Morley House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your visit to Morley House and for your kind feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience but we are sorry that you were not happy with the size of the scones. Emma bakes all the sweet treats herself and the recipe she uses is from the 'Be-Ro Baking Book' dating back to the 1920s which she got from her aunty in England. So they are definitely English in style. We did not want to bake the huge scones which are full of baking powder and air which you get in most South African tea gardens but I guess everybody likes different styles. Maybe next time you could try our cream tea which includes a scone, a slice of fruit loaf, jam, butter and cream and a pot of tea. We have over 20 different types of tea to choose from too.
We hope you can call in again to try them soon.
Best regards,
Steve & Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

Morley House an oasis after days on the road. The fresh baked bread and scones were divine. The breakfasts were excellent and a great way to start the day. The rondavel and tent were cosy and there is a lovely pool in which to cool off. Morley is run by an English couple who are the friendliest and most accommodating hosts. It is with no little sadness that we departed this most delightful and rejuvenating of rest stops.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Robinho C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorleyHouse, Owner at Morley House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Hi,
Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay at Morley House. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you can visit us again in the future.
Best regards,
Steve & Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

As a descendant of the original settlers of the Bathurst region, being able to spend a week in the old Settler Cottage was a wonderful experience. The cottage has been carefully restored and is well equipped (especially the kitchen) and comfortable. Being an old historic building, however, there are some minor problems with plumbing and noise. The owners, Steve and Emma, were very friendly and helpful, and made us feel most welcome. While we mainly self-catered, the lunch that we had at the tea house was delicious.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Graham067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorleyHouse, Owner at Morley House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Hi Graham,

Thank you for writing a review of your stay in our historical cottage and for your kind feedback. It was a pleasure to host you, Judy, Peter and Janet and we are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us.

It was fantastic to have people all the way from Bathurst Australia to stay in Bathurst South Africa and we hope you liked our little village and that you can return again in the future.

Best regards,
Steven & Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews