We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Comfortable Inn with a good menu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Bathurst B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Comfortable Inn with a good menu”
Reviewed 1 April 2017

We stayed only one night, my wife and I in an en suite room, our friend in a room in the old part of the Inn with Shared facilities. Despite our visit coinciding with St Patrick Day Celebrations, we were not disturbed. Our room was comfortable and we slept well.

We enjoyed the dinner. Breakfast is not included but the Room rates are so reasonable that this was not a problem. All three of us had a hearty breakfast to see us on our way.

The small village of Bathurst is historically interesting, the Pig and Whistle being the oldest continuously opened Pub in South Africa. Nearby is the oldest Primary School in SA, and other historic Churches and Buildings.

Bathurst is well worth a visit, and the Pig and Whistle is, in my view, a fine place to stay.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul189852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavinCame, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, 4 April 2017
Hi Paul

Thank you so much for your comprehensive review. we really are blessed to be situated in this quaint and quirky village. Probably unique in South Africa. We look forward to your return visit, maybe at the Grahamstown Arts festival later this year (booking essential!!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    22
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
26
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2017

If you are in this part of the Eastern Cape, then this pub is a must. Food is excellent, and you feel that your a part of yesteryear. We sat out on the verhanda and enjoyed a very pleasant lunch. If your kids are looking at Rhodes fro study then this restaurant in Bathurst is a must.

Stayed March 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank terryelewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavinCame, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, 20 January 2017
Thank you Terry for a wonderful review, we certainly try to ensure that all our guests experience the old Inn as you have done. We look forward to hosting you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

We headed into Bathurst for lunch on an overcast day. Clearly lots of other people had the same idea.
Waiting due to busyness is acceptable but we waited over 2,5 hours for pub food ! Pathetic!!!
Please see this positively- it's an awesome spot but you need to gear up and communicate honestly around food timelines ....

Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank maurajarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavinCame, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, 20 January 2017
Thank you for your honest feedback. The season is always a difficult time for small country hotels. All of or food is prepared from raw ingredients, and it is extremely difficult to anticipate quantities for preparation. Our waiting staff are expected to communicate the possible wait times and when we as owners feel that these will be too long we close some of our tables to allow the kitchen to catch up. We apologise for the long delay and hope that we can make amends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2016

A delightful pub, restaurant and accommodation in a charming village. We booked an overnight stay without knowing anything about the village or the inn - what a great place. Our room was very spacious and comfortable, and the meal and pub service outstanding. An absolute must if in the Bathurst area.
We will definitely go out of our way to visit again.

Room Tip: Room 1 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaBax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavinCame, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, 2 January 2017
Hi Angela

Thank you for your wonderful five-out-of-five, we really do get excited and our staff will be delighted with the service levels feedback. Please visit us again. There are a number of great events in and around our quaint village. The Bathurst Agricultural Show, The Grahamstown Festival and the Bathurst Country Affair to name but a few.
Our best regards for a fulfilled 2017
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midrand, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2016

We were in Bathurst for the recent Bathurst Country Affair. We decided to stop at the Pig for a breakfast and were very pleasantly surprised! Fantastic quality, friendly service and reasonably priced. It is well worth a visit!

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganHar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavinCame, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, 19 November 2016
Thank you Megan for the kind comments. Thank you also for visiting or quaint village and our country affair. We look forward to your return visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathurst
11.2 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
308 reviews
12.0 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
297 reviews
28.8 km away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Mansfield Reserve
Mansfield Reserve
#1 of 18 in Port Alfred
102 reviews
11.8 km away
The Lookout Guest House
The Lookout Guest House
#2 of 26 in Port Alfred
165 reviews
10.4 km away
Fort D'Acre Reserve
Fort D'Acre Reserve
#5 of 26 in Port Alfred
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn

Property: The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn
Address: 268 Kowie Road, Bathurst 6166, South Africa (Formerly The Bathurst Inn Pig & Whistle)
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Bathurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bathurst
Price range (per night): R238 - R515
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
David Bristow's latest Book "Been there Done That" (Struik March 2011) rates the Pig and Whistle as a unique place to Stay, Eat, Drink. It appears as number 33 of his top 50!! The Pig & Whistle Inn has 10 beautifully restored rooms with magnificent antiques. There are 4 en-suite rooms and the 6 traditional original rooms with communal bathrooms. All rooms have recently been equipped with new beds and Percale linen. The first owner, Thomas Hartley, built this house in 1821, a three story dwelling with 2 bedrooms on the top floor. The original rooms are rooms 5 and 6 in this Old Settler Inn. We are now rated number one in Bathurst on Trip Adviser. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing