We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Bathurst B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 November 2016

We were in Bathurst for the recent Bathurst Country Affair. We decided to stop at the Pig for a breakfast and were very pleasantly surprised! Fantastic quality, friendly service and reasonably priced. It is well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeganHar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavinCame, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

Thank you Megan for the kind comments. Thank you also for visiting or quaint village and our country affair. We look forward to your return visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Just woke up in our warm and comfy bed at the Pig and Whistle and what a good rest it was after 2 days of driving from the Lowveld of Mpumalanga. I was delighted to find electric blankets and slept like a log. It is a charming building and friendly staff also contribute to making this a worthwhile experience.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank OostSanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavinCame, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Greetings. We thank you for your welcome review. We work hard at maintaining the quality of our sleeping experience and are thankful that you noticed. Thank you also for the comments about our staff. We regard ourselves as a small family dedicated to make your experience a good one. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

We stayed in Port Alfred, and came to the Pig and whistle Inn to have their Steak night. This is most definitely worth it!!!

You choose either Rump, Sirloin or Fillet, you tell the local Butcher Owner how thick you want itm and how many grams you want. He cuts it to size, its weighted and you are given a sticker. Then you head to another counter, give the waitoress your sticker and then order your sides for the steak. Vegetables, onion rings crumbed mushrooms etc all at a really good price. Once you have selected your sides, you head to the bar and pay for your meal. The butcher cooks your steak to your liking, when its ready you are called and you collect your plate and dish up the sides.
For 3 people to all have 300g rump steak plus sides was about R180. You pay the butchery price for the meats. The rump was super tender and really tastey as was the sides.

The staff are friendly, locals are friendly as well, and in winter they have fires going inside so its nice and cozy. The History here is also interesting with all the old documents and photos.

Definitely will be back when we in the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candice816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavinCame, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Hi Candice

Thank you for taking the time to fully explain our very popular steak night. The weekly event on Monday nights is a wonderful opportunity for locals and visitors alike to enjoy an evening of conversation, background music and a value for money meal.....and we do the dishes! We look forward to your return visit.

Thank you for the five stars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Hotel building itself and room beautiful. Staff super friendly. Breakfast really good. All in all great value. BUT ... DON'T GO UNLESS YOU ARE A BIKER or you enjoy hearing them drink and party underneath your room late into the night... but there's more... as a bonus you can see them all in various states of hangovers, where apparently breakfast is also a liquid meal. The cherry on top... noisy smokey donut tricks performed by idiots on the main road .... However if you are a biker...race down there right now.... your mates are waiting; )

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank Laurenatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavinCame, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Hi Lauren

Firstly thank you for the postive feedback regarding our staff. accomodation and food. We really do try to deliver consistent standards at our Historic Inn.

For the benefit of other travellers however we must disagree on your statement "dont go unless you are a biker". For easily 350 days of the year our quiet village is exactly that ...quiet! Once or twice a year, bikers arrange a rally at the historic Bathurst showgrounds which is a great venue for these events. Naturally, because of our 184 year old heritage, and in this case the adverse weather conditions at the camp grounds a few of the bikers spent time in the oldest pub in South Africa. Many of our guests also come into the village at this time just to watch the bikers. Although we dont always know when a group of bikers are touring through the village we are able to advise if there are planned events and urge other guests to enquire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

We love small towns and went for a drive to Bathurst just for the day from Port Elizabeth. We love the village and everything about it. We didnt stay over in the hotel but had lunch there and EVERYBODY working there was great! I was given a tour of the rooms and i will be making a booking later in the year! The owners have a gem!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Rudi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavinCame, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Five-out-of-five! Thank you Rudi. It is great when we get feedback about our staff, they are the backbone of our business. Our wonderful little village, its locals and ambiance all help. We look forward to your return visit and stay. If it is over a monthend, bring your dancing shoes an party energy....you will love it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathurst
12 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
321 reviews
0,3 km away
Morley House Historical Accommodation & Tea Gardens
3,5 km away
Kingston Farm
Kingston Farm
#3 of 5 in Bathurst
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn

Address: 268 Kowie Road, Bathurst 6166, South Africa (Formerly The Bathurst Inn Pig & Whistle)
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Bathurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bathurst
Price Range: R450 - R737 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
David Bristow's latest Book "Been there Done That" (Struik March 2011) rates the Pig and Whistle as a unique place to Stay, Eat, Drink. It appears as number 33 of his top 50!! The Pig & Whistle Inn has 10 beautifully restored rooms with magnificent antiques. There are 4 en-suite rooms and the 6 traditional original rooms with communal bathrooms. All rooms have recently been equipped with new beds and Percale linen. The first owner, Thomas Hartley, built this house in 1821, a three story dwelling with 2 bedrooms on the top floor. The original rooms are rooms 5 and 6 in this Old Settler Inn. We are now rated number one in Bathurst on Trip Adviser. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing