We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only for bikers ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Bathurst B&B and Inns
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Only for bikers ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Hotel building itself and room beautiful. Staff super friendly. Breakfast really good. All in all great value. BUT ... DON'T GO UNLESS YOU ARE A BIKER or you enjoy hearing them drink and party underneath your room late into the night... but there's more... as a bonus you can see them all in various states of hangovers, where apparently breakfast is also a liquid meal. The cherry on top... noisy smokey donut tricks performed by idiots on the main road .... However if you are a biker...race down there right now.... your mates are waiting; )

Stayed September 2016, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Laurenatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavinCame, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, 5 September 2016
Hi Lauren

Firstly thank you for the postive feedback regarding our staff. accomodation and food. We really do try to deliver consistent standards at our Historic Inn.

For the benefit of other travellers however we must disagree on your statement "dont go unless you are a biker". For easily 350 days of the year our quiet village is exactly that ...quiet! Once or twice a year, bikers arrange a rally at the historic Bathurst showgrounds which is a great venue for these events. Naturally, because of our 184 year old heritage, and in this case the adverse weather conditions at the camp grounds a few of the bikers spent time in the oldest pub in South Africa. Many of our guests also come into the village at this time just to watch the bikers. Although we dont always know when a group of bikers are touring through the village we are able to advise if there are planned events and urge other guests to enquire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    20
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

We love small towns and went for a drive to Bathurst just for the day from Port Elizabeth. We love the village and everything about it. We didnt stay over in the hotel but had lunch there and EVERYBODY working there was great! I was given a tour of the rooms and i will be making a booking later in the year! The owners have a gem!

Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rudi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavinCame, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2016
Five-out-of-five! Thank you Rudi. It is great when we get feedback about our staff, they are the backbone of our business. Our wonderful little village, its locals and ambiance all help. We look forward to your return visit and stay. If it is over a monthend, bring your dancing shoes an party energy....you will love it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theunissen
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2016

we got there late the evening. we where help to our room. it was huge on the first floor. it did not have its own bathroom bat a washbasin with cold water. the floor is wooden floor beautiful. nice big bed and warm when you are in.

it have two windows from where you may look out on the street in front of the hotel

if you take the time span it is operating it is a wonderful little hotel

Room Tip: try to get a room with a bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cobusTheunissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavinCame, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Hi Cobus

Thank you for the wonderful feedback.

For the information of other readers we have two types of rooms at the old Inn. The Historic rooms are the authentic and affordable original rooms whch are over 180 years old. These wonderful rooms offer shared bathroom facilities in nearby newly upgraded bathrooms. As an alternative we have a number of en-suite bedrooms situated in the newer part of the hotel. Guests choose these at a slightly higher rate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
159 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

As authentic oldeworlde as you get. Quaint old Inn in a sleepy arty village. Hearty breakfast, typical local pub, almost waiting for Basil to pop down the stairs. Nice mix of locals and tourists gives a real feel to this historic gem

Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavinCame, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2016
Hi Michael
Thank you for your review, we are probably more proud of our locals than we are about our famous Inn. Your return visit needs to be timed around some of Bathurst's great events. Visit at the Bathurst show in 2017
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2016

Bathurst is a charming and historic little town, qualities that are exemplified by the Historic Pig and Whistle Inn. I had a very pleasant and all-too-brief one-night stay here in June 2016; my room was spacious and comfortable (with a wonderful old-style bathtub,) the food was excellent, and the service friendly and helpful. I also throughly enjoyed chatting with some of the gregarious local residents in the pub. Thanks to Gavin, Lucile and their staff for their hospitality and great advice on local sights. I will certainly be back!

  • Stayed June 2016, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavinCame, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2016
Hi Donald, it was wonderful to host you at South Africa's oldest pub. Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to a return visit. Perhaps next year's Bathurst Show?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathurst
12.5 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
11.2 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
12.0 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Kingston Farm
Kingston Farm
#3 of 5 in Bathurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
23.7 km away
Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp
6.4 km away
Mansfield Reserve
Mansfield Reserve
#1 of 17 in Port Alfred
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn

Property: The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn
Address: 268 Kowie Road, Bathurst 6166, South Africa (Formerly The Bathurst Inn Pig & Whistle)
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Bathurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bathurst
Price range (per night): R436 - R635
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
David Bristow's latest Book "Been there Done That" (Struik March 2011) rates the Pig and Whistle as a unique place to Stay, Eat, Drink. It appears as number 33 of his top 50!! The Pig & Whistle Inn has 10 beautifully restored rooms with magnificent antiques. There are 4 en-suite rooms and the 6 traditional original rooms with communal bathrooms. All rooms have recently been equipped with new beds and Percale linen. The first owner, Thomas Hartley, built this house in 1821, a three story dwelling with 2 bedrooms on the top floor. The original rooms are rooms 5 and 6 in this Old Settler Inn. We are now rated number one in Bathurst on Trip Adviser. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing