We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only for bikers ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Bathurst B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Hotel building itself and room beautiful. Staff super friendly. Breakfast really good. All in all great value. BUT ... DON'T GO UNLESS YOU ARE A BIKER or you enjoy hearing them drink and party underneath your room late into the night... but there's more... as a bonus you can see them all in various states of hangovers, where apparently breakfast is also a liquid meal. The cherry on top... noisy smokey donut tricks performed by idiots on the main road .... However if you are a biker...race down there right now.... your mates are waiting; )

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank Laurenatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavinCame, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Hi Lauren

Firstly thank you for the postive feedback regarding our staff. accomodation and food. We really do try to deliver consistent standards at our Historic Inn.

For the benefit of other travellers however we must disagree on your statement "dont go unless you are a biker". For easily 350 days of the year our quiet village is exactly that ...quiet! Once or twice a year, bikers arrange a rally at the historic Bathurst showgrounds which is a great venue for these events. Naturally, because of our 184 year old heritage, and in this case the adverse weather conditions at the camp grounds a few of the bikers spent time in the oldest pub in South Africa. Many of our guests also come into the village at this time just to watch the bikers. Although we dont always know when a group of bikers are touring through the village we are able to advise if there are planned events and urge other guests to enquire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

We love small towns and went for a drive to Bathurst just for the day from Port Elizabeth. We love the village and everything about it. We didnt stay over in the hotel but had lunch there and EVERYBODY working there was great! I was given a tour of the rooms and i will be making a booking later in the year! The owners have a gem!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Rudi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavinCame, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Five-out-of-five! Thank you Rudi. It is great when we get feedback about our staff, they are the backbone of our business. Our wonderful little village, its locals and ambiance all help. We look forward to your return visit and stay. If it is over a monthend, bring your dancing shoes an party energy....you will love it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

we got there late the evening. we where help to our room. it was huge on the first floor. it did not have its own bathroom bat a washbasin with cold water. the floor is wooden floor beautiful. nice big bed and warm when you are in.

it have two windows from where you may look out on the street in front of the hotel

if you take the time span it is operating it is a wonderful little hotel

Room Tip: try to get a room with a bathroom
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cobusTheunissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavinCame, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Hi Cobus

Thank you for the wonderful feedback.

For the information of other readers we have two types of rooms at the old Inn. The Historic rooms are the authentic and affordable original rooms whch are over 180 years old. These wonderful rooms offer shared bathroom facilities in nearby newly upgraded bathrooms. As an alternative we have a number of en-suite bedrooms situated in the newer part of the hotel. Guests choose these at a slightly higher rate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

As authentic oldeworlde as you get. Quaint old Inn in a sleepy arty village. Hearty breakfast, typical local pub, almost waiting for Basil to pop down the stairs. Nice mix of locals and tourists gives a real feel to this historic gem

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavinCame, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Hi Michael
Thank you for your review, we are probably more proud of our locals than we are about our famous Inn. Your return visit needs to be timed around some of Bathurst's great events. Visit at the Bathurst show in 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Bathurst is a charming and historic little town, qualities that are exemplified by the Historic Pig and Whistle Inn. I had a very pleasant and all-too-brief one-night stay here in June 2016; my room was spacious and comfortable (with a wonderful old-style bathtub,) the food was excellent, and the service friendly and helpful. I also throughly enjoyed chatting with some of the gregarious local residents in the pub. Thanks to Gavin, Lucile and their staff for their hospitality and great advice on local sights. I will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavinCame, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2016

Hi Donald, it was wonderful to host you at South Africa's oldest pub. Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to a return visit. Perhaps next year's Bathurst Show?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathurst
12.0 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
305 reviews
28.8 km away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
11.2 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Mansfield Reserve
Mansfield Reserve
#1 of 18 in Port Alfred
102 reviews
10.4 km away
Fort D'Acre Reserve
Fort D'Acre Reserve
#5 of 27 in Port Alfred
69 reviews
11.8 km away
The Lookout Guest House
The Lookout Guest House
#2 of 27 in Port Alfred
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn

Address: 268 Kowie Road, Bathurst 6166, South Africa (Formerly The Bathurst Inn Pig & Whistle)
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Bathurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bathurst
Price Range: R413 - R546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
David Bristow's latest Book "Been there Done That" (Struik March 2011) rates the Pig and Whistle as a unique place to Stay, Eat, Drink. It appears as number 33 of his top 50!! The Pig & Whistle Inn has 10 beautifully restored rooms with magnificent antiques. There are 4 en-suite rooms and the 6 traditional original rooms with communal bathrooms. All rooms have recently been equipped with new beds and Percale linen. The first owner, Thomas Hartley, built this house in 1821, a three story dwelling with 2 bedrooms on the top floor. The original rooms are rooms 5 and 6 in this Old Settler Inn. We are now rated number one in Bathurst on Trip Adviser. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing