We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A novelty place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Bathurst B&B and Inns
Knysna
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A novelty place to stay”
Reviewed 4 September 2015

The Pig & Whistle is worth a visit, it's certainly popular and busy at weekends (when we were there). It's on the main road and good for watching the world go by. Parking is on the street, although there's a car guard and cameras overlooking the parking area. We didn't have a meal here, but again the hotel seems very popular as an eating place. Breakfast isn't included in the room rate, there's a reasonable breakfast menu and you pay per choice, coffee/tea charged per serving.

Room Tip: If you want an en-suite room, you need to specify that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavinCame, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, 28 September 2015
Thank you for the review Jill, we are pleased you pointed out the en-suite choice. As a national monument, some of our Historical Rooms cannot be served with an en-suite bathroom, however there are nearby bathrooms, some with separate showers that have been fully refurbished. The Historic rooms provide good accommodation for those with a limited budget or who are looking to experience the feel of the 184 year building.

We look forward to your return visit. Perhaps the Bathurst Agricultural Show on 1-3 April 2016 (booking essential!!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    21
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
26
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2015

After an interesting visit to the 'Pineapple', the 'Pig and Whistle' is the ideal spot for lunch. It is central and you get to view everything from cows strolling by to all the local dogs. We were lucky it was a lovely warm day so we enjoyed drinks and lunch served on the veranda. The 'Pot' pies with salad were super.

  • Stayed August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KillineyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavinCame, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, 28 September 2015
We thank you sincerely for the positive endorsement. It is also a real thrill to be visited by people like yourselves from far off lands. Our staff will be delighted to see the score you reflected for service and the quality of our famous pot pies. We would love to welcome you back to our Historic Pub. What about the Bathurst Agricultural Show in April 2016? We would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2015

The Inn is a great place to stay if you like the novelty of staying in an old haunted hotel. Our night was very peaceful and we can't say we were visited by a spectre in the night, but we were probably too drunk to notice because we only left the bar downstairs in the wee hours of the morning.

Lots of fun, we'll definitely be back! Cheers!

Room Tip: Ask for the en-suit rooms for convenience
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLB0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2015
Hi there,

Thank you for the positive review, many say that the spirits are actually in the pub!. The best part of Bathurst are its locals and visitors who come to our special village to sense the history. We look forward to hosting you again. Perhaps the Bathurst Country Affair in August. Or the Bathurst Agricultural Show in April next year?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2015

We were on our way back from Cape Town and having taken a wrong turning after Port Elizabeth we ended up having to travel from Grahamstown to East London via Bathurst. When we got to Bathurst the Inn was a welcome sight and it being around 7pm we decided to stop and have a meal. Once again were were not disappointed. We tried their delicious and filling Streak and Onion and Chicken and Mushroom Pot Pies respectively. They were delicious. We shall return.

  • Stayed February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, 9 March 2015
Dear John,

thank you for the positive feedback and the time spent to write it on Tripadvisor.

Pot Pies have always been popular at the Inn as are our burgers. A weekend at the Pig is a must when we can tempt you with our famous Sunday roasts on our equally famous veranda. From February we offer our more extensive, out of season menu, with a great selection of good value meals. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2015

The Inn is a piece of history! The village is worth a few hours of meandering and "The Pig" provides the perfect base! Lots of ambience provided by the locals in and around the pub. Very enthusiastic hands-on owners made the visit a pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, 9 February 2015
Thanks for the wonderful review, we value the positive feedback and the fact that you took the trouble to write. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathurst
11.2 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
299 reviews
21.1 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
34.6 km away
Bartholomew's Loft
Bartholomew's Loft
#6 of 29 in Grahamstown
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.3 km away
Browns at 137 High Street Grahamstown
0.3 km away
Morley House Historical Accommodation & Tea Gardens
3.5 km away
Kingston Farm
Kingston Farm
#3 of 5 in Bathurst
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn

Property: The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn
Address: 268 Kowie Road, Bathurst 6166, South Africa (Formerly The Bathurst Inn Pig & Whistle)
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Bathurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bathurst
Price range (per night): R454 - R493
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
David Bristow's latest Book "Been there Done That" (Struik March 2011) rates the Pig and Whistle as a unique place to Stay, Eat, Drink. It appears as number 33 of his top 50!! The Pig & Whistle Inn has 10 beautifully restored rooms with magnificent antiques. There are 4 en-suite rooms and the 6 traditional original rooms with communal bathrooms. All rooms have recently been equipped with new beds and Percale linen. The first owner, Thomas Hartley, built this house in 1821, a three story dwelling with 2 bedrooms on the top floor. The original rooms are rooms 5 and 6 in this Old Settler Inn. We are now rated number one in Bathurst on Trip Adviser. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing