We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two words: Historic & Pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Bathurst B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Two words: Historic & Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2015

The Inn is a great place to stay if you like the novelty of staying in an old haunted hotel. Our night was very peaceful and we can't say we were visited by a spectre in the night, but we were probably too drunk to notice because we only left the bar downstairs in the wee hours of the morning.

Lots of fun, we'll definitely be back! Cheers!

Room Tip: Ask for the en-suit rooms for convenience
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLB0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2015
Hi there,

Thank you for the positive review, many say that the spirits are actually in the pub!. The best part of Bathurst are its locals and visitors who come to our special village to sense the history. We look forward to hosting you again. Perhaps the Bathurst Country Affair in August. Or the Bathurst Agricultural Show in April next year?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    20
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2015

We were on our way back from Cape Town and having taken a wrong turning after Port Elizabeth we ended up having to travel from Grahamstown to East London via Bathurst. When we got to Bathurst the Inn was a welcome sight and it being around 7pm we decided to stop and have a meal. Once again were were not disappointed. We tried their delicious and filling Streak and Onion and Chicken and Mushroom Pot Pies respectively. They were delicious. We shall return.

  • Stayed February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, 9 March 2015
Dear John,

thank you for the positive feedback and the time spent to write it on Tripadvisor.

Pot Pies have always been popular at the Inn as are our burgers. A weekend at the Pig is a must when we can tempt you with our famous Sunday roasts on our equally famous veranda. From February we offer our more extensive, out of season menu, with a great selection of good value meals. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2015

The Inn is a piece of history! The village is worth a few hours of meandering and "The Pig" provides the perfect base! Lots of ambience provided by the locals in and around the pub. Very enthusiastic hands-on owners made the visit a pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, 9 February 2015
Thanks for the wonderful review, we value the positive feedback and the fact that you took the trouble to write. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley on Klip, South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2015

My son and I embarked on a motorcycle trip to Simons Town taking the secondary roads less traveled which proved to be quiet and in generally good condition for bikers. Our first stop over after 1000 kms was The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn...we immediately felt at home after such a long trip on 2 wheels...the Hotel rooms felt like Grandmas house...all clean with crisp white linen. We were on a room only basis but choose to have dinner in the pub downstairs, my son having the generous hamburger and I the even more generous meat pie both of which were homemade and recommended by a local patron...neither disappointed. If you want the best of local then this is the place to lay your head.

Room Tip: We had en-suite which apparently is optional and suited our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McGuigan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2015
Hi the McGuigans,

It really is such a thrill for us as owners to receive such positive feedback! Thank you for the perfect score as well. Sophie, in the kitchen will be delighted to hear that her two specials, the Pot Pie and the Burger were your choices and that you enjoyed them. We look forward to hosting you again, perhaps the Bathurst Agricultural Show in April or the Grahamstown Festival later in 2015.

we appreciate that you took the time to write on Tripadvisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2014

We only stayed for one night, but wish it had been a longer stay. Room was fabulous with a very comfortable four poster bed. Food was excellent and the locals made us feel like long time friends rather than tourists. We had a great night, thanks for the fun!

  • Stayed November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morticia52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, 21 November 2014
Hi Morticia - thank you for your welcome comments and score! The four poster bed is our newest investment in making our guests feel the history of or 182 year old Inn. We cannot however claim credit for our wonderful locals, they are what they are... friendly engaging people! We look forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathurst
12.5 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
11.2 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
12.0 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
3.5 km away
Kingston Farm
Kingston Farm
#3 of 5 in Bathurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
23.7 km away
Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn

Property: The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn
Address: 268 Kowie Road, Bathurst 6166, South Africa (Formerly The Bathurst Inn Pig & Whistle)
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Bathurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bathurst
Price range (per night): R443 - R531
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
David Bristow's latest Book "Been there Done That" (Struik March 2011) rates the Pig and Whistle as a unique place to Stay, Eat, Drink. It appears as number 33 of his top 50!! The Pig & Whistle Inn has 10 beautifully restored rooms with magnificent antiques. There are 4 en-suite rooms and the 6 traditional original rooms with communal bathrooms. All rooms have recently been equipped with new beds and Percale linen. The first owner, Thomas Hartley, built this house in 1821, a three story dwelling with 2 bedrooms on the top floor. The original rooms are rooms 5 and 6 in this Old Settler Inn. We are now rated number one in Bathurst on Trip Adviser. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing