We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Our Long Way Down"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Bathurst B&B and Inns
Henley on Klip, South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“"Our Long Way Down"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2015

My son and I embarked on a motorcycle trip to Simons Town taking the secondary roads less traveled which proved to be quiet and in generally good condition for bikers. Our first stop over after 1000 kms was The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn...we immediately felt at home after such a long trip on 2 wheels...the Hotel rooms felt like Grandmas house...all clean with crisp white linen. We were on a room only basis but choose to have dinner in the pub downstairs, my son having the generous hamburger and I the even more generous meat pie both of which were homemade and recommended by a local patron...neither disappointed. If you want the best of local then this is the place to lay your head.

Room Tip: We had en-suite which apparently is optional and suited our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McGuigan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2015
Hi the McGuigans,

It really is such a thrill for us as owners to receive such positive feedback! Thank you for the perfect score as well. Sophie, in the kitchen will be delighted to hear that her two specials, the Pot Pie and the Burger were your choices and that you enjoyed them. We look forward to hosting you again, perhaps the Bathurst Agricultural Show in April or the Grahamstown Festival later in 2015.

we appreciate that you took the time to write on Tripadvisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    20
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2014

We only stayed for one night, but wish it had been a longer stay. Room was fabulous with a very comfortable four poster bed. Food was excellent and the locals made us feel like long time friends rather than tourists. We had a great night, thanks for the fun!

  • Stayed November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morticia52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, 21 November 2014
Hi Morticia - thank you for your welcome comments and score! The four poster bed is our newest investment in making our guests feel the history of or 182 year old Inn. We cannot however claim credit for our wonderful locals, they are what they are... friendly engaging people! We look forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2014

We were booked into a room at the Pig and Whistle. Unfortunately our room window was facing the main road and very noisy. The room was also extremely hot and definitely needed a ceiling fan. For these reasons, we requested a room change. The room we moved into was very pleasant, cool and quiet. The ceiling fan only had one setting (very fast). The food and service was great. There is an outside area for the kids to play in, but it needed a bit of TLC.

Our stay was otherwise pleasant and I would recommend it more as a romantic getaway than a family getaway. Great place to meet interesting friendly people.

Room Tip: As for a room away from the main road and bar area with a fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grahamstonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, 14 November 2014
Thank you for the constructive feedback. We will certainly check the ceiling fan in your room. Thank you for the positive feedback about the food and your new room. The garden area is actually our next project with plans for a small plunge pool and a stage for musicians to perform outdoors on those very hot balmy days that the sunshine coast gets it name from. We look forward to welcoming you back, maybe for that romantic weekend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Apart from its history as the oldest pub in South Africa, this is a very pleasant spot to stop over. The pub is full of character and atmosphere and the food is good solid "pub fare". The rooms are well appointed and I could almost feel the history.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Steve, thank you for your positive review we all really appreciate the feedback. We are indeed fortunate to be the guardians of this famous monument situated in our quaint village, you may be interested to read a recent article http://edition.cnn.com/2014/05/29/travel/bathurst-south-africa/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Alfresco Dining on the veranda on a lazy Saturday afternoon....at the Pig and Whistle, which is claimed to be the longest standing and uninterrupted Liquor Licence, which is hugely impressive ....had a starter and main course and it was a good helping, excellent salad and chips...but then after reading the reviews on the other food should have tried the infamous Hamburgers...so for next time we will see and we could have our DJ on a lead with us
.....thanks to Lucille and Gavin Came for doing a sterling job there...

Room Tip: Ask the owners...I have never see the rooms...all good as I have heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Angi

Thank you for your wonderful feedback- we would certainly love to host you again. The burgers are a real treat as is our famous Sunday Lunch. Perhaps a sleepover on your next visit?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathurst
12.5 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
11.2 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
12.0 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Kingston Farm
Kingston Farm
#3 of 5 in Bathurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
23.7 km away
Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp
6.4 km away
Mansfield Reserve
Mansfield Reserve
#1 of 17 in Port Alfred
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn

Property: The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn
Address: 268 Kowie Road, Bathurst 6166, South Africa (Formerly The Bathurst Inn Pig & Whistle)
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Bathurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bathurst
Price range (per night): R436 - R535
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
David Bristow's latest Book "Been there Done That" (Struik March 2011) rates the Pig and Whistle as a unique place to Stay, Eat, Drink. It appears as number 33 of his top 50!! The Pig & Whistle Inn has 10 beautifully restored rooms with magnificent antiques. There are 4 en-suite rooms and the 6 traditional original rooms with communal bathrooms. All rooms have recently been equipped with new beds and Percale linen. The first owner, Thomas Hartley, built this house in 1821, a three story dwelling with 2 bedrooms on the top floor. The original rooms are rooms 5 and 6 in this Old Settler Inn. We are now rated number one in Bathurst on Trip Adviser. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing