We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property
Borthwen Holiday Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Borthwen Holiday Cottage
This pup loves the fact we're Pet Friendly! Comfortable Lounge with Coal Effect stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Borthwen Holiday Cottage
This pup loves the fact we're Pet Friendly!
Comfortable Lounge with Coal Effect stove
Comfortable seating for 5.
Spacious Dining Room
Fantastic Bathroom with Separate Shower Cubicle
Fantasticly powerful Shower!
Large Double Bedroom.
Sunny, Secluded Courtyard Garden.
Borthwen is located in a nice quiet side street close to the shops.
Borthwen is a stone built Miner's cottage built circa 1865.
Blaenau Ffestiniog High Street
Leaving Blaenau Ffestiniog for Porthmadoc
Now, that's a Proper Push-Me-Pull-You!
View from the top of Zip World's Titan Run
Setting off from the top of Titan
What a Ride!
Having Fun on Zip World's Fforest Coaster!
At the start of an Antur Stiniog DH run.
We're on our Way!
Llyn Ystradau at Tanygrisiau
Waterfall near Cymerau Isaf Farm
Black Rock Sands
Dogs just love this beach!
Having a wonderful time, wish you were here!
Time for a nice kip after a hard day at the beach!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SEMarley
2 reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 31 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Great house, more spacious than expected and felt very much like a home from home. Huge bathroom and the kitchen, dining room and lounge were all plenty big enough for the four of us staying. Really friendly neighbours and incredibly close to the railway station and amenities on the High Street. Booking process and access all straightforward too. Just what we were looking for, thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2018
Thank you for your great review, we are so pleased that you found the Cottage very spacious & homely and that you felt the local amenities were so convenient for you.
Ade & the Borthwen Holiday Cottage crew.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahj120...
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Week stay”
Reviewed 23 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Returned today from a weeks stay at the cottage, great location plenty of on road parking but right outside never a problem to park friendly neighbours. House has large bedrooms and fantastic bathroom and lovely kitchen all lovely furnished and clean nice sized garden if the weather is kind to you to be able to sit in it :) Separate dining room and lounge.My only complaint would be the lounge it smelt very strongly of dogs as we don't have dogs it was quite a strong smell to live I'm assuming it must be in the carpet , apart from that super place to stay would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2017
Thank you for a fabulous review & we're so pleased that you found Borthwen to be a super place to stay. With regard to the strong smell of dog, we do take every effort at turnround to refresh the whole house. Unfortunately the guest that left the house on the day you arrived had a dog & the weather the previous week was particularly wet. I can only apologise that in this instance, the smell was still apparent to you on your arrival.

We hope that you will still consider Borthwen should you return to North Wales in future.

Ade & everyone at Borthwen Holiday Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elsie868
St Davids, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Homely”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We knew what to expect from the outside and we knew it was a pet friendly cottage. However nothing prepared me for the smell of wet dog throughout the downstairs. DON'T let that comment put you off because by keeping the place aired for the week it wasn't an issue. The cottage was immaculate and very homely. It felt as if someone had left their home and we had walked in. The little touches and thoughtful additions such as a pet cupboard just made the place all the more special. The pictures did not do the cottage justice. You will not be disappointed with this property! The bathroom was an amazing surprise and not what you would expect to find in such a cottage. Alot of care,thought and pride was put into this home and it felt like a home and not a holiday rental. The owner communicated appropriately throughout and was always thoughtful of our needs. If i could put this cottage in every location i visited i would happily rent it again. Nothing i would change.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2017
Thank you for your great review & lovely comments about us & our cottage! Being pet friendly, we are aware that dogs can get quite wet up in North Wales from time to time & can leave that wet dog smell behind when they leave. We will pay particular attention to that problem when the weather has not been very kind to our guests & pups in future.

Ade & the Borthwen Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sethstone
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable stay”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Before the holiday started, the owner emailed all all the clear instructions necessary to find the cottage and how to get in. There was a pint of milk and packet of biscuits waiting. There was also some sugar and tea bags, all a very nice thought and very welcome after a long drive.
The accommodation was extremely good and spacious. The kitchen and bathroom are modern and quite newly fitted and had all the amenities to make our stay a comfortable and enjoyable one. There is wifi, TV with recordable freesat, a dvd player and a good selection of films to watch. There is also full central heating and very comfortable electric fire in the living and dining rooms. There is a nice small rear garden, ideal for sitting out with a cup of tea or there was a barbecue area but the weather wasn't quite good enough for that. The area in which it is situated is not exactly thriving but the high street and station are easy walking distances and parking is very easy right outside. There are convenience shops close by.
There is lots to see and do in the surrounding area. We enjoyed trips to Snowdon, Harlech and Bewys Y Coed and a trip on the Ffestiniog narrow guage railway to Porthmadog and mainline to Llandudno.
North Wales is undoubtably a beautiful and picturesque place to visit and I would be happy to return some time and would be more than happy to stay at Borthwen in the future. It was very clean and ideally situated for our visit. The only criticisms I have are that the beds were very soft, though having said that, I did sleep well in them so maybe not really a criticism but they were very soft. The only thing that did annoy was the tiny washing up bowl and quite useless draining rack but that really was the only thing. All in all a very happy holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2017
Thank you for such a brilliant review! We are so pleased you found Borthwen easily & that it was spacious and well equipped as well as having a great holiday in beautiful North Wales. I will review your points regarding the washing up bowl & drainer and try to improve on them. Should you return to Snowdonia in the future, we would love to have you stay with us again.

Ade & the Borthwen Holiday Cottage team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred W
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“North Wales ”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed at Borthwen holiday cottage. Very well presented, clean and very suitable. Tank you to the owners. Had trips to slate mine. Guide Phil was excellent. Went to Surf Snowdonia where 2 17yr olds and a 13yr old had a great time. Went to Mount Snowdon(pre book tickets if you want the train). Llundudno was good and clean. Eat at Royal Oak in Betws y Coed, good value grill.
Had great time but be prepared to travel to other places so plan your routes.
A5 was busy so allow time for journey to Wales.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
Thank you for the fantastic review & great tips for other travellers. We are so pleased you all had a great time exploring the area & the activities to be found in the National Park. Here's hoping you come back again in the future, a warm welcome will be waiting for you at Borthwen Holiday Cottage should you choose us again. Many thanks.

Ade & the Borthwen team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing