We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lots of space and character”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of house from the church opposite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of house from the church opposite
Panoramic viewpoint near the school in Blaenau F Nearby Moelwyn mountains
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
5 reviews
Front of house from the church opposite
Panoramic viewpoint near the school in Blaenau F
Nearby Moelwyn mountains
Bluebell woods, five minutes walk down the valley
Near Porthmadog
Living room
Dining room
Small kitchen
Main double room
Small double & single room (sorry - not a very good photo)
Twin room
Downstairs double room
There are a few days a year it's possible to sunbath in the garden! (sorry about the feet!)
Front of the old rectory
Photos of pages of the guest book
Photos of pages of the guest book
Photos of pages of the guest book
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ulverston, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Aug 2018
Thanks for your review, Amy!
It does need a little updating and it’s a big place to try to keep clean so we will try to keep on top of it - thanks for letting us know.
Best wishes
Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sam D
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Spacious, cosy house in a great location”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Cae Bach is a lovely big house in Blaenau Ffestiniog, a former Rectory with loads of rooms and space to relax. We spent most evenings lazing in the living room after hard days of walking, and although we didn't need to use it as it was very warm there is a lovely woodburner which makes the living room a very cosy place to spend time. We did use the heated paintings, very quirky and surprisingly warm very quickly! The dining room is huge with a massive table, great for crafts, studying or one of the many jigsaws on the shelves! The kitchen is small but has everything you need - even a dishwasher, which is great when you're on holiday and don't want to have to do the dishes. Bathroom looks recently refurbished and has a huge bath and shower. There were only two of us so we used the downstairs bedroom, bed was very comfy and room is spacious. There's another 3 bedrooms upstairs which all look equally comfy!
The garden is small and is basically a mountain so don't expect to lounge around outside - but with so many beautiful places close by you really don't need to. The house is in a perfect location with so so many places to explore near by - a basket full of leaflets and walking books in the house will help you to decide where to go and what to do. We didn't need to travel any further than half an hour away to do anything - and within that distance there are beautiful wooded valleys and hills, heathland covered mountains, beaches, rivers and streams to play in, and lots of little villages to explore. We particularly liked visiting Betws-Y-Coed, only 20 minutes drive away. And of course the village of Blaenau Ffestioniog itself is nice, with some quirky shops, loads of takeaways (the chippy is particularly good!), shops and post office, and a couple of pubs. We didn't visit the pubs so can't comment on them but they seem nice enough.
My only negative - the road that the house is situated on is a bit dangerous to cross. Don't cross directly in front of the house, go up or down the road to get a better view, especially if you have children or dogs. Oh and Cae Bach is pet friendly, Al welcomes pets (as long as kept downstairs), and there's loads of space for them.
Loved our holiday, and we will definitely be returning - there's loads more things to do and places to explore that we didn't get chance to!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan H
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Family Holiday”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed here last week, the cottage is dated and tired looking. It could do with a spruce up and good clean.

Cleaner hadn't been in before our stay, I've informed owner who is looking into this.

A T.V. would be an added bonus as there isn't one, no storage in kitchen other than a few shelves, so if there is a big party like there was with us it a bit short of storage for food etc. Garden is none existent and is a danger and I have informed the owner.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked least: Looks better in the pictures
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arianwyn
1 review
“Comfortable, spacious, and quaint cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Cae Bach was a wonderful place to land when we arrived to Blaenau Ffestiniog. The cottage was very spacious, well kept, and accommodated all of our needs as a family of 5. We travel to Blaenau every couple of years from Canada to visit family, and staying at this property was a lovely new way to experience the area. It was a great home base for visiting all if the places in North Wales we know and love. I highly recommend this spot to anyone looking to stay in town.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing