We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Location in Historical Birgu”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alfie's Place

Stepping out From 'Alfie's Place' & Looking Down the Street
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stepping out From 'Alfie's Place' & Looking Down the Street
Alfie's Place - Gilormu Cassar Steeet By Candle Light (2nd Week End of October) Alfie's Place In The Most photographed Street
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
121 reviews
Stepping out From 'Alfie's Place' & Looking Down the Street
Alfie's Place - Gilormu Cassar Steeet By Candle Light (2nd Week End of October)
Alfie's Place In The Most photographed Street
Facade
Facade
Facade
Eat in kitchen
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
Your Host - Alfred Fino
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 121 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
May015
Salem, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Location in Historical Birgu”
Reviewed 29 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I are very glad we stayed at Alfie’s in Birgu. Alfie, good hearted, genuine, helpful and welcoming. His compact apartment is accessible over stone steps polished by feet for hundreds of years The location for visiting Valletta and other locations in Malta couldn’t be better for those who use public transportation as we do. The number 2 bus stops in the square a few blocks away. Easy ferry and water taxi connections to Valletta. (You may find mosquito repellant helpful for your visit to Malta)

The neighborhood is pleasant escape after the heavily touristed streets of Valletta. We found several places to eat in Birgu. Our favorite is the Osteria.ven. A couple from Venice turn out lovely meals. To take care of needs from scotch tape to fixing a lamp do stop by the Step In on the square. The owner goes out of his way to help. A convenient, small grocery is also on the square.

The one caveat: you must be able to manage sleeping at the top of stone stairs and using the bathroom off the small kitchen below. The bathroom is great. A large shower and a washing machine.

Lovely walks in Birgu along narrow streets and along the waterfront.

Thank you, Alfie. We enjoyed our visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2018
Thank you for such a great write up and kind words, always a pleasure to read visitors have enjoyed The accommodation and Malta in general.

Love to thank you for looking after the place for me and leaving it clean and well organised for me. It really is great help.

Thank you ones again and love to see you again in Malta.

Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinG60...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very convenient”
Reviewed 9 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

I can recommend getting Alfie to pick you up from the airport; the guided tour of Birgu is much more useful than a taxi ride. Apartment was stocked with initial essentials (milk, bread). Note that electrical plugs are UK type, not European. Apartment is very quiet, being far from traffic, but this does mean a bit of a trek with luggage, so useful that Alfie knows how to get as close as possible. Apartment is traditional so has certain downsides as others have pointed out; ground floor has no windows so is generally dark, and a bit chilly in April, but probably welcome cool in summer.
Very close to Tal-Petut; a lovely restaurant serving good quality traditional Maltese cuisine.
Easy walk to ferry to Valletta.
In summary, good value all round.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowwieeee
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stay here every time I’m in Malta”
Reviewed 5 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

I come to Malta quite a lot because I have a lot of family who live out there. Every time I come to Malta, I always stay here because it is central to most of my family in Birgu.
I stayed here in March with a friend of mine who had never been to the island before and he loved it.
Alfie is always helpful before, during and after my stay which is amazing.
The apartment is always clean and tidy, always has everything you need all under one roof which is perfect.

I always stay here during my trips and I shall continue to stay here. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2018
Thank you for your kind comments and all I can say you are always welcomed with open arms.

Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne53201...
Shepparton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy,comfortable and quiet little apartment”
Reviewed 2 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Alfie’s apartment was a delightful little find in Birgu. It is close to everything,small shops,town square with atms and lovely cafes with great food. The ferry is an easy ride across the bay and only 50 cents each way if you are a senior. Much better than traveling by bus to Valletta. You can get the lift up to the top of the gardens instead of climbing the stairs.
Alfie picked us up from the airport and when we got to the apartment he showed us where everything was and even supplied bread,milk,ham and cheese along with tea and coffee. Everything was comfortable and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you Alfie.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2018
Hi Anne,
Thank you for your write up and kind words, as always It is a pleasure to read visitors have enjoyed their stay and enjoyed both the apartment and Malta in general.
Wish you all the best with the rest of your travelling and it was a plesure to meet you both.

Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radeque
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Traditional house in Birgu”
Reviewed 26 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Alfie's place is located in Birgu which is a traditional old town a short ferry ride from Valletta. Birgu is much less touristy and is full of charm and character, its little alleys are very pretty. All the buildings are old historic houses. If you're looking for the hustle and bustle, the bars, clubs, nightlife, you won't find it here. It's very peaceful. The location of the house is great, one minute walk to the square with some shops and cafes where you can buy stuff for breakfast, it's about 5 min walk to the ferry which departs every half an hour to Valletta (2.8€ return trip). There is a number of decent restaurants within walking distance of the house.
The house is on two floors and has everything you need, a fridge, toaster, microwave, tv with big selection of channels, good WiFi. The double bed is comfy, there's also another bedroom with twin beds. We were there in February and it was a bit chilly, but there's aircon/heater in the bedroom, and a small heater for the kitchen. There's a landline from which you can call local landlines (transport info, to book a restaurant..).
Alfie is a very good host, very welcoming, he supplied us with a lot of information before our arrival, showed us around, explained everything to us, and we could turn to him with any questions. We also arranged he would pick us up from the airport, which is highly recommended as it's much easier and saves a lot of time, especially when you don't know your way around at first.
All and all we were very pleased with our stay, and if you prefer old traditional and historic place, rather than an ordinary modern hotel, you will be happy at Alfie's.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2018
Thank you for your write up and kind words.

It was a pleasure have you and your Girlfriend here, Thank you for looking after the place for me leaving it all clean and organised for me, it really make life a lot easier.

I wish you both a very happy future together and hope to see you again one day in the future.

Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing