We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“ALFIES PLACE IS THE BEST PLACE TO FIND THE REAL...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alfie's Place

Stepping out From 'Alfie's Place' & Looking Down the Street
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stepping out From 'Alfie's Place' & Looking Down the Street
Alfie's Place - Gilormu Cassar Steeet By Candle Light (2nd Week End of October) Alfie's Place In The Most photographed Street
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
118 reviews
Stepping out From 'Alfie's Place' & Looking Down the Street
Alfie's Place - Gilormu Cassar Steeet By Candle Light (2nd Week End of October)
Alfie's Place In The Most photographed Street
Facade
Facade
Facade
Eat in kitchen
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
Your Host - Alfred Fino
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 118 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
lyndon c
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“ALFIES PLACE IS THE BEST PLACE TO FIND THE REAL MALTA”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I could not start this review without firstly singing the praises of Alfie himself ! The man is a legend ! nothing was to much trouble, from finding a local jeweller to repair my wife's ring to arranging a bunch of flowers to be on the kitchen table for my wife when she walked in. The most honest and genuine man you will ever meet !
THANK YOU ALFIE !!
The house itself is a gem, compact with everything you could possibly need. A traditional Maltese home set in a side street just off the main square where "if they don't sell it you don't need it" !
You must try the De-Centre Bar and Restaurant which can be found in the main square, it has excellent food and great prices (just don't order a starter and main course the portions are enormous) !
you can with ease get anywhere on the island by using the very good bus services (6.50 Euros for a 7day pass) or catch the 10 minute water ferry from the harbour, just off the main square which will take you Valletta.
We have been going to Malta for 20 years and can honestly say this was the best holiday we have ever had a true local Maltese experience away from the tourist hustle and bustle !

would we book again I hear you ask !
YES !!
already booked two weeks in October 2015 !

SEE YOU SOON ALFIE AND FREINDS !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The locals are very very frendly !
Liked least: I cannot think of one thing we did not like !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2015
Thank you for such a great write up and knowing you had the best trip in Twenty years is a great satisfaction in itself. I will be looking forward to welcoming you back in October for one of the City's Biggest days.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashir...
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

What a fantastic 2 weeks we have just spent in Alfies Place a beautiful Maltese House full of character equipped with everything you need clean tidy and Alfie the owner even left us some food etc in the fridge to get us through the 1st day. Alfie the owner is fantastic nothing is too much trouble he`s there at the drop of a hat if you need assistance I have been going to Malta for the last 20 years and this by far as been the best holiday yet. Alfie introduced us to the local community where we were staying and the local amenities and everyone was so friendly we felt very much not a tourist but a local it was so good we are staying again same place in October for 2 weeks would recommend Alfie`s Place is FANTASTIC

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2015
Thank you for you kind words & glad I superseded your last 20 years lol, You have been missed at dcentre, & Look forward to see again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale A
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“All and more”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My partner Vikki and I stayed at Alfie’s Place during our first short trip to Malta at the end of February 2015 to celebrate her birthday and the completion of renovations on her flat. We were looking for a base that gave us an opportunity to explore Malta, experience Maltese life, culture and history and to relax. If you’ve read any of the reviews above, you’ll probably guess we weren’t disappointed.

Vikki chose Alfie’s place based on the reviews here and the area in which the apartment was situated and both surpassed our expectations. Before we’d even got on the plane, we felt welcomed by Alfie’s close attention – his prompt replies to emails and any queries or questions we’d got.

As others have mentioned, Alfie offers to collect guests from the airport for a fee cheaper than the local taxis and we opted for this. The thing with Alfie is it’s not just a taxi ride – it’s an introduction to Malta and to what you might call “philosophie Alfie”. From the moment you meet Alfie at the airport you know you’re on to something special. You’re never just another guest. Alfie has taken note of why you’re in Malta and what you’re interested in and conversation flows as easily as if you’d known him for years. He’ll make detours to point our places you might be particularly interested in and to show you some practical things you might have forgotten about in your excitement – such as where the ferry from Birgu leaves for Valletta, where the bus stop is, where the local shops are.

The ‘Alfie tour’ ends in the little square at the heart of Birgu. If you arrive early in the morning it will be bustling with all the local shops open and local people chatting and drinking coffee at the few cafes. If you arrive, as we did, in the evening, it may strike you as a very quiet place. In either case, you cannot help but be struck by its beauty.

Again, Alfie pointed out all the places we might need – the grocery, the cafes, the bakery, the newsagents etc. He then took us for coffee and to meet his friends who can be called on if he’s not around to assist with any problems you might have, which I suspect is very rarely. Then it was to the apartment and an introduction to all the facilities.

“Alfie’s Place” is situated on one of the most beautiful streets I have ever had the pleasure to see. It dates back to the C15/16th and is formed entirely of three storey sandstone buildings, all with exquisite balconies that once formed part of Malta’s capital when the island was the fortress of the Knights of St John. Apparently it is one of the most photographed streets in Malta and it is easy to see why. Yet, despite the daily tours of Italians and German tourists wandering down to admire it, it is not a tourist site. It is a real place where Maltese people go about their daily life. And if you’re acute, you’ll spot a plaque at the bottom of the street from the local council praising the residents for keeping it clean, putting out lots of plants, and basically making it a lovely place.

The apartment itself has everything you need as a couple or a couple with a child. The sandstone walls and stairs give you the sense of living in a castle, but with all the modern amenities. It has a charm and authenticity that is hard to find elsewhere. As others have noted, it is a little small to ‘hang out’ in – but if you’re not planning on having a dinner party it is perfectly ideal.

As for Birgu itself. It rewards a wander around its medieval streets. For history lovers, well – you can’t go very far at all (literally the end of the street) before bumping in to something interesting. It has everything a community needs in terms of local shops, though if you’re there at the wrong time of day you won’t notice they’re there. It’s a beautiful, friendly and genuine place.

We’d recommend D’Centre for its friendly staff, amazing great value food and relaxed atmosphere; Osteria.Ve is a fabulous Italian restaurant – friendly and attentive staff, brilliant Venetian chef and great value (check out the “Times of Malta” review) – and amazing mussels; Café Du Brazil is the place to hang out for a morning coffee; the Labour Club is friendly, cheerful and can do you a pizza and a pool game; In Step (if you’re early enough) will provide you with a copy of the Guardian or the Independent if you’re getting sick of only being able to get the Daily Mail; “The Spiral” that has recently opened will give you a cup of tea and introduce you to the works of local artists.

Perhaps most warming of all is the bakery. Here you can buy freshly baked Maltese bread from the bakery. Not a bakery shop. Literally the bakery. You walk through the door, see the bakers at their craft, wait until they have a moment, and they will sell you an amazing loaf before rushing back to get the next batch from the oven. It is an experience that fills any but the hardest heart with pure joy.

Finally, Alfie is one of the most genuine and attentive people you could meet. It was very touching to arrive at the apartment and to find a bottle of wine left for Vikki for her birthday. He is one of those increasingly rare breed of people who calls a spade a spade and deals with you honestly and straightforwardly. He cannot do enough for you, perhaps to a fault. It was quite chilly when we were there and we tried one of the heaters – it failed after five minutes. This wasn’t a problem as there were other heaters. When we told Alfie about it, he said we should have called him and he would have brought a new one around that night – I have no doubt at all that he would have… but it wasn’t necessary. I know that by the time I post this it will have been replaced.

In the short time we got to spend with him we discussed Malta, its history, its politics; UK politics; Australian politics; World politics; our family, his family, the state of the world and society. All of which added immensely to our understanding of Alfie, his home and Malta.

With Alfie you meet a host, but come away knowing you have found a friend. And that is priceless.

We very much hope we’ll be seeing him soon.

(Alfie: Remember the “Mind Your Head” sign!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for the kind words and always great to know people got their monies worth out of a trip. Feeling was mutual and enjoyed having you and the conversations. look fwd to see you again when the time is right and rest assured the Head sign will be on lol. Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed 2 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We found this here & took a chance
all we can say is Wow
the owner was superb & that is an understatement
He picked us up from the airport & gave us a run down of our location
then we settled into our new home for a week
beautiful original house in Birgu with a long history going back to the 1500s
any would be traveller that wants a slice of Maltese life this is for you.
Thank you so much Alfie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location & hoast
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2015
Thank you for your review and knowing you enjoyed your stay is definitely satisfying.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Broo...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful week at Alfie's Place”
Reviewed 2 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful week at Alfie's place. We cannot rate this highly enough - the house was amazing. Birgu (Vittoriosa) is a wonderful, characterful place that has everything any traveller could want and is a hidden gem. Alfie is a great host who could not do enough for us and we were grateful to him for pointing out all the local amenities. We will definitely be coming back. Thanks Alfie for everything you did to make this holiday so special. Lisa and Adam

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, located on a quiet street, but in an ideal spot to get around the island
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2015
Hi Lisa, Adam it was lovely having you and always great to hear you had a great time. Look fwd to see you again in the future. Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing