We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal base for visiting the beautiful island of...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Harbour
Enter a caption for your photo
Vittoriosa @ night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
liswan59
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Ideal base for visiting the beautiful island of malta”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The easiest and most prompt booking process through trip advisors holidaylettings was a pleasure and even faster than booking .com. The flat was filled with traditional quaint features and all we needed for a two week base for three self catering fussy eaters. The bedroom was lovely with one of the comfiest beds ive ever slept in ( could have been exhaustion as Malta ha so much to see and do lol) Birgu itself is undergoing a lot of development that is totally unintrusive and we actually noticed the daily changes but not the work getting done. The Grand Harbour is amazing and the situation of Vittoriosa on it is breathtaking. Do take the water taxi to Valletta and discover the inlets and outlets of this amazing place. Buses are cheap but although they tend to be a bit tedious you will discover the true malta. Plenty of walks and local bars to discover. Trendy cool restaurants and bars fit together nicely with the traditional .In burgu itself the old city pub and the labour party club we found were two very friendly and welcoming places. Big thanks to Mariella for the prompt and efficient booking process and her friendly welcome. .

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidandd...
York
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Malta- great place for a holiday”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This was the first of 4 self catering accommodations we used in Malta on a 2 week holiday, (the others we organised on the hoof with our iPad, which is dead easy). As far as the flat is concerned, we would pretty much echo the previous 3 reviewers so won't rewrite much of what they said. Though we particularly liked the old tiles. It was a bit parky when we were there too, but we too had the heater which took the edge off. We only ate out once, at the Italian down on the dock front, and it was cracking. The local shops particularly the last one on the left up the road toward the square were good.
It is absolutely not necessary to take a car to Malta, in fact the traffic on some roads is very busy so driving must be a bit of a trial, and we researched our way around by bus before departure from the UK. We got a bus from the airport to Valletta and changed to a number 3 (I think it wasI to il Birgu. A week's ticket is €6.50 which is ridiculously cheap. We didn't find anywhere on Malta where buses don't go. Most of them display where you are, great for visitors.
We havn't given the flat 5 rings, although it was very good value, because it is not "luxury" as described. It is well appointed though.
One niggle which is not the owner's fault and has not affected our score is that paying the deposit through Paypal leads to a significant reduction in the amount returned due to Paypal's multiple charges.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Price, location
Liked least: Too much traffic in the narrow streets
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swissmiss...
london
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Atmospheric – nice location – well equipped”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Mariella organised for us to be picked up from the airport, which was great as the driver saw us to the door of the flat, situated in Birgu, across a narrow bay from Valletta (well connected to central Valletta by 2 buses and an irregular ferry). The flat is spacious and very atmospheric. The feature I liked best were the beautifully tiled floors and the high ceilings. There is no overload of chintz and frills, which is nice, and the kitchen has everything you need (including a little espresso-pot). It was early March and we hit a cold snap so we were very glad to have a little heater as there is no central heating. The flat is great to explore Birgu and the Hypogeum (a 10-minute bus-ride away) and there are a couple of really great restaurants nearby. The bars in the marina were very sleepy as the season hadn't started yet but it must get lively in the summer. There are some characterful community bars on the main square with low prices and a real feel of authenticity plus some small shops selling fruit&veg and bread. The bus stop into Valletta (and to the airport) is a mere 5 minute-walk from the flat.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, floors, size
Liked least: Cold (due to weather!), lack of wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miertek71...
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
“Home away from home-great value for money”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Ideal for couple-home away from home-everything available to make for a comfortable stay-newly renovated-clean and fresh-great Vittoriosa location-walking distance to coffee shops, restaurants, etc-had a car but you can do without one and use local bus-wifi signal bit weak (ok to check emails, but not to work via VPN, etc)-Mariella great host-quick to answer questions via email, SMS-Great Value for money

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
007-and-P...
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for two people, one minute to harbour”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Super fast and uncomplicated booking, Mariella is very friendly and very helpful. Airport pickup was super, some snacks and water in the fridge when we arrived. The apartment is newly renovated, tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean. All appliances worked perfectly and all necessary equipment was at hand. The apartment is on the second floor, the bedroom looks over a pedestrian street so no loud cars. The street at the front was generally quiet. Plenty of space to unpack. Large shower. One minute down to the harbor, or to the town square - both offer bars, cafés and restaurants, plus small local shops.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful Maltese floor tiles, the friendly contact
Liked least: The stairway up could do with a lick of paint (but it was charming anyway)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$39
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing