We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“out of superlatives!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Heidelberg, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
mangia196...
Turin, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“out of superlatives!”
Reviewed 26 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018

we wanted a peaceful place to escape from hectic life in Cape Town, and we sure found it here. It would be ideal for a group of friends of up to 8 who just wanted total relaxation. Just the 2 of us and our 2 dogs walked, ran, relaxed, cooked, took the amazingly informative and interesting tour provided by Chris...and to top it all he played his guitar (very well) for us and we chatted about music and life. And just to confirm, the views are to die for! The walk down/up to the river and dam is steep from the house but well worth the effort - you would then deserve a splendid dinner after the calorie burn! There is no TV, everything is solar powered. But who needs to know what's happening elsewhere when you have paradise in front of you? PS Ask Chris about his ram pump, go on. We will be back one day xxxx

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2018
Some guests are much more than a pleasure to host and this was very much the case. Great communication, open and perceptive. They really 'got' the place. My huge privilege to gain insights and share time with such remarkable, inspiring individuals. More than welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
819nicole...
Paarl, South Africa
1 review
“A tribute to mother nature”
Reviewed 6 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

What a magical place with legendary mermaid ponds, fairy trails, fire flies, scenes of otter family crossing the dam etc. Spectacular mountain and dam views from every angle of a beautifully designed moroccon style house which is totally private, secluded and solar powered. The most beautiful sounds of nature, guitar play, truly music to the soul. Thanjs Chris you were an amazing host!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2018
Anneline, Marco & Noah were only a pleasure to host - perceptive, friendly and great communication. Top marks in our book!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ECEdwards...
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Stunning views, unplugged relaxation”
Reviewed 11 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We had the great fortune of visiting Akasha Mountain Retreat on our recent trip to South Africa. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel welcome and at home! Chris is a fantastic host and we were fortunate to get to spend some time exploring the property with him (and his wonderful dogs!). He even played guitar for us in the evening (and he is quite good!). This place is stunningly beautiful and the perfect place to unplug, read a book, enjoy nature and play Scrabble! The beds are comfortable and everything is thoughtfully provided for your stay. Our only complaint is that one night was NOT enough and we will definitely return for another stay in this beautiful retreat!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2018
Thank you, Rodney, for making the most of it - one to remember, for sure! We rarely have the pleasure of hosting guests as gracious, perceptive and generous in spirit. Not enough stars in the southern night sky to rate y'all!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MR1980
Schiedam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed 18 January 2018 for a stay in September 2017

For our 4-week trip to the Western & Eastern Cape my family and I (wife and 18 month old daugther) were looking for something special as we also would be celebrating my birthday during our stay and while surfing the web my eye was caught by this place. I couldn't find much reviews but the reviews and blogs describing the place were all unanimously positive. Although it was the most expensive accomodation of our entire 4 weeks it was also the absolute highlight of our trip, by far! Why, do you ask? Well where do I start...

1. The Moroccan styled house itself is very spacious as I believe up to 12 people can stay there altogether and the house was also in optimal condition and very clean upon arrival. Attention to detail is also truly incredible.
2. Chris the owner has thought about everything to make your stay as comfortable as can be and will do everything in his power to make sure you have an optimal experience
3. Complimentary walks around the farm with Chris as your guide.
4. Limited cellphone reception and no tv so true quality time with your family/friends.
5. It's only you and your family/friends on the farm so very exclusive.
6. The vibe of the place is just super relaxed.
7. Prolific birdlife around the house and the farm so if you're into sunbirds, sugerbirds etc. you will love it.
8. The views are out of this world.
9. The views ARE out of this world.

So if you're looking for a unique location in the Western Cape, look no further than Akasha Mountain Retreat. It's truly heaven on earth and we hope to return some day to relive this exceptional experience. Michel, Leonie & Nova

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2018
Dankie Michel, it is a privilege and pleasure to host amazingly perceptive, interesting and gracious guests such as you and your family. We do hope you make it back one day! Bly te kenne...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonVinTou...
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gem”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Loved the Moroccan style house, attention to detail, views, mechanical water pump, roaming horses, dam. Chris showed us the best parts of the farm. Fantastic massage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2017
A big thank you to each & every one in the family, a pleasure to host you all!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing