We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Most beautiful and peacefulplace i have ever been...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Heidelberg, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Kia N
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Most beautiful and peacefulplace i have ever been to”
Reviewed 15 December 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Before arriving in Akasha, i thought that it would be a beautiful and nice place to spend some time during our SA journey. But it was way more than that! The Akasha Mountain Retreat ist the most beautiful and peaceful place that I have ever been to! It is almost magical with all its nature, animals and quiteness...
The house was build in an maroccan style and had a lot of beautiful details. It was very clean!
Chris is a very nice host who cares about his guests and their needs during the whole stay! He made breakfast together with his staff every morning.
He shared his knowledge about plants and animals with us and took us on a tour to get to know the nature.
I would recommend the Akasha Mountain Retreat. It is the perfect place to get away from your everyday life, to relax and to enjoy the quiteness of nature.
Thank you very much Chris!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2016
It is our privilege to share this corner of Eden and a pleasure to host you - the appreciation is mutual. Danke Schön!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chixila
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Perfect off_the_grid getaway”
Reviewed 14 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

if you want to be one with nature, and totally (physically and mentally) relax, this is the place to go. Heavenly views - perfect to wake up to. Its also exclusive - so for our small group we were happy and comfortable. Chris - best host ever - he goes the extra mile to make sure you have all that you need. He also gave us an informative Hike to the Mermaid's pool.
Look, this place is worth every cent!!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2016
Only a pleasure to host such gracious guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purplewhi...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This is THE fantasy house on the hilltop”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Akasha Mountain Retreat is truly a unique and special place. A view of mountains, dams and space that is quietly spectacular and gently energising. The house is tangibly built with love and filled with all sorts of collected trinkets, crystals and a style all of its own. Everything is considered and just where it should be.

The owner Chris is more than a host and genuinely wants you to enjoy your time away from the city and is available to assist with anything or leave you alone too if you wish. We had our three old boy with us and Chris invited us to his home to look at the fish pond, feed the horses and play with his 8 week old puppies while he played guitar! Happy three year old and happy parents.

But for the most part you will just want to relax, make fires, read, wander and be still.

Just go. You won't regret it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spectacular view, the quietness and the uniqueness of the house
Liked least: On a mountain top so difficult to go for short walks with toddler (but there is a hiking cary backpack for toddlers for the entrepid hikers!)
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Dec 2016
Thank you for being such gracious guests, only a pleasure to host you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Peace on Earth”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My favourite site for booking accommodation in South Africa is booking.com - what you read is what you get.
My girlfriend and I like to do road trips and tend to do them in circular routes and on the way back to Cape Town we were looking to find somewhere close to Heidelberg. We found the Akasha Mountain Retreat - the pictures look spectacular and when you arrive you will not be disappointed.
I would like to compliment the host, Chris firstly for his advice on the best route to travel to Heidelberg - we loved the 14km drive along the Tradouw Pass. the drive from the R322 up to the house is mainly gravel and is part of the fun! Even the cattle being herded along the road is part of the experience.
If you like back to nature (biodiversity), peace and quiet then this is definetly the place for you. The house is wonderful - large with plenty of space in all the rooms and large bedrooms and showers and a bath. The kitchen is fully equipped and the is also plenty of equipment to barbecue. Its great not to have wifi and no television - plenty of time to relax, read books, talk with your partner. If you are energetic you can walk down to the lake and you could also kayak. there are plenty of places to hike and also to mountain bike. The walk down to the lake is relatively easy but it is much harder coming back up. The views of the Langeberg Mountains and Duivenhoks Lake are stunning.
If I were to stay there again I would stay a little longer make sure that i brought all of my food and needs up to the lodge and the start and shut myself off from the world for a few days! Although if you need anything from the town then Chris is always happy to pick it up for you.
The number of butterflies and birds we saw during our visit was a very pleasant surprise.
Overall a fantastic experience - for me it was truly Peace On Earth!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and tranquility - location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
Michael counts among the handful of most pleasant, low-key and 'low maintenance' guests that we've had the pleasure of hosting (we had no idea that he blogs or that he is such a prodigious traveller). Thank you, sir!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaykay197...
Mainz
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 11 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wow, I am still so happy that we had the chance to stay at this wonderful place for a couple of nights. This place is absolutely stunning and I would recommend it to everybody who is having a tour on the Garden Route. Chris is such a wonderful host and we loved the activities with him and especially the music session with our one year old son. We took a 4x4 drive with him into the Karoo and a lovely boat cruise on the dam next to the house.

The house is decorated with so much love and I cannot imagine another place with such a wonderful view of the mountains. I hope to have the chance to come back one day...

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
Truly a pleasure to spend quality time and to show off this corner of Eden to such most gracious guests. (Please note that access to the big dam has been suspended and boat trips is not part of our offering)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing