We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace on Earth”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Heidelberg, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Michael C
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Peace on Earth”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My favourite site for booking accommodation in South Africa is booking.com - what you read is what you get.
My girlfriend and I like to do road trips and tend to do them in circular routes and on the way back to Cape Town we were looking to find somewhere close to Heidelberg. We found the Akasha Mountain Retreat - the pictures look spectacular and when you arrive you will not be disappointed.
I would like to compliment the host, Chris firstly for his advice on the best route to travel to Heidelberg - we loved the 14km drive along the Tradouw Pass. the drive from the R322 up to the house is mainly gravel and is part of the fun! Even the cattle being herded along the road is part of the experience.
If you like back to nature (biodiversity), peace and quiet then this is definetly the place for you. The house is wonderful - large with plenty of space in all the rooms and large bedrooms and showers and a bath. The kitchen is fully equipped and the is also plenty of equipment to barbecue. Its great not to have wifi and no television - plenty of time to relax, read books, talk with your partner. If you are energetic you can walk down to the lake and you could also kayak. there are plenty of places to hike and also to mountain bike. The walk down to the lake is relatively easy but it is much harder coming back up. The views of the Langeberg Mountains and Duivenhoks Lake are stunning.
If I were to stay there again I would stay a little longer make sure that i brought all of my food and needs up to the lodge and the start and shut myself off from the world for a few days! Although if you need anything from the town then Chris is always happy to pick it up for you.
The number of butterflies and birds we saw during our visit was a very pleasant surprise.
Overall a fantastic experience - for me it was truly Peace On Earth!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and tranquility - location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
Michael counts among the handful of most pleasant, low-key and 'low maintenance' guests that we've had the pleasure of hosting (we had no idea that he blogs or that he is such a prodigious traveller). Thank you, sir!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaykay197...
Mainz
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 11 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wow, I am still so happy that we had the chance to stay at this wonderful place for a couple of nights. This place is absolutely stunning and I would recommend it to everybody who is having a tour on the Garden Route. Chris is such a wonderful host and we loved the activities with him and especially the music session with our one year old son. We took a 4x4 drive with him into the Karoo and a lovely boat cruise on the dam next to the house.

The house is decorated with so much love and I cannot imagine another place with such a wonderful view of the mountains. I hope to have the chance to come back one day...

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
Truly a pleasure to spend quality time and to show off this corner of Eden to such most gracious guests. (Please note that access to the big dam has been suspended and boat trips is not part of our offering)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 30 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: maybe a pool for those very hot days?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
Our privilege and utmost pleasure to have hosted and guided this most pleasant, respectful and receptive family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Heinz-Pet...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
Google Translation

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2016
It is our privilege to share this corner of Eden and a pleasure to meet you both - the appreciation is mutual! Danke schön...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$220
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing