We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food at a great price!!”

Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Horbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$26
Description: Enjoy freshly cooked Mediterranean food, wine, cocktails and cask ales in a beautifully extended pub and restaurant just 3 miles from Wakefield. Ego at The Bull’s Head is a must visit for its Mediterranean food, family friendly dining, al fresco dining terrace and kid’s playground. This Mediterranean inspired pub and restaurant is ideal for large groups, special occasions, family celebrations and intimate dining.
Restaurant details
Description: Enjoy freshly cooked Mediterranean food, wine, cocktails and cask ales in a beautifully extended pub and restaurant just 3 miles from Wakefield. Ego at The Bull’s Head is a must visit for its Mediterranean food, family friendly dining, al fresco dining terrace and kid’s playground. This Mediterranean inspired pub and restaurant is ideal for large groups, special occasions, family celebrations and intimate dining.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Went recently with family for a 40 birthday meal and it was absolutely fantastic. Great place, warm, cozy and the food was very very good. Would recommend to anybody in the area who has been thinking of visiting. Well worth a trip.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Guest Relations Manager at Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Hi Chris,

Great to hear that you all enjoyed your special celebration, and we will let the team know that they did a great job!

Thanks so much for the recommendation and we would love to see you all again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We have driven past this restaurant many times and decided to give it a try based on the reviews. We weren’t disappointed. The transformation inside from when it was The Bulls Head is really lovely. We were greeted by a lovely young waitress named Jessica who was very friendly and told us all about the different theme nights etc and showed us to a nice table. It happened to be tapas night so we ordered from that menu and it was really tasty and nicely presented. The service was friendly and very good, nothing was too much trouble. The mini dessert and coffee was the icing on the cake and we felt we’d had good value for money as well as a very pleasant evening. We’ll most definitely be back!

3  Thank susiwoosi57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Guest Relations Manager at Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Hi Susie,

Thanks so much for getting in touch and letting us know that you had a lovely time on your first visit!!

We will look forward to you joining us again soon to try our other fabulous menus...

Thanks again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

As members of the Ego club had an offer of a free bottle of prosecco for our wedding anniversary with 2 x main courses so decided to give it a try.

It was very sunny so decided to eat outside. There is a private beer garden at the back, nice and quiet. Before 7pm cocktails are 2 for 1 so took advantage of the offer ( twice ). The Long Island Iced Tea is divine.

I had mixed olives to start, hubby had bruschetta with beetroot chutney and goats cheese which was delicious. For mains hubby had the chicken and chorizo kebab ( it’s kebab night on a Thursday ) and I had the seafood paella. Both were very nice but the only criticism was that they were slightly burned ( my mussels on top were way over cooked ). The free bottle of Prosecco came with the mains.

We didn’t have puddings as we were too full. The total bill for 2 starters, 2 mains, a portion of chips and a portion of Mediterranean veg, 4 x Long Island Iced teas, a pint of lager and a bottle of Prosecco and 2 coffees was just under £75.. ( the Prosecco would have been £20 if it hadn’t have been free )

I did tell the waitress about the slightly burned food after we had eaten it. She did apologise.

3  Thank JillfromWakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Guest Relations Manager at Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hi Jill,

Thank you for getting in touch and letting us know about your visit to us. We hope you enjoyed your Anniversary.

We are very happy to hear that you both enjoyed your meals, but we will pass on your feedback to the kitchen team - our team are more than happy to replace a dish if you are not happy with it - just let us know at your check back.

We hope to see you both again soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

A five star experience, the service and food were excellent. There's an excellent menu with a wide choice and lots of variety. 2 for 1 Cocktails 5 till 7. A lovely dining experience out of town. Worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank DeborahL1925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Guest Relations Manager at Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Amazing news Deborah - thanks so much!!!

We will look forward to seeing you again very soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Once again a five star experience.
Once again a five star service.
Once again a five star drinks menu.
Once again a five star team work.
Once again a five star lamb dinner.
Once again a five star Dan.
This place is Welcoming, warm and like a place that just makes you feel like you just have to return and return and return.
I tell myself to have something different than the lamb, but no. The lamb wins every time and the chef cooks it to perfection.

5  Thank leesak856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Guest Relations Manager at Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Wow!!

Thank you so much Lisa for your five star review!!!!

We are so glad that you always have a wonderful time with us and we can't wait for you to return again soon!!

Thanks again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury also viewed

 

Been to Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing