We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic value for a 4 bedroomed villa with...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Craven

The 7 x 3 metre private pool lit at night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The 7 x 3 metre private pool lit at night
Enjoy the tranquil setting of our spacious home
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
The 7 x 3 metre private pool lit at night
Enjoy the tranquil setting of our spacious home
Cosy twin bedroom
Relax in the private jacuzzi
Make the most of your own traditional brick BBQ
Beautiful views from the bedroom terrace
Wander along the modern marina at Puerto de Mazarron
Visit Aguilas Beach - South of Puerto de Mazarron
Lots of traditional villages and ports to visit
Take a relaxing stroll along the promenade
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Puerto de Mazarron, Mazarron

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Anna B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 9 October 2015 for a stay in July 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Here is all my feedback regarding the villa, please note all has been discussed with the owner, we have received recompense. The owner has stated items have been updated and replaced but I cannot confirm this..

To start; when we arrived at the villa, the welcome was quite unfriendly and no info could be given about the villa. We checked around and upon discovery of no cot for our baby we were expected to manage being so late...it was only 10.30!!! Eventually and upon insistence for a cot, one was brought and in turn we were charged 30 Euros being told it would be easier if I claim the cot money back from the owner rather than the person we met at the villa having to do it!

Cleanliness: the only part of the villa that was clean was the bedding and the pool (but then external services look after this aspect).
The rest of the villa was unclean, there is no way that villa was cleaned or aired before we arrived...we have taken photos to demonstrate this (I attach for viewing).
Where do I start?!

Kitchen; to be blunt the kitchen was (take note...was!) rotten...a health hazard. The black mould/gunge, dirt etc on the washing up bowl, sink, washing machine, cutlery drawl, bucket (aka bin) was indescribable. Before we could use it my mum/dad spent Saturday morning cleaning out the coffee machine, fridge, sterilising cutlery, washing all dishes, cup, glasses we wanted to use, shelves for such dishes and food, washing machine drawer and door. The cutlery drawer, sink and bowl had to be bleached. The bins were bleached but left outside for 2 weeks. We drew the line at attempting to clean the oven too. (I said my mum should charge the owner for her services she did so much).
In the kitchen there is also old food, some looked out of date and opened...eg old tomato ketchup bottle etc. I didn't look too closely at the food down the side of appliances....expecting a cockroach or two. All food should be removed between guests.

Bathrooms; the one downstairs and at the top of the stairs...plug holes held plenty of black mould, gunge, dirt....again a health hazard. I dread to think of the bacteria that was growing. My mum, again, cleaned and bleached these.
The shower curtain in the bathroom at the top of the stairs is filthy and just needs to be binned!

Bedrooms; I don't think the floor under the beds have ever been brushed or mopped out (full of dust and old dusty playing cards I picked up showed this).
Lounge; the same as the bedrooms... the floors under the sofas were also in the same state. The covers on the sofas have never been washed.

After seeing all this I didn't attempt to get the high chair out of the under the stairs cupboard. We made do without.

Outside:
BBQ; we couldn't use the BBQ, it was just too dirty and rusty.
Outside Shower; this was also dirty and didn't look like water had been run through for a while. We couldn't risk using this knowing how common legionnaires can be in shower heads like this.
Patio; again I am repeating myself but was dirty, old fat spilled and left. (We know how dusty it gets but it was more than that). All it would need would be a power hose to clean up. We mopped and my brother hosed as much as we could but without a decent hose, we couldn't do much else.

Maintenance: it is such a shame at how neglected the villa is and it is apparent from the street (being the only one in the street with rusty gates and dirty shutters). We have photos of certain aspects.

Boiler and hot water: where do I start with this. We were left with no hot water for the whole stay, nobody from owners away or the owner checked on this after I stopped emailing about it. If I was on a package holiday, we would have insisted on being moved or would be requesting a full refund.
We know water pressure in the area is not good, it was clear this was the reason why the boiler didn't fire up. We could turn 3 taps on to get hot water in the kitchen but this didn't work each time. It certainly didn't work upstairs for the showers. With the hot weather we didn't need hot showers but warm water, at least, to wash my 9 month old baby, 5 year old and so my parents (around 70yrs) could at least have a warm shower.

We were villa guests... Not there to clean and fix hot water.

Other aspects:
The broken tile at the gate is quite dangerous, easy to trip and cut feet on.
The pool steps will end up the same way if the missing and loose tiles are not

The lounge wall has damp on it behind the radiator going towards and behind the cabinet.

Hardly any outside bulbs worked, 2 out of the 5 and the pool was definitely not lit at night. It was very dark round the pool area, hoping nobody took a fall in if we were coming home late.

Next to the BBQ, the wall has a huge crack in it and looks like it is ready to give way.

The shutter in one of the bedrooms upstairs is broken and couldn't be opened.

The description online when I booked in regards to what there is available is incorrect and out of date and a gross misrepresentation.

There were only 6 sunloungers, 2 with  covers that again were so dirty we had to cover them with bath towels before we could sit on them.

There were less chairs outside, 2 present are about to fall apart so couldn't be used. If the outside wooden furniture isn't oiled or painted soon, there will be zero chairs and tables. (Would say this for the wooden door too).

There are no standing fans, no cot and no stroller as advertised.

Pool unlit.

Need I say more. .....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
They did have a lot of valid criticisms but not everything was as bad as reported. That family visited in July 2015 and since then we have had nine families who stayed at our villa. Since then not one family has given us a poor review. One of those families stayed for 7 weeks between January and February this year. One other family has recently rebooked to stay again in Sept 2016.

Some of the complaints were related to the cleanliness and this is the responsibility of my manager, Owners Away. They were made fully aware of the issues and those have been dealt with.

I have just returned from the villa (April 2016) and can advise that I have replaced all the sofas (four), two garden tables and 12 garden chairs. All beds are as they should be

The villa when I arrived was very clean and looked very presentable and tidy.

There is a full complement of kitchen utensils, dinnerware, mugs, glasses, and saucepans.

The travel-cot which the reviewer said was missing, was actually in the villa but was overlooked by the guests and my manager. I have however now replaced the travel-cot and baby high-chair. The stroller was also at the villa and is still there (with the travel-cot in the cupboard under the stairs)

We now have 7 new sun-loungers plus 3 plastic sun-loungers, with 8 full-sized lounger cushions. I have replaced two broken free-standing fans with three new ones

The central heating boiler has also just been replaced by HNW from Tortana in January 2016.

External lights now fitted with day/night bulbs.

I have instructed a local Spanish builder to finish the repair to a crack in one external wall near the BBQ

My pool manager should be refitting some small pool tiles which have come away – about twelve.

I am waiting for a professional photographer to take new pictures, commissioned by Holiday Lettings who will then verify that the villa has been visited by Holiday Lettings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane S
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You definitely need a car”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The villa was very spacious but unless you have a car a little far from any shops cost us quite a lot in taxi fares

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa was spacious and jacuzzi
Liked least: No were near shops cost of taxis and the beds plus the messing about for water for shower
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
As mentioned in the advertisement a car is recommended and a map was provided well in advance showing villa location in relation to the Puerto.

Many guests have stayed with us and not had a hire-car and no one has ever had an issue in the past spanning the entire time since we first let the villa in 2007
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire374
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for a 4 bedroomed villa with private pool”
Reviewed 5 October 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of 8 and were impressed by how spacious and well equipped the villa was. The outside space was far bigger than the photos show and as we were fortunate with the weather made full use of the comfy sunbeds! A lot of thought has gone into providing the little extras that make a place feel like home. Beach is a short walk away. Don, the owner, was extremely helpful in providing information on the area prior to our holiday and he even arranged for our food shopping to be done when the flight time was changed. A very reasonable rental price for a property with 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms all of which have a bath and shower. Ideal accommodation for a large group

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annan
Reviewed 10 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, hot tub, neighbourhood
Liked least: Nothing, it was all good
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Aug 2016
Thank you very much indeed for your kind review.

I agree the shingle beach very close to us is not beneficial but we hope the council will convert it to a sand beach one day - manana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$500
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing