We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast with a great view”
Review of Ons Huisie

Ons Huisie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The ever popular Ons Huisie is part of the Seascape Collection and boasts spectacular views, delicious, traditional West Coast cuisine, dog friendly facilities and picture perfect views of the Atlantic Ocean and Robben Island. It is recognised as one of the tourist destinations in the Cape Peninsula. Visitors come from across the world and experience our exquisite West Coast cuisine. They always come back for our fish and chips, calamari and mussel pots which are signature dishes.
Reviewed 1 April 2019 via mobile

Enjoyed a great breakfast with a stunning view over the sea. The breakfast menu is extensive but yet not over the top. Good sizeable portions as well.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank BlouBulJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2019

Dear BlouBulJHB

Thanks so much for taking the time to review Ons Huisie on your recent visit. We are happy to hear that it was a memorable experience. I am certain the rest of your team will be just as delighted as I am regarding your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for more of the same.

Kind regards,

Ons Huisie Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2019

This well-known restaurant is in a beautiful old Cape Dutch style house overlooking the ocean and offers a great location for sundowners followed by a no-frills dinner. They don't take bookings for the outside seating overlooking the ocean, but you can book for dinner inside. The menu was simple and offered some firm South African favourites like "Souskluitjies" for dessert, although I must be honest that I've had better at home. They messed up our booking a bit and wanted to move us to a different table after we sat down and settled in, so we refused. Service was satisfactory otherwise.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dshorneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2019

Dear dshorneh,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience at Ons Huisie. Your 4 bubble review is much appreciated. Our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused by the mix-up with the booking. We have already addressed the issue with the parties involved to ensure all bookings are better managed.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for a much better dining experience.

Kind regards

Ons Huisie Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2019

Old traditional Afrikaans building right on the coast at Bloubergstrand. Good food - especially the seafood. Atmospheric place to eat.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SeamasterSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2019

Dear Steve,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review Ons Huisie on your recent visit.

We are happy to hear that it was a memorable experience. I am certain the rest of your team will be just as delighted as I am regarding your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for more of the same.

Kind regards,

Ons Huisie Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2019 via mobile

Had lunch with the family on Wednesday.
Fish & Chips.
Was a great meal.
Great view.
Household name.
Kiddies area.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Enzo542
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2019

Dear Enzo,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent visit to Ons Huisie. We are delighted to read about experience and will definitely share it with the chef and his team as well as the front of house team.

Do keep us in mind whenever you find yourself in and around Blouberg and looking for a place to grab a bite to eat. We look forward to welcoming you back for more of the same.

Kind regards,

Ons Huisie Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2019 via mobile

Very good food and value for money beautiful view friendly service and interaction of waiters who go the extra mile to make the clients happy

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank HeinrichE574
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2019

Dear Heinrich,

Thank you for valued feedback regarding your recent visit to Ons Huisie Restaurant. We are delighted to hear the news and will definitely share it with the rest of our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back for more of the same.

Kind regards,

Ons Huisie Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ons Huisie also viewed

Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 

Been to Ons Huisie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.