We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Ons Huisie

Ons Huisie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The ever popular Ons Huisie is part of the Seascape Collection and boasts spectacular views, delicious, traditional West Coast cuisine, dog friendly facilities and picture perfect views of the Atlantic Ocean and Robben Island. It is recognised as one of the tourist destinations in the Cape Peninsula. Visitors come from across the world and experience our exquisite West Coast cuisine. They always come back for our fish and chips, calamari and mussel pots which are signature dishes.
Reviewed 14 March 2018

Although the location is great and the views are excellent, the food was a huge disappointment. We ordered oysters, which were rather tasteless. For mains I had the lamb bredie which was also a bland affair - no special taste and flavour. A young male waiter (apparently working there for 18 months now) was rather clueless when questions about menu items were asked and he also brought us the wrong bread twice before another waiter managed to get it sorted for us. This place used to be highly popular, but it seems that the quality of food has taken a dip.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsHuisie12, General Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear Jan,

Thank you for taking the time to voice your bad experience at Ons Huisie. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for the unpleasant experience.

Your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we will be using the feedback you have provided to implement improvements, and to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

We hope to see you again soon in order to change your negative experience into a positive one.

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2018

Many years ago this was a very classy and pricey upmarket spot for romantic dining, and driving out there was a joy, specially at night as it was rather isolated. In those days it had a 4 digit telephone number (1553), these days it has 10, and you had to ask the operator to put you through if you wanted to make a reservation.

Now it's all rather different and it has gone down the 'beach cafe' route and serves a different market, but it does that well. It's deservedly busy specially on sunny weekends and the waiters do a good job and always with a smile. There's a wide variety of food at reasonable prices. Portions are generous and the salads are always fresh. My friends' burgers on Saturday were excellent.

I hope they have fixed the men's toilet after I pointed out to them that it was constantly running and wasting precious water.

    • Value
    • Food
Thank Mike340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsHuisie12, General Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Mike,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Your kind words definitely serves as good motivation to continue a high level of service and food quality. Your comments will definitely be shared with the rest of the team.


We look forward to welcoming you back to Ons Huisie in the near future.

With Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Ons Huisie is conveniently located on the beach in the Bloubergstrand area. The food is good and affordable, the views are stunning, the beach is literally just across from the parking area and a bonus for us, it has a small toddler-friendly play area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank heinengela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsHuisie12, General Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear heinengela,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted to hear about your recent experience at Ons Huisie. Your compliments will definitely be shared with the rest of the team who I am sure will be just as happy to hear your visit was a memorable one.

We look forward to hosting you once again at Ons Huisie in the near future.

With Kind Regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Tasty hot chocolate but disappointed with my breakfast, omlette was really greasy, in fact all of our party were disappointed with their food.
Saying that lovely atmosphere, nice venue and friendly staff so just go for a drink

Thank Dawn_Sunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsHuisie12, General Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Dawn_Sunrise,

Thank you for taking the time to voice your bad experience at Ons Huisie. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for the unpleasant experience.

Your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we will be using the feedback you have provided to implement improvements, and to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

We hope to see you again soon in order to change your negative experience into a positive one.

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Have been here 3 times in the last week, gets very busy especially at weekends and you cannot always get a table, but when you Oh My what a treat. Both lunchtime and even meals are fantastic and the menu is varied with quite a lot to choose from, the fish is wonderful and cooked to perfection. The staff are warm and welcoming and so helpful, I would eat here every day.

Thank babesurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsHuisie12, General Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear babesurrey,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Your kind words definitely serves as good motivation to continue a high level of service and food quality. Your comments will definitely be shared with the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ons Huisie in the near future.

With Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ons Huisie also viewed

Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 

Been to Ons Huisie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing