We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waiters went out of their way to help me”
Review of Ons Huisie

Ons Huisie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The ever popular Ons Huisie is part of the Seascape Collection and boasts spectacular views, delicious, traditional West Coast cuisine, dog friendly facilities and picture perfect views of the Atlantic Ocean and Robben Island. It is recognised as one of the tourist destinations in the Cape Peninsula. Visitors come from across the world and experience our exquisite West Coast cuisine. They always come back for our fish and chips, calamari and mussel pots which are signature dishes.
Reviewed 14 March 2017

I first went there at around 8 at night and asked if they know where is a suitable place to stay. Three waiters went out of their way to help me and find the right place. Well done! I just came back for a beer, but love the whole atmosphere and super setting.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Wim_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Dear Wim_traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to review Ons Huisie restaurant after your recent visit.

It always makes our day to read reviews like yours and knows our team is putting service first.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our stoep soon on your next visit to the area.

Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 80 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2017

My husband and I stumbled on this place on my birthday last year. I am a sucker for a seaside view, so when we found this little jewel, We had to stop.
We attended quite quickly even though they were busy for a Monday afternoon.
The service was friendly and attentive. If you looking for wholesome south African food. It is definitely the place to be.
Great for families too as their is a nice big play area for kiddies.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank meganado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Dear meganado,

Thank you for taking the time to review Ons Huisie restaurant after your recent visit and for coming back.

It always makes our day to read reviews like yours and knows our hard work pays off. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. A five star rating is always a great motivator to all of us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our stoep soon.

Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Good and beautiful location. Child friendly with a small playpark. With our last visit we arrived at after 21:00 and waited no longer than 15 minutes for our food. Service great. Good food. Prices affordable. Definately going back.

Thank Virginia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Dear Virginia A,

Thank you for taking the time to review Ons Huisie restaurant after your recent visit.

It always makes our day to read reviews like yours and knows our hard work pays off. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. A five star rating is always a great motivator to all of us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our stoep soon.

Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Hmmm! having not been back for 5 years because of poor service and underwhelming food I convinced myself to give Ons Huisie another chance.. Well nothing has changed! We got there at 1330 and by 1500 the main course had not arrived. After ordering oysters they were declared not edible (thankfully) and we had to wait for the fish cakes which were dry and fairly tasteless! Then the long wait over an hour for seafood pasta and a small basket. Well when they came one can only think that the pasta had been standing for some time whilst the basket was deep fried as it was dry and had little flavour! The basket was also very oily and also tasteless. The setting is superb and the wine list ok. But the service!!!!!! What is it with Cape Town Restauranteers!!!! Its service service service!!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 517Dissatisfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Dear 517Dissatisfied,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for the food and service (rather lack of) that you received during your recent visit.

Your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we will be using the feedback you have provided to implement improvements, and to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

We are hoping to continue the conversation with you privately. Could you please send us your e-mail address to marketing@seascapecollection.co.za?

We hope to see you again soon in order to change your negative experience into a positive one.

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

I wish I could give this place less than 1. We waited for 39 minutes and called 4 waiters before someone walked by and said we will be with you very shortly. Then I asked to talk to Sewan the manager, waited another 20 minutes and still no drink order or any order were taken. Asked to talk with owner, Sewan told us it was out of his jurisdiction, totally laughable if it was not so pathetic. We decided to rather leave and will now have to break one of our traditions to go there. No more! Feels like owner thinks his or her place does not need patrons any more. Very disappointing.

Thank swazijumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Dear swazijumbo,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for the lack of service that you received during your recent visit.

Your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we will be using the feedback you have provided to implement improvements, and to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Thank you for getting in contact with us privately as well and we hope that you will visit us again soon in order to change your negative experience into a positive one.

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ons Huisie also viewed

Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 

Been to Ons Huisie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing