We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Views! Fantastic Food! And a Remarkable Staff!”
Review of On The Rocks

On The Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 17 July 2019

What is NOT to like about this wonderful restaurant! On the Rocks is the perfect name because rocks, waves, Cape Town, and Table Mountain is what you see from the tables. We so enjoyed our first night in Blouberstrand (with our waiter Lica) that we decided to come back the next night to try different things! The next night Slydon was our waiter. When you go, ask to see if either Lica or Slydon are working, but with the gregarious General Manager I imagine all of the team is really great! Views! Staff! The food was wonderful. I loved the salmon wasabi starter--a nod to sushi inspired dishes. The first night the "line catch" was excellent--other restaurants would call that the fresh fish of the day. Simple and tasty. But I think that my favorite was the Kadu (an African animal similar to a deer). I would suggest rare or medium rare as this particular meat is easy to over cook! If I understand correctly the restaurant is under recent new ownership and they seem to have gotten it all right! Give them a try! Make a reservation for 30 minutes before sunset and ask for a window table.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank dennisrkilpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2019

Dear Dennis,

You have made our day! Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property and award us with such high praise. Your kind words will definitely be shared with Slydon and the rest of the waiter team involved. Your compliments on the food will also be passed on to the Chef and his team. Regarding the change in ownership. It has not changed hands, however it was time for a change when it came to the interior and ambiance of the restaurant as well as a revamp of the entire menu.

Thank you once again for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

On The Rocks Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2019 via mobile

Delicious ostrich filet with mashed potatoes. Perfectly medium. Wine marching is great. You pay for tastings of any wine on the menu as as many as you want to choose your wine. Bought a stunning bottle of diemersfontein pinotage. Beautiful setting on the rocks at the sea and cool basins in the toilets.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Marinaintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2019

Dear Marinaintheworld,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. It was a pleasure hosting you. Your kind words will definitely be shared with out team who I am certain will be just as pleased as we are. Do keep us in mind when you find yourself in the are and looking for a place dine, we would love to host you again.

With Kind Regards
On The Rocks Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2019 via mobile

We loved our seafood curry, we stopped by for a quick lunch before work. The Manager Andre was so friendly and made us feel so welcome. We will definitely be back, next time when we have more time.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank LeanriN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2019

Dear Leanri,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review On The Rocks Restaurant. We are delighted to read about your recent lunch experience. We will be sharing your kind words with the rest of our team who I am certain will be very happy to hear the feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for more of the same.

Kind regards,

On The Rocks Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2019 via mobile

We really enjoyed our lunch at On The Rocks.

Firstly it has the iconic view of Table Mountain, Table Bay and Robben Island. It is as the name suggests right on the rocks and the sight and sound of the waves were breathtaking.

The food was wonderful. I really enjoyed the Mussel starter and my Cape Malay Seafood curry. My companion enjoyed her paella. Both had very generous amounts of fish.

Service provided by Lica was first class and Manager Andrie seemed to really care that we enjoyed our meal.

It's closing in June 2019.for a month for refurbishment.

Booking on line is easy.

Only issue is I understand parking can be problematic but it was fine for us.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Alanthebairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2019

Dear Alan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review about our restaurant. We are delighted to hear about your recent experience and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another great experience at On the Rocks.

Kind regards
On the Rocks Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2019 via mobile

A drive to Bloubergstrand ended in having lunch at On the Rocks. Seating is available outside on the seafront where the tide swirls in, spraying over the rocks or indoors. We chose an indoor table at the window as it was a cool cloudy ⛅️ day. Perfect view of the beach and the sight of Table Mountain in the background makes it a lovely spot.
The menu is a great indicator of careful planning. Not vastly long but not simplistic either. Something for everyone here. I chose the seared salmon which was accompanied by several vegetables, each one perfectly prepared and delicious. The salmon was perfect. One of the best salmon dishes I can remember having. My husband had the paella, also very happy with his meal which contained a good number and size of prawns as well as calamari and mussels. Flavour amazing.
We’ll be back after your June renovations...
Thank you ☺️ for friendly efficient service and to the chef behind the scenes - kudos to you.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank lgriffiths2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2019

Dear Mrs Griffiths,

Thank you very much for your review of our restaurant,On The Rocks. Your kinds words are much appreciated and will definitely be shared with the Chef and the rest of the team who I am certain will be just as thrilled. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for more of the same.

Kind regards,

On The Rocks Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed On The Rocks also viewed

Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 

Been to On The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.