We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service”
Review of On The Rocks

On The Rocks
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Overlooking Table Bay and Table Mountain with panoramic views to Robben Island, where Nelson Mandela was incarcerated for 28 years, we truly do our name proud by being situated literally “on the rocks”. The restaurant has been in uninterrupted operation for over 56 years and displays the same values, drive and professionalism that secured our pristine reputation. These standards are still exuded by all our staff members, who will do their utmost to attend to your every desire. Seating on the brand new terrace allows guests to dine al fresco during summer months and in winter come and enjoy the warm roaring Venetian fire place.
Reviewed 1 April 2019

I had reserved a table for two at On the Rocks, for 7.30 in the evening, but we were running late, and although I called in to say we would be late, we came even later, I was expecting to be turned away, but the friendly staff welcomed us in and we had a wonderful meal, and great wine recommended by our waiter. The atmosphere and food was great, staff very friendly and exceptionally helpful.
Thank you to all at On the Rocks, it was a pleasant and good experience, I will be back for more of your tasty food and good service.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VPVerwey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2019

Dear VPVerwey,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are delighted to read about your recent experience at On The Rocks. Our team will be so happy to hear of your feedback. Do keep us in mind for your next dinner date or just a quick lunch whenever you find yourself are in our vicinity.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for more of the same.

Kind Regards,

On The Rocks Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2019

From the outside (street) this restaurant did not really catch my eye, but wow... once inside and walking through to the beach (sea view) tables (you cannot book these in advance), I was impressed with the view. The service was friendly and efficient and the dishes were fine-dining quality and at reasonable prices (albeit a bit more expensive than its sister restaurant down the street - Ons Huisie).

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank dshorneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2019

Dear dshorneh,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review On The Rocks Restaurant. We are delighted to read about your recent experience. I am certain the rest of our team will be just as happy to receive the feedback. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for another great experience.

With Kind Regards,

On The Rocks Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2019

From the street it does not look like much. Inside it is elegant and welcoming. The outside deck was however the best ever!!!

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BarryGeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2019

Dear Barry,

Thank you very much for your kind words and taking the time to review our restaurant. We are glad to read about your recent experience and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

On The Rocks Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2019 via mobile

The line fish was very nice, my kid had fish
cake and the waffles. According to him divine. We will come again. The price is a bit steep, but really worth it.
The staff are friendly and we’ve enjoyed the spectacular view of table mountain in a distance.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Napierajd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2019

Dear Pierre,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are delighted to read about your recent experience at On The Rocks. Thank you for the compliments regarding the service and the quality of the dishes. They will definitely be shared with the rest of the team. A 5 star review is always a great motivator.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for more of the same.

Kind Regards,

On The Rocks Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2019

The setting is 5 star, what a venue. Great food as well. Calamari, Oysters, Prawns, Angel fish, all cooked to perfection though the peppered Calamari was over salted. And I like salt. The desert menu on paper looks fantastic and on the plate even better. Go hungry with an empty stomach and enjoy. Price wise was very reasonable as well. I would say the best value for money on my 7 day trip to the Cape. Why only 4 stars, well the over salted Calamari and the metal chairs are not the most comfortable. Don't let that dissuade you. I can thoroughly recommend On The Rocks

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2019

Dear mombanick,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review about our restaurant. We are glad to read that your overall experience was a memorable one and thank you for your kind words which will be shared with the rest of our team.

Regarding the calamari, we have addressed it with our chef and his team to ensure that this does not happen again.

Thank you once again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to On the Rocks in the near future.

Kind regards
On the Rocks Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed On The Rocks also viewed

Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 

Been to On The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.