We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome wedding at a stunning venue”
Review of On The Rocks

On The Rocks
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Overlooking Table Bay and Table Mountain with panoramic views to Robben Island, where Nelson Mandela was incarcerated for 28 years, we truly do our name proud by being situated literally “on the rocks”. The restaurant has been in uninterrupted operation for over 56 years and displays the same values, drive and professionalism that secured our pristine reputation. These standards are still exuded by all our staff members, who will do their utmost to attend to your every desire. Seating on the brand new terrace allows guests to dine al fresco during summer months and in winter come and enjoy the warm roaring Venetian fire place.
Reviewed 2 March 2019 via mobile

Our artist daughter had her Steampunk themed wedding reception at On The Rocks on 23 February. Right from the start it was painless and relaxing discussing details with Claudia. Everything went smoothly, the waiters were efficient, friendly, enthousiastic and attentive. We were discreetly kept informed of the drinks tab and even a guest asking for another helping of calamari as dessert did not phase them! The cocktails and canapès were superb, as were all choices on the set menu. The lamb shoulder (not on the regular menu) was absolutely outstanding. We were blessed with a beautiful day and the view from the restaurant of course stunning. Prices were reasonable- third daughter to get married and the best experience of all. Coupled with the talent of Andre at Purity Flowers, who gave the theme absolute justice and entralled us with his beautiful flowers and decor, it was a magnificient day.

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank GrietMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2019

Dear Griet,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review On The Rocks Restaurant and congratulations once again on your daughter's big day. We are delighted to read about your recent experience. I am certain Claudia and the rest of our team will be just as happy to receive the feedback. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for another great experience.

With Kind Regards,

On The Rocks Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 109 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2019 via mobile

Tonight was the second time we have eaten in this restaurant during our holiday.

The first was very good. However tonight was exceptional. We started with drinks on the deck watching a fabulous sunset over Cape Town and Robben's Island.
We are a party of four, each choosing differing courses. The chef actually made a paella especially for me as existing supplies had already been eaten. Each course was excellent as was the service. A thoroughly enjoyable evening. We have booked again for this Sunday. Thank you.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank UrkoColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2019

Dear UrkoColchester

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this glowing review about our restaurant. We are delighted to hear about your experience and look forward to welcoming you back on Sunday for another great experience at On the Rocks.

See you soon.

Kind regards
On the Rocks Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2019 via mobile

Wonderful View, perfect service and delicious food. Meat was on the point, salmon fresh and tasty, sides and dessert were perfect.
Big Kompliment and !-Thank you-!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank alicedZ582QS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2019

Dear Alice,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review On The Rocks Restaurant. We are delighted to read about your recent experience. I am certain the rest of our team will be just as happy to receive the feedback. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for another great experience.

With Kind Regards,

On The Rocks Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2019 via mobile

We came here on our last night in South Africa with our baby and had booked a little earlier so as not to miss the sundowner. The view is breath taking and the restaurant beautifully decorated: exactly our taste. We were instantly made comfortable and had a high chair for the baby. My husband had a cordon bleu “revisited” which was simply amazing. A great experience: thank you!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank lifestylette
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2019

Dear lifestylette,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review On The Rocks Restaurant. We are delighted to read about your recent experience. I am certain the rest of our team will be just as happy to receive the feedback. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for another great experience.

With Kind Regards,

On The Rocks Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2019 via mobile

Expensive and mostly crap food. There is no feeling for food and certainly no idea that medium rare does not mean deader than dead which is how the steak arrived. Pity really as the view is quite nice. But also good reminder that there better options along this coastline ... and no, not Ons Huisie

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Protea123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2019

Dear Protea123,

Thank you for your feedback on your experience at On the Rocks. I would like to apologize on behalf of On the Rocks and our head office for the poor quality of food you recently experienced at our restaurant. This is definitely not acceptable. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on the occasion, we do extend it with all sincerity. We value all reviews as this enables us to improve on our offerings and service.

We hope to continue the conversation privately to address all of the raised issues that you experienced. Could you please send us with your e-mail address to marketing@seascapecollection.co.za.

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed On The Rocks also viewed

Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 

Been to On The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.