We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre ”
Review of On The Rocks

On The Rocks
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

Spectacular setting, you are literally sitting “on the rocks”, but this does not make or break
A restaurant. The staff extremely friendly, but also extremely slow. Good wine list, many choices by the glass. The line fish, dorade, was good, pasta with mushrooms tasty, but literally swimming in the sauce, prawns very mushy. Too many other good places in the area,
They will have to get their ducks in a row. We will not be back

Thank Helene I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear Helene,

Thank you for your feedback on your experience at On the Rocks. I would like to to apologize on behalf of On the Rocks and our head office that you did not receive our usual standard of dishes and service. We value all reviews as this enables us to improve on our offerings and service.

We hope to continue the conversation privately to address all of the raised issues that you experienced. Could you please send us with your e-mail address to marketing@seascapecollection.co.za.

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 602 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

We walked along the seafront in the late afternoon and after passing the Rocks decided to drop in for supper. We chose inside as the weather was changing quickly and we were not dressed for Cape Town cold. After being seated we were left unattended for 10 min then the front of house manager noticed and arranged drinks. Wine list was good but overpriced. We then were asked to order by a third waitron and we both selected line fish- I had the olives and capers dressing my wife had sauce vierge. The presentation was reasonable with a lovely portion of fish and some baby boiled potatoes. The fish was Dorado but contained many bones. The sauce vierge was nothing like the real thing they had no basil , used vinegar instead of lemon juice and the tomato was so acidic it burnt ones throat. We informed our waitron who advised the chef but asked her to taste it to make sure of what we said. She reported back it was terrible and they would make a new batch. There was no apology or attempt to correct. Ordered desert a flourless chocolate cake which was like sticky goo with a slight chocolate flavour - the berry coulis was tasty but why they added popcorn ??? I think the establishment can produce good food but we have yet to experience it

Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Alan,

Thank you for your feedback on your experience at On the Rocks. I would like to to apologize on behalf of On the Rocks and our head office that you did not receive our usual standard of dishes and service. We value all reviews as this enables us to improve on our offerings and service.

We hope to continue the conversation privately to address all of the raised issues that you experienced. Could you please send us with your e-mail address to marketing@seascapecollection.co.za.

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

Visited for lunch on valentine's Day the location is great,it was a lovely day not too much wind so lots of people eating outside on the deck.
The food was disappointing the steak was very tough and the lamb mediocre. The service was poor although friendly.
We have eaten at this restaurant on previous visits to the area but will not be in a hurry to return.

Thank JenifferH45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Jeniffer,

Thank you for your feedback on your experience at On the Rocks. I would like to to apologize on behalf of On the Rocks and our head office that you did not receive our usual standard of dishes and service. We value all reviews as this enables us to improve on our offerings and service.

We hope to continue the conversation privately to address all of the raised issues that you experienced. Could you please send us with your e-mail address to marketing@seascapecollection.co.za.

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Waitress was friendly, but the food and drinks delivered haphazardly. Food was rubbery tough and did not warrant the price. The curry was cold in temperature and took 10 mins to heat up again. Pork dish tough and the knife hardly cut it. At best food mediocre. Cutlery had to be requested for fifth person.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Dave,

Thank you for your feedback on your experience at On the Rocks. I would like to to apologize on behalf of On the Rocks and our head office that you did not receive our usual standard of dishes and service. We value all reviews as this enables us to improve on our offerings and service.

We hope to continue the conversation privately to address all of the raised issues that you experienced. Could you please send us with your e-mail address to marketing@seascapecollection.co.za.

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Very unique place for its outstanding view. Food was as good as we had it in mind from out last visit 1,5 years ago. Great wine choice. Service was honestly slow, little disappointing.

Thank Silke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Silke S,

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review for On The Rocks Restaurant. We value every review we receive from our guests and will address the service issue mentioned immediately to make sure future guests have a pleasant experience when it comes to our level of service.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

With Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed On The Rocks also viewed

Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 

Been to On The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing