We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast”
Review of On The Rocks

On The Rocks
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

Breakfast great as always. Service attentive. View wild and different. I just love the decor and ambience of this eatery. Keep it up

Thank cheryl1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear cheryl1808,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at On the Rocks Restaurant.

It is such a pleasure reading a review like yours. It's fantastic to hear you received great service and enjoyed our hearty breakfasts. A five star review is always a great motivator for us all and we will share your review with the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for lunch or dinner!

Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

We were actable of 6 for lunch. I had the lamb shoulder and it was so dry. 2 people said they steak was tough.

The service was slow and the weirdest part of the experience was having hymns play really loud. We asked three times for it to be turned down. The waitress turned it down once but the manager kept turning it up.

We felt very uncomfortable so decided to go.

Thank JMA1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear JMA1982,

Thank you for your feedback on your experience at On the Rocks. On behalf of the team I would like to profusely apologize that we did not meet your expectation.

We value all reviews as this enables us to improve on our offerings and service. Thank you for taking our call to discuss your complaints.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to turn your negative experience into a truly phenomenal one.

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

This restaurant is unique. It is hidden away, but a welcome find. Situated in the beautiful Blouberg Strand, the restaurant offers a fine dining experience backed by a wonderful wine list. The unique display of the wines are eye catching and impressive as you enter the venue. The ambience is enhanced by the fire place and contributes to a pleasant dining experience. It was evident that the waitress were well trained in both the wine list and the food menu. A lovely evening out.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank francoisroux10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear francoisroux10,

Thank you for taking the time to review On the Rocks restaurant after your recent visit.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and that you received great service and food! We will share your positive comments with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to On the Rocks restaurant again soon.

Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Perfect place for a special occasion was greeted very friendly at the door, waiter very friendly and helpful as there was no chicken dish on the menu and the chef made a chicken risotto for me, delicious! Stunning view, just, unfortunately, a very large touring company arrived with two busses and the was our quiet evening gone! It was then very loud and spoilt our evening for us, wine also very very expensive but a good selection of wine offered.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wilnaventer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear wilnaventer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at On the Rocks Restaurant.

It is such a pleasure reading a review like yours. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your food and received great service.

It's a pity that your evening was spoiled by the influx of clients but we hope that we will be welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

Very friendly greeting at arrival. We decided to sit outside to enjoy the view. Not a huge variety on the menu, but we decided to go for seafood platter for 2.

Awesome platter, had better mussels though - but the rest made up for it. Waiters timing just perfect every time!

Will I go back? Yes, but only when I get friends from abroad / not local who wants good seafood with an absolute stunning setup / location / service / view.

Thank Neels K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear Neels K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at On the Rocks Restaurant.

It is such a pleasure reading a review like yours. It's fantastic to hear you received great service and enjoyed our seafood platter for 2.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed On The Rocks also viewed

Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 

Been to On The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing