We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dinning with a view.”
Review of On The Rocks

On The Rocks
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Perfect place for a special occasion was greeted very friendly at the door, waiter very friendly and helpful as there was no chicken dish on the menu and the chef made a chicken risotto for me, delicious! Stunning view, just, unfortunately, a very large touring company arrived with two busses and the was our quiet evening gone! It was then very loud and spoilt our evening for us, wine also very very expensive but a good selection of wine offered.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wilnaventer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear wilnaventer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at On the Rocks Restaurant.

It is such a pleasure reading a review like yours. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your food and received great service.

It's a pity that your evening was spoiled by the influx of clients but we hope that we will be welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

Very friendly greeting at arrival. We decided to sit outside to enjoy the view. Not a huge variety on the menu, but we decided to go for seafood platter for 2.

Awesome platter, had better mussels though - but the rest made up for it. Waiters timing just perfect every time!

Will I go back? Yes, but only when I get friends from abroad / not local who wants good seafood with an absolute stunning setup / location / service / view.

Thank Neels K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear Neels K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at On the Rocks Restaurant.

It is such a pleasure reading a review like yours. It's fantastic to hear you received great service and enjoyed our seafood platter for 2.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

I have ventured to a plethora of "West coast" eateries in the area between Blouberg and Melkbosstrand and there are many! This one is a step up in every way! Quality of food, service, decor, table setting, winelist and last but certainly not least the view from the deck! Booking is advised, allows corkage but winelist is excellent, you can even taste beforehand! Try it, you won't regret it!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Freshairviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear Freshairviews,

Thank you for taking the time to review On the Rocks restaurant after your recent visit.

We are delighted and humbled by your compliments! We will share your positive review with the rest of the team. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcoming you back to On the Rocks restaurant again soon.

Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

We were in Bloubergstrand for the weekend and decided to have dinner at On The Rocks Restaurant. We were welcomed and seated at a window table with a great view of Cape Town and Robben Island at night, with the tranquil sound of the ocean and waves breaking. The food was delicious and they definitely have the BEST cheesecake I ever had so far. The service was superb and our waiter, Arthur, really went the extra mile. We were so impressed that we visited On The Rocks Restaurant for breakfast the following morning and enjoyed out side seats with the most spectacular view of Table Mountain.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lean3t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear lean3t,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at On the Rocks Restaurant.

It is such a pleasure reading a review like yours. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our view and that you received great service from Arthur. A five star review is always a great motivator for us all and we will share your review with the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another slice of our cheesecake!

Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

Had a horrible experience at this restaurant. I had heard from a coworker that it was delicious and the views were spectacular. Only one of those was true.

The tablecloth was dirty. We had asked for scallops and crawfish and they were both out.
The oysters that we got were old and did not taste good.

And main courses we ate were only okay.

I was very disappointed with this restaurant. For all the excitement we had for coming here and experiencing the views of Robben Island and the beach, it was not worth the 45 minute drive.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Riaa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear Riaa D,

Thank you for your feedback on your experience at On the Rocks. I want to profusely apologize that you did not receive our normal standard of service and that we were out of stock of the items you were interested in.

We value all reviews as this enables us to improve on our offerings and service.

We hope to continue the conversation privately to address all of the raised issues that you experienced. Could you please send us with your e-mail address to marketing@seascapecollection.co.za.

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed On The Rocks also viewed

Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 

Been to On The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing