We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Table View Treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birkenhead Manor Boutique Guest House
Ranked #11 of 52 Bloubergstrand B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 February 2016

Miri and Wolfgang are considerate, welcoming and responsive hosts with a comfortable property that they are continuing to improve. The view of Table Mountain from the top patio, the garden and the pool and the tasty breakfast add to the experience of the comfortably appointed rooms. Walking distance to restaurants, beach, bus service and shopping center yet quiet location. Highly recommend Birkenhead Manor for value and a comfortable stay!

Room Tip: Recommend ground floor room if any mobility issues as stairs quite steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Consistencyexpected
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2016

Simply wonderful! The hosts (Wolfgang & Miri) added that special touch to our stay.

We booked a Superior Room which lead to our little private area in the garden near the pool, the room catered for all our needs, very large. The only reason I didn't give a 5/5 score was there was no air con (But in Cape Town the wind cooled us off nicely), not the end of the world.

The guest house is in walking distance to the beach, restaurants and local Marine Drive strip.

Breakfast was prepped and served with a smile from the gracious staff members, all fresh produce which start our day nicely.

The free parking was great, could come and go as we pleased.

Wolfgang and Miri invited us to an evening of champagne and cheese. Awesome time, great laughs with guests from Austria and the UK.

I fully recommend Birkenhead Manor to both holiday and business visitors.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank GrantOrchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

We spend 10 days at Birkenhead Mannor in December 2015. After being messed around with our accommodation from a B&B nearby, I contacted Miri from Birkenhead who assisted us immediately. The room was small-ish, but perfectly functional for what we required. Most importantly, it was neat and clean. A mere 2 minute walk will provide the most splendid views of Table Mountain. We found that we were able to walk most places that we needed to go. We had a garden unit which looked out onto a small garden. We also enjoyed the sparkling blue pool as well as the superb breakfasts served daily. The ladies who served us breakfast went out of their way to make sure we had everything our tummies desired. Miri and Wolfgang who run the guest house were equally superb. On our arrival, we were welcomed with a bottle of red wine for our bedroom- on the house, which was a very nice touch.
I would highly recommend Birkenhead as an affordable option when visiting Bloubergstrand.

Stayed: December 2015
1  Thank Megan R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2015

I have stayed at the Birkenhead in the past and it now appears to be under new management.
The room was fine but the TV is at least a 1950s model and works like one. The is only washing cream in the shower and no soap which I hate.
The coffee is\n the room is Rickoffy and for the price I reckon they could do better. Awful stuff.
I did not get to sample the breakfast at 7.00am on the Sunday because either I couldn't find it or everyone was a sleep still! Had a plane to catch.
I will go back, with a bar of soap.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Afriod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2015 via mobile

I come to Cape Town regularly with business and stay in the Birkenhead whenever possible. The house is situated on a quiet street very close to the beach and restaurants. It is clean and spacious with a great garden with pool and garden-house where I enjoy the freshly cooked breakfasts. The wifi is always available, which is very important for me.
The new owners Miri and Wolfgang are very friendly and keen to offer any assistance to your stay here.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
2  Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloubergstrand
0.5 km away
Aquarius Luxury Suites
Aquarius Luxury Suites
#2 of 7 in Bloubergstrand
299 reviews
2.7 km away
Bliss Boutique Hotel
Bliss Boutique Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bloubergstrand
143 reviews
0.6 km away
Dolphin Beach Hotel
Dolphin Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Table View
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse-Blouberg
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse-Blouberg
#1 of 52 in Bloubergstrand
201 reviews
2.9 km away
Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge
Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge
#9 of 52 in Bloubergstrand
137 reviews
2.2 km away
Infinity Self-Catering Apartments
Infinity Self-Catering Apartment...
#6 of 21 in Bloubergstrand
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birkenhead Manor Boutique Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birkenhead Manor Boutique Guest House

Address: 23 Birkenhead Road | Blouberg, Bloubergstrand 7741, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bloubergstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bloubergstrand
Price Range: R812 - R1 824 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Birkenhead Manor Boutique Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful decor, serene surroundings and friendly staff make this lovely affordable Guest House the perfect place to stay in Cape Town. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing