We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Floreat Riverside Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Budget Inn(Sabie)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Graskop Hotel(Graskop)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Hotel(Pilgrim's Rest)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Highgrove House(Hazyview)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aan de Vliet(Hazyview)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pine Lake Inn(White River)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
aha Casa do Sol(Hazyview)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
9
14
24
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
14
24
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself catering unitthe riverload sheddinggreat place to stayvenueforest
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

The breakfast was filling and quiet some variety and the the dinner and drinks the night we checked in was also great and pricing so reasonable, the was confusion with our rooms but was offered alternatives the rooms are not 5 stars but they’re comfortable and clean except for the glasoamd plates at the self catering unit but overall experience besides the drama experienced was awesome 7/10 and it’s close to all the main attractions

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ponya2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

Booked in (no.48) here to be able to explore the surrounding areas and points of interest.
Had to remind myself it's a 3 star as it was not up to scratch.
The room inside is good. Let diwn: the shower is in the bath do having to jump over all the time...not nice. The plumbing was noisy. Every time you or the neighbours flush the toilet the whole building seems to shudder. No tv channels to watch.
On the bright side: the food and drinks was good. We had breakfast included so that was good.
No power due to power supply company area cuts (load shedding) twice a day but they manage it well will a backup generator.
Location is good to be able to explore graskop and other popular sights.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TanyaThumbran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

We arrived and wa welcomed by a very incompetent host. We were informed that there were no power and that the unit we were booked in had no backup generator. We however had to pay the full amount. There we no hot water to shower. Never ever again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 620gertm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

What can I say: looking at the advertised photos versus what we walked into, was worlds apart. Felt like we were walking into a 1980’s outdated hotel. Outdated, no proper maintenance. Our TV was useless (all channels were terribly fuzzy) and worst of all the bathroom: shower curtain sticking together with mold, the walls begging to be wiped off etc. I was thoroughly disappointed in the whole experience as nothing in this place has been looked after properly. We even had spiderwebs over the dresser’s lights. Ensure you check MULTIPLE reviews before booking as we have learned. This place has so much potential, unfortunately not being used. I see there has been multiple accounts of lip service by the manager to reviews but obviously nothing has come of it.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floreat, Manager at Floreat Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Chris,

Thank you for your feedback received, the hotel is old is 65 years old but that does not justify why your room was not up to standard. we are currently experiencing load shedding which affects a lot of our equipment and as you have experienced, we had a storm on Saturday the 09th of December 2017 and some of the decoders were damaged. Regarding the molds on the shower curtains and the dirty walls, that is pure negligence and this has been address accordingly.

it would have been better if we were given an opportunity to fix the problem when it happened and we would be grateful is you can allow us to redeem ourselves in future. therefore, we would like to invite you for a complimentary 2 nights stay.

looking forward to your response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

We went to Floreat this past weekend. It doesn't look as well kept as on the website, room/bedding wasn't fresh. You cant watch tv in the rooms as channels were unwatchable and fuzzy.The phone didn't work in the room to complain. We went to reception, complained 3 times, it was never fixed. The guy who finally came after the third time didnt know how to fix it. The Coffee in rooms were never replaced daily. We ordered a pizza with basil on it, it came without it. After 30 min of waiting to see if they found basil, the waiter comes back to say they don't have but chef put mixed herb on it instead. I complained to the manager about everything, to which he said sorry and walked away. This place could be so much more if they had the right staff there. I will never go back there and this place shouldn't be on any website encouraging people to go there.

Room Tip: Don't go to any room, don't waste your money
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tanyasequeira01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews