We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
10
16
24
19
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
16
24
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering unit the river load shedding wonderful stay venue forest
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2017

We arrived and wa welcomed by a very incompetent host. We were informed that there were no power and that the unit we were booked in had no backup generator. We however had to pay the full amount. There we no hot water to shower. Never ever again.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 620gertm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

What can I say: looking at the advertised photos versus what we walked into, was worlds apart. Felt like we were walking into a 1980’s outdated hotel. Outdated, no proper maintenance. Our TV was useless (all channels were terribly fuzzy) and worst of all the bathroom: shower curtain sticking together with mold, the walls begging to be wiped off etc. I was thoroughly disappointed in the whole experience as nothing in this place has been looked after properly. We even had spiderwebs over the dresser’s lights. Ensure you check MULTIPLE reviews before booking as we have learned. This place has so much potential, unfortunately not being used. I see there has been multiple accounts of lip service by the manager to reviews but obviously nothing has come of it.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 718chrisv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floreat, Manager at Floreat Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Chris,

Thank you for your feedback received, the hotel is old is 65 years old but that does not justify why your room was not up to standard. we are currently experiencing load shedding which affects a lot of our equipment and as you have experienced, we had a storm on Saturday the 09th of December 2017 and some of the decoders were damaged. Regarding the molds on the shower curtains and the dirty walls, that is pure negligence and this has been address accordingly.

it would have been better if we were given an opportunity to fix the problem when it happened and we would be grateful is you can allow us to redeem ourselves in future. therefore, we would like to invite you for a complimentary 2 nights stay.

looking forward to your response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

We went to Floreat this past weekend. It doesn't look as well kept as on the website, room/bedding wasn't fresh. You cant watch tv in the rooms as channels were unwatchable and fuzzy.The phone didn't work in the room to complain. We went to reception, complained 3 times, it was never fixed. The guy who finally came after the third time didnt know how to fix it. The Coffee in rooms were never replaced daily. We ordered a pizza with basil on it, it came without it. After 30 min of waiting to see if they found basil, the waiter comes back to say they don't have but chef put mixed herb on it instead. I complained to the manager about everything, to which he said sorry and walked away. This place could be so much more if they had the right staff there. I will never go back there and this place shouldn't be on any website encouraging people to go there.

Room tip: Don't go to any room, don't waste your money
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tanyasequeira01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

It does not look like on the internet , no maintenance is done to inside and outside
Plastic tables and chairs , blocked smelly drains.
I booked through lekker slap thinking that this will not happen but it looks like they don't visit the places they advertise

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 39anels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floreat, Front Office Manager at Floreat Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Anels

Thank you so much for your feedback, we value your review. I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations as an establishment. we are busy with renovations at the moment which commenced last month. We have a new team working on all our online advertising and we hope to update all our online booking platforms.

We would be happy to accommodate you once again in future to allow us a chance to redeem ourselves by ensuring that you received the best service that you deserve

Kind Regards
Terrence Ndlovu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Very disappointing indeed, in EVERYTHING! I have no idea where they got this photo from. Just not a true reflection of the place. Tattered old lace curtains. Blind in batroom brokenTowels with holes in, NO HOT water!,I had to rinse the pubic hair from the bath with the kettle! and noisy guest that open their car doors to listen to music. The food was absolutely overpriced. R210 pp for a buffet? The pudding was a dry piece of sponge cake with custard. No taste to write home about. We did phone for the hot water problem 3 times. Still no call or knock on the door. You actually cannot complain about the service, as there is none. Luckily my husband is a handyman, and turned the geyser up, so that we could take a luke warm bathe and shower. The worst getaway ever, and I could not wait to get back to my own food and clean house.

Room tip: Not one at this place.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank CRUISING30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews