We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Costa Calero(Puerto Calero)(Great Value!)
US$188
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique(Puerto Del Carmen)
US$235
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel THB Flora(Puerto Del Carmen)
US$160
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Gloria Izaro Club Hotel(Puerto Del Carmen)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Villa Suenos Del Mar(Puerto Calero)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (5 547)
Filter reviews
5 547 results
Traveller rating
2 829
1 656
692
230
140
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2 829
1 656
692
230
140
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrago barpool barsea viewpuerto calero marinadesigner shopslovely hotelfive star hotelel riscoa la carte restaurantsbuffet restaurantbed and breakfaststandard roomspa facilitiesrelaxing holidayupgraded to a suitecoastal pathhalf board
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 5 547 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Me and my partner have just got back from our weeks stay here.

We paid £800 for a weeks stay bed & breakfast, transfers and flights so we were not expecting anything too much for the cost and reading other travellers reviews we were led to believe that we was about to arrive at a rough, loud chavy hotel but this certainly was not the case.

Check in -
When we landed we were checked in quickly and offered a welcome drink, we were never offered for our luggage to be taken to the room which was surprising for a 5* hotel.
The reception was lovely and grand.

The room -
Our room was a standard double we weren’t fussed about upgrading as we was only using the room for sleep and getting ready etc.
Would say it bears on average with an old looking bath/shower system.
The tv had no English channels which was annoying as one day was cloudy and cold and we had a long lie in and was pretty bored.
No replacement of tea or coffee, any 3-5* hotels I’ve stayed at actually give these daily and a bottle of water but at hesperia this was at a cost of €5 to be replenished!
It was cleaned daily to a high standard.

The hotel -
The pools looked lovely but were so cold I couldn’t even get in them even when it was sweltering hot.
The pool areas were in complete silence it’s actually a bit weird there is no background music, no atmosphere!
JP the towel man is certainly in the wrong job and should perhaps replace some of the grumpy bar men as he would make the best bar man he was lovely to everyone I heard him talking to, 5 stars to him!
There is no shop at all in the hotel which for us was probably the biggest and most annoying downfall. No where at all in the hotel grounds to buy sun cream any toiletries, magazines etc. The nearest supermarket is 15 minutes walk along the sea front into Puerto Calero.
We saw no daily entertainment only on the last day we left a man doing aqua fitness.
Cannot comment about night entertainment as we didn’t go to watch but could hear a guitarist one night and a lady singing one night around the pool to an empty audience.

The area -
The port nearby was for us what made our holiday good as we was so bored at the hotel we spent all our time and money there!
Lovely Italian restaurant called margaritas and a shisha & cocktail bar next door we was at most days.
We done a day boat trip which we booked in the port for €115 for us both which was fun and nice to get out and do something.
We got a bus into Puerto Del Carmen for €2.80 for us both. The bus stop is a bit of a walk from the hotel.
Taxis there and back ranged from €9-13 single way.

We had a lovely time away together though things need looking at and adjusting to offer the 5* service completely.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank rebeccahh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanzarote_Team, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hesperia Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Dear guest rebeccahh10,

Firstly thank you for choosing Hesperia Lanzarote and for sharing your feedback with the travelers of TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that you and your mother have enjoyed a pleasant stay with us. We place great importance in providing our guests with great experiences.

We truly regret if some aspects of your experience did not meet your expectations, and if the situations you described made a negative impression of our service. You may rest sure that your feedback has already been shared with the area supervisors of our resort, in order to take into consideration your perception to keep improving.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

What can I say about this hotel?! Fab! Fab! Fab! Spotlessly clean hotel, staff are friendly and always smiling, nothing is too much trouble for them. No fight for the sun beds as there are plenty to go round. Food is plentiful and there is a lot of choice. Lovely Conte greeted us on arrival with a glass of bubbly and took us to our room. Reception staff very helpful too. Can’t and won’t say anything negative about this hotel, the staff work very hard to keep everyone happy. Will definitely be back .

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Walshi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanzarote_Team, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hesperia Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Walshi14,

What can we say about your opinion? Certainly fabulous!

Thank you for choosing the Hesperia Lanzarote 5* Hotel for your holidays in the Canaries, it is very much appreciated.

We will make sure to pass your compliments to all the staff, in particular to our bell boy Konte!

Please do not hesitate to contacting us for anything you may need for your next stay. we would be glad to help you!

Sunny Regards from Lanzarote,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

stayed here June 2018 booked bed and breakfast for one week via On The Beach and i can say there isn't anything bad to say about this hotel. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.The breakfast was first class and the food was lovely, this is my second time coming to this hotel having stayed here last year and i have booked to come back here in October 2018 and i cant wait and i will be back here for many more holidays.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanzarote_Team, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hesperia Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Anthony S,

Your compliments will surely flatter all the staff of the Hesperia Lanzarote 5* Hotel. Thank you for the lovely words!

Also, it is a pleasure knowing that you chose our Resort for the second time. It means we met the expectations, and there is nothing more grateful than this.

We will be waiting for you in October. See you soon!

Sunny Regards from Lanzarote,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

A lovely hotel, that looks very impressive from the outside and inside! Spacious, modern and professional!
BUT, Here are a few things which will help you with your trip....

- Not ideal for someone who cant walk far.
The hotel does not have a shop on site, the nearest shop or bus stop is a 10/15 minute walk away, so if you need bottles of water/ suncream/ want to travel to a place, its going to be abit of a walk.

- We stayed for 2 weeks on a bed and breakfast basis, however paid £40 per person to be all inclusive for a day. The food was lovely, and there was lots of choice and good service. If you are all inclusive, there is lots of choices for drinks at the lovely pool bars where the football is shown, and sometimes they play music. (Only some days the music was played and it lacked atmosphere when there was none).

- Situated in Puerto Calero which doesnt have much, it has a small harbour with some lovely restaurants, a supermarket and small gift shop, however these are a 10/15 minute walk away.

- RENT A CAR.
We stayed for 2 weeks and paid £95 to rent a car for the week. Best decision ever. Taxis to playa blanca (white beaches with lots of activities and atmosphere) were roughly £25 and to Puerto Carmen (Great for restaurants and bars) £10.
With the rent a car we could go any of these places (obviously one person cant drink, but so worth it!)
This also meant when we were given a couple days of cloudy weather, we could drive to attractions eg. Jameos del Agua (the volcanic cave), Museums and also the waterpark. (We chose Lanzarote waterpark in Costa Tiguise as it seemed the biggest. There was lots of slides for adults aswell as children).
To get to Costa Tiguise is 2 buses, so definitely reccomend renting a car!
These were the prices when we were here:
€33 for a day
€70 for three days
€120 for a week (€95 if you book online)


HOTEL:
Friendly staff
Great food
Lovely rooms
Great cleaning service
Free gym
Expensive spa
Tennis courts looked abit tacky
Lots of pools (kids pool, big pool, pool with a sit in bar, a little pool)
Lots of sunbeds however i reccommend getting there early as everyone was selfish and put their towels on beds before breakfast to reserve them. Shouldnt be allowed!
Beach is rocky, they have 2 hand made beaches, both very small and not directly by the sea, but close and with a good view, a shower and parasols and sunbeds.
The hotel has services within it such as a place to rent a car, information stand for activities, free cash machine etc.
Hotel has evening entertainment, very talented singers and guitar players, however not something that got a crowd going, and caused the guests to sit and watch rather than get involved. Not a lively evening, however very relaxing, especially if you buy a drink and play some cards or something.
Hotel has a pool table, table football etc.

THINGS TO DO:
Playa blanca - imported white sand beaches (not volcanic), restaurants, cafes, clear waters, great for snorkelling, renting a pedalo, paying for goes on jetskis/ parasailing etc.

Trip to Fuertoventura.
Ferry leaves from Playa Blanca, costed us £29 per person. Worth it! Amazing shops here, lots of funky beach bars, white sand beaches, atmosphere, gift shops, restaurants! Definitely a good place to visit.

BUY A ‘Bono 6 Centros’ TICKET for €33
A multi ticket which allows you to see lots of different places. You can buy a single or ticket for just 3 places. (Need a car to see them all or its alot of buses or expensive taxis).
- Jardin de Cactus (Cactus Garden)
- Jameos del Agua (Volcanic cave with restaurant and pool and museum)
-Cueva de los Verdes (Volcanic cave)
- An art museum with a nice cafe
- Mirador del Rio (AMAZING VIEW from high up)
- A mountain place in playa blanca near the national park (We forgot to go here)


BIOSFERA AND ROOFTOP CINEMA
Biosfera is a shopping centre at the start of Puerto del Carmen. Full of good shops, and the top floor has a rooftop cinema. GREAT experince. Costed €15-25 depending which package you get. Popcorn, comfy seats, a blanket, a great film and wireless headphones. Something different.
We also didnt need the car for this trip. Once on the bus, takes about 5 minutes and costed us €2.80 to get there for two adults! (Taxi back was €9.50)


OVERALL:
Great for couples if you rent a car
Great for groups as you can share taxi prices etc and also enjoy being by the pool all day
Great if you go all inclusive and are happy reading a book by the pool for most of the holiday and enjoying good food (but beware the nearest shops and restaurants are a 10-15 minute walk and you may get bored of going to the same small place)

Definitely would reccomend this lovely hotel, but would also reccomending taking some extra cash to get attraction tickets, car or taxi.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank 33lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanzarote_Team, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hesperia Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear 33lou,

We are glad to know that your stay in the Hesperia Lanzarote 5* hotel has met your expectations. Thank you for your detailed feedback.

With no hesitation your compliments to the staff will be delivered. Our Housekeeping Department always works the extra mile to make sure everything is well cleaned and appointed and the same can be said for the restaurants, the bars and all the services provided in our Resort. Thank you!

We would be more than glad to having you here once again soon. It surely is a great spot for those guests who would like to visit the many places Lanzarote has to offer.

Sunny Regards from Lanzarote,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed here June 2018 and i cant say a bad word. Fantastic place. We stayed in room on the F block which was very nice.

- Cleaners changed towels every day and kept the room very clean. - Reception was very helpful and polite and also have a good understanding of English.
- Food was nice, we went all inclusive, which was the best thing we did. You can upgrade per day if you like.
- Puerto del Carmen was 10 mins in a taxi and only cost €10. It has lots of bars, food and a lovely beach with plenty of sun.

I highly recommend staying in this hotel. I've enjoyed my stay and hope to come back one day.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanzarote_Team, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hesperia Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear William M,

Thank you for all the compliments you expressed through your opinion about your recent stay in the Hesperia Lanzarote 5* Hotel!

We are glad that the cleanliness, the gastronomy and the service of our staff have been excellent to you. W ewill deliver your comments to everyone!

Thank you, once again, for recommending our Resort. We hope you come back soon!

Sunny Regards from Lanzarote,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews