We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
only1thebest
Greater Accra, Ghana

Some Places Are Worth Visiting Again

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 04 Jan 2020via mobile
Between two fishing villages near the border of Ghana with Cote'd Ivoire is the idealic setting for one of Ghana's picturesque holiday lodges, Lou Moon Lodge. Now, under new administration, and with exciting plans for the future this small hideaway is worthy of a whisper to those with discerning tastes, an eye for the unusual, wishing to get away from it all.

Tasteful accommodations go well with an ever changing menu of local produce, fresh fish and seafood, with just a hint of West African influence.

The keyword is RELAX. Service is impeccable and the staff is at hand but not intrusive.

Elegant, laid back, and just beautiful. Each morning felt as though our ship had just sailed into a new port somewhere intoxicating.

My Dearest enjoyed the massage sessions on the beach, or under the coconut tree near our bungalow. An honestly relaxing time away. We are grateful.
Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 509
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    R 898
  • Hotels.com
    R 898
  • Vio.com
    R 1 874
6.0 km from Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury
Free parking
Beachfront
R 11 007
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
    0.0 km from Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    R 598
    Fully refundable
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
      R 598
    • Agoda.com
      R 595
    • Vio.com
      R 595
    21.0 km from Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    R 505
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      R 510
    29.1 km from Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury
    Beachfront
    Restaurant
    View from the beach toward the hotel
    R 539
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Vio.com
      R 535
    • Agoda.com
      R 535
    • Priceline
    29.3 km from Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    R 2 890
    R 2 230
    Fully refundable
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
      R 2 575
    • Hotels.com
      R 2 230
    • Priceline
      R 2 575
    38.4 km from Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    R 561
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      R 561
    • Agoda.com
      R 558
    29.4 km from Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury
    Beachfront
    Restaurant
    Garden walk way
    R 566
    No prepayment needed
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
      R 537
    • Vio.com
      R 534
    • Agoda.com
      R 534
    32.1 km from Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    Restaurant Afro Beach
    R 514
    Fully refundable
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
      R 514
    • Agoda.com
      R 511
    33.2 km from Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    R 763
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
      R 763
    33.6 km from Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    View more hotels in Axim
    Reviews (165)
    Filter reviews
    165 results
    Traveller rating
    101
    47
    9
    3
    5
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    101
    47
    9
    3
    5
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews lou moon private pool lunch and dinner table tennis fish fell in love other places water pressure long trip takoradi swim sea paradise beaches cove archery nature
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    19 - 24 of 165 reviews
    Reviewed 19 October 2019

    Where do u begin. I booked this trip months ago and was so looking forward to it,I had a change in my circumstances and the staff were so accommodating an cheap me Re-schedule

    The pictures you see on social media does not do this resort justice,it’s insanly beautiful in real life,I could not believe believe this was in Ghana

    The food omg was perfect,we paid extra to have dinner by the beach ..less than £10 and it was the best thing we did my husband and I were in our own world

    We had our private butler who was very attentive to us and made sure we had the best night

    In regards to the rooms we went for room 4 and the views were 10/10 waking up to the ocean was a dream come true ..if I’m to tell u all the good things about this resort I will right a book..book this place and u will never ever regret it ..we had the best anniversary here and I will certainly go back anytime am in Ghana🇬🇭🇬🇭🇬🇭🇬🇭💙

    Date of stay: October 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    3  Thank Bennell B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 11 July 2019 via mobile

    We stayed in Room 1 on the island. I can say with certainty that It was the best view from a hotel room that I have ever seen. We slept with all doors open and the ocean sounds every night and woke up to see paradise. The food was incredible. The design of the rooms was so well thought through and clever, from the bath overlooking the ocean with doors wide open, to the private pool location within 4 meters of the left had side of the bed. Panoramic views from each side. No mosquitoes, just the ocean and you. If you want pure romance. This is the place.

    We drove down in a 4x4 from Accra in one day, stopping at Elimena en route. We had a rubbish map but made it in 6 hours (pleasant journey and fascinating through the villages). The track to the hotel is definitely a 4x4 challenge and great fun once you have done it twice! We visited lots of places from the hotel and it feels like we have had complete luxury and lots of little adventures. The staff were hilarious, kind and thoughtful. Perfect holiday and I feel very sad to leave after 5 days.

    This would be a perfect place to hire out for a wedding or party... we are coming back!

    Date of stay: July 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank Scenic464574
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 25 June 2019

    My partner and I just returned from Lou Moon lodge where we spent the first half of our honeymoon. I'm not sure what we expected before we arrived but I can honestly say that every expectation we had was exceeded. The staff really cannot do enough to help you and are extremely friendly. To get her we flew 40 minutes from Accra to Takoradi (which is pretty cheap by European standards) and then the airport provided a taxi collection which was 150 Cedi's each way and about 1.5 hrs.

    We stayed on the island which we would thoroughly recommend. I know it is difficult to pay for this accommodation if you are not from Ghana as it is by bank transfer which incurs quite a lot of fees but what we didn't know was that the price included breakfast and dinner. The food was one of many highlights of this trip. The chef is second to none and each lunch and dinner brought a new and incredible menu.

    There are lots of complimentary activities including table tennis, volleyball (which it turns out is not one of our strong points!!!), archery, paddle boarding and kayaking. The beach is beautiful and the walk across to the island where our room was was equally beautiful.

    A lot of seaweed gets washed up on the beach each day and the staff do a fantastic job of cleaning it up. The deck chairs on the beach were set up for us each day with a mattress and clean towels.

    The room... where do I start? We honestly have never stayed anywhere like this. Waking up surrounded by the ocean and just lying in bed listening to the waves was just magical.

    There was no wifi in the rooms on the island but that was perfect. No tv in their either so you really can just relax and enjoy the surroundings. For those of you that need wifi, there is wifi in the bar area.

    We really cannot recommend this place enough.

    In terms of things to be improved, we really cannot think of anything at all! We would stay here again if we were ever to return to Ghana.

    Date of stay: June 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    2  Thank AbiB1234
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 28 April 2019 via mobile

    We spent the day to celebrate a birthday and we enjoyed every moment of it! The staff was friendly and helpful, the place is absolutely gorgeous and peaceful located in a little bay for those who do like a quiet swim. My cocktail was lovely, the food was delicious, with excellent sorbet and a nice wine list. Lots of activities to do such as kayaking, paddling, volleyball, pétanque. Will go back to stay in one of the amazing private chalets located on a semi-island with an exclusive sea view. Thanks to the whole staff for a birthday to remember!!

    Date of stay: April 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank mariem_wittytravel
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 23 April 2019

    Lou Moon is located into one of Ghana's most beautiful corners. The hotel is right by a small bay and a ocean, giving you beautiful view of sea, beach, and palm trees. It really feels like being into a tiny tropical paradise.

    Rooms are large, and clean, with their private balcony. The food is good, and the cocktails are definitely worth ordering. Staff was very helpful and attentive.

    The hotel is also really nice for families with children. There are large grassy areas for them to run and play, and the hotel supplies balls and other games. There is also kid menu at the restaurant, which is always appreciated.

    I had originally planned to go in November, and I had to cancel my stay because of an illness. The hotel allowed me to keep 80% of my reservation booking for a future stay, which I found very nice, considering I cancelled on the day of travel.

    Date of stay: April 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank mariiiiiiiiiiiiiiiie
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews