We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing, Clean, Spacious”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Makambu and surroundings Villa Makambu and surroundings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Villa Makambu and surroundings
Villa Makambu and surroundings
Mezzanine in the upper level unit
The mezzanine
Bedrrom with ensuite bathroom with extra large double shower
Bedroom with ensuite bathroom with double shower
Ensuite bathroom with double shower
Outside living on large verandas
Marigot Bay
Myranda and Carlos our exceptional staff!!!
Pascale and Franz the owners
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter, St. Lucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
dmmorgan6...
Marigot Bay, St. Lucia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing, Clean, Spacious”
Reviewed 1 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

There are no paved roads to paradise and this home is paradise. The owner is so kind and very down to earth and Carlos, the caretaker was wonderful for his assistance and for us out of towners. We hired Smalley who took a few of us around the Island for the day hitting the volcano, waterfalls, shops and finally snorkeling.
The house is as it is portrayed in the photos. It is very clean, and there are plenty of towels and chairs on both decks.
We went with a group celebrating a birthday and the home had enough space where we could be with each other yet go to our own corner for some relaxing time on the veranda. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2018
Thank you Scott , it was a pleasure having you at Makambu ! All the best to all of you.
Pascale
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megan t
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 6 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We recently stayed at Villa Makambu while on St. Lucia for a wedding. It's a beautiful property and the owner and caretaker were extremely accommodating. There was ample space in the home, the wrap around porch with the view of the bay and the ocean was breathtaking. Kitchen was well stocked with all of the supplies you would need. Only things that I would say that were less then optimal were the beds were truly uncomfortable, and there is no air conditioning. It wasn't necessarily hot, but the humidity is extremely high so everything always felt damp. Minor inconveniences overall.
The house felt very safe and secure, gated, locked fence around the property and we were given an alarm fob for our "apartment"
Carlos arranged boat tour of the island for us one day,snorkeling, quiet secluded beach, and his brother took us on an amazing driving tour of the southern part of the island and the Pitons, sulfur springs, waterfall, rum tasting on the side of the road. He was great. We felt like we really got a sense of the culture and the wonderful people of St. Lucia.
Only other minor thing is that the villa is up a treacherous road, apparently the roads in St. Lucia overall have a bad reputation. Getting up to and down from the villa was quite the "adventure".
We attended the wedding at a very expensive resort on the island and I can tell you that when comparing our trip to others who stayed there, our experience was far above theirs. If you want to experience the island this is the route to take, and the home was so peaceful...recharged the my emotional batteries. Thanks Pasquale

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2018
Thank you Megan for the nice review. Sorry you did not find the beds comfortable . It is the first time somebody says that the beds are not comfortable . I usually get good comments about the beds.
Happy you had a wonderful stay.
Kindly,

Pascale
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler7...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing stay, Amazing people!”
Reviewed 29 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
3
people found this review helpful

I find it difficult to find the words to accurately describe our stay here but here goes..Myself, wife, daughter and nephew recently returned from our 1 week stay at this breathtaking Villa.

Upon arrival we were picked up at the airport by Smally who is a super cool. He stopped at a local grocery store to pick up some essentials, loaded them up and brought us directly to the villa where we were immediately greeted by Carlos, who is one of the nicest people I've ever met. Once he and Smally got our bags up to the 2nd floor, Carlos proceeded to give us the grand tour. This villa is extremely spacious with 3 bedrooms and 2 full baths. Nearly every amenity you could think of is already there from dishes and silverware to towels, kitchen appliances, a safe for valuables and a bbq. There is a huge, wrap around deck with the best view of one of the most beautiful scenes I've ever laid eyes on. The grounds are beautifully maintained by Carlos and you can tell a tremendous amount of thought and planning went into the design of the property. The pool area is huge with plenty of lounge chairs to either lay in the sun or sit in the shade.

Once we settled in Carlos presented us with his delicious fish cakes that were absolutely amazing. Shortly thereafter Carlos offered to take us down to the bay for dinner at Chateau Mygo where we had dinner and drinks right on the water. It was lovely!

On the morning of our first day we were greeted by the owner Pascal. She asked how we wanted to spend our time, what we were interested in doing/seeing. Once we told her that we had little to no interest in doing touristy things and that we wanted a true island experience her eyes seemed to light up. She went down a list of things of us to do and by the end of it she had a day at TiKaye beach and bbq planned for us as well as a private boat charter to see the Pitons planned.

Without a doubt the best day was at Tikaye where Pascal and her friend Nick as well as Carlos joined. Not only did they join us for the day but they provided the bbq and all the food as well. And we cannot forget Pascal's homemade rum punch! It was an amazing day where we lounged, laughed and hung out in the water all day. It was truly special! (Thank you Pascal!)

Another great time was a day we spent with Carlos. He took us into the bush where we hiked about a mile or so to an amazing waterfall with breathtaking views. Then it was off to a mud bath at the sulfur pits in Soufriere and capped off with a lovely dinner.

Carlos took us nearly every night down into the bay where we had dinner and drinks and was more than happy to come back and pick us up to bring home.

The bay itself is rather small but has a multitude of places to eat and drink. Chateau Mygo, Dr Doolittle's and Pirate bay just to name a few but our favorite was Capella. It is an open air restaurant right on the water with great food and even better drinks! There we met Kashima. A sweet, sweet young woman who was our server. She remembered our names from our first evening there and we hit it off immediately. From that night on we requested her as our server nearly every day/night.

I could go on and on about how amazing the experience was for us! St Lucia is a gem of an island to vacation and there is no doubt we will return. I can say without question that our stay was simply perfect but it would not have been nearly as good it weren't for Carlos and Pascal! They are truly good souls who genuinely want their guests to have the best vacation possible. We wouldn't dream of staying anywhere but Villa Makambu. We all shed a tear when it was time to leave but we felt as made new friends! Friends who we will be seeing again and again.

If you're thinking of spending some time here. JUST DO IT! You will not regret it!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect fit for our group - what an amazing place and experience.”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The location is amazing: on a hill, overlooking the bay - incredible. We stayed in the bottom floor of the villa. It is open air - great louvered doors/windows to let the breeze through. It was a very comfortable and beautiful place to stay. You can see by the pictures that the villa is immaculate. But other than the great villa, the real benefit, in my opinion, is having the knowledge and help of Pascale and Franz, the owners, and Carlos, the caretaker. They were wonderful hosts - they went to the store and put drinks in our refrigerator because they knew the store would be closed by the time we arrived on our first day! So thoughtful. That night, they brought a plate of fish cakes to us - they were amazing. They even took us to the local restaurant the first night since we didn't have our rental car yet. They would help us book activities, the rental car (small SUV), and suggest places to eat, and they were always right! All the recommended restaurants and activities were great. They booked a private water taxi tour on our last day where we got to snorkel and see the west coast of the island.
I can't imagine staying someplace different when I return. Pascale and Franz, and Carlos, add a real personal touch to the stay.
If you are staying in St. Lucia, rent a small SUV (you'll have to get used to driving on the left if you are not already!) and stay here. The roads take some getting used to, but well worth it. This location is not too crowded with tourists. You will not be sorry!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTredway
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Views and Beautiful Villa ”
Reviewed 15 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

The pictures and all the reviews don't even come close to describing how amazing and breath taking Villa Makambu is. Pascal was great to work with and Carlos, the caretaker of the villa, ensured we had everything we needed. Our first night there Carlos made us some snacks (I can't remember what he called them but they reminded me of a better version of hush puppies) and they were delicious! We visited the Castries market towards the end of our trip but wish we would have in the beginning! Tons of fresh fish and produce that was very affordable. If Carlos is available have him take you to the cliff nearby. It's a lovely small beach with great views and a hill, about twenty feet high, that you can jump into the water from. DEFINITELY recommend getting a car, especially because that's the best way to see and explore most of the island. Carlos was sweet enough to help us make reservations for the car and it couldn't have been more stress free! The car was dropped off and picked up so we didn't have to do a thing. If you have any hesitations or skeptical about Villa Makambu, don't! This is by far the nicest rental I've stayed in and Carlos couldn't have been a better host. Thanks for making our vacation so great!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing