We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great!!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Makambu and surroundings Villa Makambu and surroundings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Villa Makambu and surroundings
Villa Makambu and surroundings
Mezzanine in the upper level unit
The mezzanine
Bedrrom with ensuite bathroom with extra large double shower
Bedroom with ensuite bathroom with double shower
Ensuite bathroom with double shower
Outside living on large verandas
Marigot Bay
Myranda and Carlos our exceptional staff!!!
Pascale and Franz the owners
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter, St. Lucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Sailor044
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great!!”
Reviewed 26 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012
2
people found this review helpful

The owners could not be more hospitable. The mid Island location is great. Views are fantastic. Highly recommended.
drawbacks: The road, a few biting bugs Mozzies, and the music that comes from clubs in the bay.
None are that bad but bring a pair of earplugs and some after bite.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Views
Liked least: the music from the Bars below
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
triathlet...
Orange County, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could not have asked for a more perfect accommodation!”
Reviewed 13 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed here with our 2 daughters (ages 8,6 yo) for 10 days. The accommodations were outstanding: beautiful, clean, spacious and did I mention a spectacular view and big pool?? Our two kids were in heaven and spent any free time swimming. The owners could not be more hospitable and they have a groundskeeper and cleaning person who are the friendliest most helpful people you could ever meet. They provided us with a local cell phone to use while we were there and even stocked the refrigerator on our first day of arrival. They have a local Canadian friend of theirs help when you first arrive and will help answer any questions you have. The house is spectacular, clean, comes fully stocked with anything you need and made our first visit to St. Lucia spectacular and unforgettable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House/pool/bbq
Liked least: st lucia has to import a lot of resources so much more expensive for food
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieS420
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Villa, so relaxing you'll not want to leave!!”
Reviewed 29 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Just would like everyone to know the owner, manager, grounds keeper and housekeeper are all admirable people. If you are looking for a place where you can kick back, relax and celebrate life, Villa Makambu is just the place. We stayed in the upper level and the view is breath taking day and night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TK-Sask
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great vacation rental”
Reviewed 20 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We just got back from St. Lucia and had the privilege of staying at Villa Makambu for 12 days. Due to availability when we booked, we ended up splitting our stay between both the lower and upper level, which gave us the chance to experience both units. I can only echo the previous reviews already written and agree that this is a wonderful vacation rental with fantastic views, a quiet atmosphere, spacious and comfortable accommodations on both levels. I would also recommend renting a car to give you the freedom to come and go as you please and to see the island on your own schedule. I walked the local roads everyday and walked down to Marigot Bay a few times with no difficulty but this would not be for everyone unless you are a regular walker or are somewhat physically fit. You certainly could get by with taking cabs to get groceries and seeing sites, but we were glad we had a vehicle. The main highway is in very good shape, narrow compared to North American standards, but very good pavement. The transition to driving a right-hand-drive car on the left side of the road was easy, and the constant curves in the road keeps everyone driving at a slow enough speed to be able to easily react to anything that might pop up. St. Lucians honk to say hi, not to indicate you've done something wrong. There really is no real close beaches to access if that is your thing, but many you can drive to which also supports the rental car recommendation. Fisherman's cove, about a 10 minute walk down the road, is very secluded and quiet and has a small dock, a bit of sand and shady areas, decent snorkelling, but is rocky so water shoes are must for wading in to go swimming. We too enjoyed the beach at Ti Kaye Village and went there several times ($5 US each for chair and umbrella for the day), Vigi beach at Castries is a very nice long sandy beach great for walking, very scenic, lots of surf etc.. We saw a lot of the island and for us, Marigot Bay was the best location for quiet, scenery, and relaxation as it is removed from the large resort areas. The boats in the bay were fantastic, everything from local fishermen and water taxis to multi million dollar yachts. Overall a fantastic trip, and a great rental spot. Pascale is very prompt with email correspondence and was a pleasure to deal with. Her local managers that look after you are the owner's of Villa Pomm'e D'Amour and they are fantastic and make sure you are well looked after while you are there. Make sure these two Villas are on your short list when choosing a place in St. Lucia!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: New building, quiet location, the views
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jftripper
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No hesitation to stay again!”
Reviewed 9 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had a very relaxed and pampered stay at Villa Makambu.

Pascale, the owner, is a delightful host who anticipates what you would like and can recommend your every need. Carlos, who helps out for all general things, is the perfect gentlemen who can provide all the local needs you might have.

The villa we were in was on the lower floor and has large comfortable rooms, fantastic bathrooms with enormous walk in showers and all the amenities you need. Add in a lovely private terrace with fantastic views of Marigot Bay, a large pool with plenty of chairs to relax in and a large terrace with further views of Marigot Bay. Absolute pleasure!

We decided to have a BBQ one evening just for ourselves and Carlos set it all up and surprised us by providing his own cooked starter for us! Delicious.

Do take the boat trip that Carlos offers, snorkeling in beautiful bays and visitng many locations.

Do take the advice of Pascale and hire a 4 wheel drive car. It helps you get access to remote places in the island but also makes it easier to get to Villa Makambu. Its a stony road up to the Villa which is easy to drive up to, but helps with a 4 wheel drive. The views reward you!

Enjoy the experience of this wonderful location, wonderful hosts and a wonderful island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, View, Perfect Villa, Clean Villa, Great Pool, Fantastic Hosts
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$195
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing