We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ginger Cottage is as near to paradise as you can...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ginger Cottage

COME AND DREAM AT GINGER COTTAGE !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
COME AND DREAM AT GINGER COTTAGE !
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
COME AND DREAM AT GINGER COTTAGE !
Ginger Cottage views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter, St. Lucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Peter A
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ginger Cottage is as near to paradise as you can get.”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Just back from our 6th stay at Ginger. Managed to stretch it to 3 weeks this time. It has to be the best place in the Caribbean. We have visited other places in the Caribbean but nothing comes remotely close to Ginger. Paradise.

The lovely warm breeze blowing through the whole cottage is delightful. Breakfast on the verandah while watching the sail boats weighing anchor early in the morning and dinner in the same place watching the sun disappear on the horizon. A fantastic place to eat and relax.

Not only is it in the best position on the bay - beautiful views, really close to the beach but the Enrica, the owner makes everything so easy - pick up from the airport, shopping, boat trips, snorkeling, whatever. The support team ( Lucretia, Letti and of course George) Enrica has really means that all you have to do is just relax and enjoy.

Thank you all of you.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Serene and Beautiful Spot on a Gorgeous Bay”
Reviewed 10 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Ginger Cottage the last week of December 2014 through the new year in 2015. We had a wonderful time and were very comfortable in this lovely little home. George, the caretaker, was extremely helpful and made sure we had everything we needed. Enrica and Lucretia also were great help coordinating our stay. We thought we would spend most of our time relaxing and reading but there was so much to do in Saint Lucia that we found ourselves on the go a lot--but we are pretty active people on vacations in general. We went out on the boat with George a couple of times and he took us to some fantastic snorkeling spots and even caught and cooked up some fish on the beach for us. We rented a car so we could get around the island more easily. We're both Americans who travel abroad frequently and are used to driving a manual transmission on the right-hand side, so the learning curve of driving in Saint Lucia perhaps wasn't as steep for us (a little pun intended). We definitely were happy to have the freedom to get around the island as we pleased and we both felt comfortable driving during the day but were a little more hesitant at night. We left the car in the parking lot across the bay and took a quick ferry ride to access the car each day (we bought a week's ferry pass for a nominal fee). Marigot Bay is lovely and we had coffee and breakfast on the porch each morning and cocktails outside each evening while taking in the gorgeous scenery. We loved Rainforest Cafe but like everything else in Saint Lucia it definitely wasn't cheap. Chateau Mygo was a more reasonable price point. George and our driver recommended we buy our groceries at the big grocery store in Cul de Sac where the prices were much cheaper since the little store across the bay from Ginger Cottage is pricier. We made our breakfast each day and took a picnic lunch with us for our day of snorkeling, kayaking, hiking or exploring. We also stopped at the fish market in Gros Islet to ask if we could buy a fish and came away with a fresh tuna that lasted us a few meals. My husband and I bought some charcoal and he cooked it up on the porch on the simple little grill provided at the cottage. We didn't join any tours and found that with our car we would leave to get to our destinations a bit later than tour groups so would mostly have places to ourselves in the afternoon (i.e. the summit of Gros Piton and the Tet Paul trail). I should state that my husband and I aren't so much into luxury hotels, package tours or concierges--if that is your style this might not be the place for you. But if you are looking for a beautiful, relaxing, quaint homey spot with an unbelievable view and a relaxed charm go ahead and book it before someone else does!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurenand...
Highcliffe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The BEST place to stay in St Lucia!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have recently returned from a wonderful two week stay at Ginger Cottage and can genuinely say this is one of the most beautiful self catering holiday lets we have ever had the pleasure of visiting. The cottage was spotlessly clean and Enrica's attention to detail in providing everything you could need was outstanding.

The view from the cottage speaks for itself and we spent many an hour just watching the world go by from the two balconies. You can recline at your leisure almost anywhere in the property and see the gorgeous turquoise sea, swaying palm trees, sail boats and luscious flowers - absolute therapy for the soul and perfect for relaxing! Comfy bed, good size bathroom and homely kitchen - what more could you want!

Enrica and Rico and George and Lucretia (sorry about the spelling everyone) and the lady who came to clean the cottage all showed us such warmth, hospitality and kindness that it made our stay perfect and we can not thank or recommend you highly enough. What delightful hosts!

We loved Marigot Bay as a base to explore the island. It is probably a good idea to hire a car to make sure you can get out of the bay and see everything St Lucia has to offer! We didn't book one in advance and maybe should have as the local rental office were all booked out, although this did force us to stay in Marigot and relax for a few more days! It's a hard life!

Reading reviews before we went we were slightly worried about access as there is no road to the cottage. However, the little boat over to the cottage side of the bay is run by some lovely local guys and operates all the time and at all hours so this is no problem whatsoever! There is a bit of a hill up to the cottage which might be a problem for someone with walking difficulties etc

There is also a small, if expensive, shop and some nice gift shops in the Bay; it is a short drive to the bigger supermarket.

In all, we would not hesitate in recommending Ginger Cottage to friends and family.

Keep up the good work.

With lots of love and huge thank yous!!!!

Lauren and Barney x x x x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Reviewed 25 March 2013 for a stay in January 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aleia13
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ginger Cottage, a hidden gem!”
Reviewed 20 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
5
people found this review helpful

As soon as we arrived at the airport and were greeting by the lovely driver Lucretia with two fresh Pitons beers (courtesy of Ginger Cottage) we knew it could only get better! Ginger Cottage is a little hidden gem set within the most beautiful spot in the Caribbean! The house carer George waited for us at the little port to take us to paradise.. Ginger Cottage is located on the prettiest side of the Marigot Bay with a beautiful Ocean and priceless sunset view. There is Labas Beach just 2 minutes walk from the cottage which is perfect if fancying a chilled and easy going day, there are few locals on-site which are great fun and very good at maintaining the island’s identity not making it feel too touristy or resort style! George was an absolute star, he was the greatest host ever and with him you will know you are in safe hands. He took us around the island by his little boat, to his village and to some amazing snorkelling experiences but the most memorable moment was surely when he fished fresh seafood for us and cooked on the beach followed by fresh July mango - the best meal on the island! Ginger Cottage is a little piece of paradise, for a couple of days we hardly left it to enjoy the pleasant breeze coming through the open windows with the peaceful sound of waves hitting the rocks just below! Erika, the owner, was amazing throughout the booking process and the duration of the stay, always there to help if needed.. we felt like having a 24/7 concierge service available to us! Needless to say that we will surely be back.. it was a memorable holiday and can’t wait to visit Ginger Cottage again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location, the setting of the cottage, the view and the welcoming feel!
Liked least: really nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$150
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing