We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Fortune L
Pretoria, South Africa

Terrible service on my birthday

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Mar 2024
Nondumiso gave the most depressing service the manager lindelani tried to salvage the bad service. The ambience beach front experience was nice. Food not so much wow as recommended. Our waiter Nondumiso literally ignored us we constantly had to ask other people for everything l. She messed up feedback from the chef and we had to even wait another hour. Oh yes we did notice that you gave the tables of Caucasian guests more attention Nondumiso . This is not good enough I’m sorry you managed to ruin my birthday. For future reference black peoples money is the same and good enough like white peoples money. Thank you Shobna for coming to apologise.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 147
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 859
  • Algotels
    R 3 021
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 859
0.1 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 800
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    R 800
  • Vio.com
    R 799
  • eDreams
    R 800
0.3 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 700
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 400
  • Vio.com
    R 1 667
  • Trip.com
    R 2 400
0.6 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 920
  • Expedia.com
    R 920
  • Agoda.com
    R 894
  • Priceline
    R 920
0.5 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room #1 bathroom
R 1 411
  • Priceline
    R 1 411
  • Vio.com
    R 1 408
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 411
0.4 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
1.3 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 430
  • Booking.com
0.6 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 383
  • Hotels.com
2.4 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Breakfast
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
2.4 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
    2.4 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Salt Rock
    Reviews (221)
    Filter reviews
    221 results
    Traveller rating
    74
    81
    39
    18
    9
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    74
    81
    39
    18
    9
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews curry jungle gym scones family break sea beach caters patio
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    2 - 7 of 221 reviews
    Reviewed 8 March 2024

    Exceptional sea views with the fresh sea breeze waking you up in the morning. The rooms are spacious and have all the amenities needed to make your stay a nice experience. The hotel is dated but kept clean and neat. The fish I ordered at the restaurant took almost an hour....didn't make sense, but it was nice. Will return soon. Hoping to spend some time at the hotel pool. Ravi and his team deserves the 5 stars.

    Room tip: Ask for the top floor rooms. Just don't leave your room windows open at night as bats might come visit you. And they are a LOT!
    Date of stay: February 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Ashley M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 2 March 2024 via mobile

    This hotel is amazing. The rooms boasts incredible views of the ocean. You can sit on the grass bank and enjoy the sound and tranquility of the breaking waves. There are public beaches to swim in at a walkable distance . You can also swim in the tidal pools if the sea is too rough and of course the hotel has their own swimming pool . The food is absolutely delicious and spectacular views while you eat, there is a seating area on the balcony and if you see dolphins you need to ring the bell so everyone can see

    Room tip: There are lots of stairs to climb to get from the hotel to the beach
    Date of stay: December 2023
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    Thank Alexander K
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 1 February 2024

    Unfortunately, my overall experience at Salt Rock Hotel was a bit underwhelming.
    The service provided by the waiters left much to be desired, as they appeared irritated and slow.

    The meals were average and mediocre.
    We had breakfast, lunch and dinner on different occasions in January 2024, meeting with friends.
    The only breakfast item worth mentioning was the haddock, which I genuinely enjoyed.
    We had the curry for lunch and found it average compared to other restaurants in the vicinity.
    Dinner we pizza and pasta; also average.

    One aspect that can’t be overlooked is the breathtaking view. Unfortunately, the décor is outdated. The building and grounds certainly need some attention.

    Date of stay: January 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank CharmsJvR
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 30 January 2024

    Attention: Manager Salt Rock Beach Hotel

    Dear Sir / Madam,

    We have just checked into room 305 and we are looking forward to a wonderful stay at SRH.

    As we have been planning this holiday for a while now, we tend to look forward to each little detail. One of the highlights of our previous stay was the breakfast buffet, which offered a wide variety for my vegetarian wife.

    We have come to learn that the buffet is not offered at SRH and that guests may order off an abbreviated menu. This has left us with a conundrum.. What do I now offer my wife, who is vegetarian (on our anniversary trip) to your hotel, that we have been looking forward to for months.

    I was very surprised to learn of this and I found it extremely odd that such a fundamental change was not communicated to us in any way shape or form. I even consulted your website that states that: “ We offer a hearty and generous buffet breakfast and delicious dinners with a wide variety of choice.
    Opening hours:
    Breakfast: 07h00 to 09h30
    Dinner: 18h00 to 21h30.
    With our delicious Buffet Breakfast, you are spoilt for choice.”

    I am very disappointed. I feel that the R1175 pppn rate is not justified as a substantial value has now been taken away.

    To date I have not received any response to this message sent to the hotel by email.

    Room tip: Avoid this hotel.
    Date of stay: January 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Trek57923757713
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 17 December 2023

    The Salt Rock Hotel is our second home. Each time we are embraced like family by all the staff who somehow remember us from the last time. Their Sunday Buffet Lunch is fit for a King, awesome food, excellent and polite staff and stunning views, makes one never want to leave.

    Room tip: This place is addictive so prepare yourself to plan many many future trips here.
    Date of stay: December 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Compass45848632352
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews