We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
michelleak07
Durbanville, South Africa

A grand ol' lady in need of a facelift

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Sept 2023
The location of, and views from, this hotel are superb! Sadly though the facade is desperate for a coat of paint, and the rooms could do with modernising. The cupboards are extremely old resulting in me being weary of hanging anything in them, particularly the formal attire which was needed for a wedding that we were attending. The bathroom appeared to have been revamped, which begs the question as to why the room itself was so outdated. Despite its aging decor and "old" cupboards, everything was very clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful, going the extra mile to sort out an error in our online booking. Breakfast was great as well. They have a reliable backup for power outages which is a huge plus.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 679
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 894
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
0.3 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Dash Apartments
Lol.travel
    1.2 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Room #1 bathroom
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • ZenHotels.com
    0.4 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Priceline
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Agoda.com
    1.3 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
    Free parking
    Pool
    Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
    • eDreams
    • Lol.travel
    0.6 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Breakfast
    Priceline
    Go to your Happy Price
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    • Vio.com
    2.4 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
    Free parking
    Pool
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
    2.4 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Salt Rock
    Reviews (220)
    Filter reviews
    220 results
    Traveller rating
    73
    81
    39
    18
    9
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    73
    81
    39
    18
    9
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews curry jungle gym scones family break sea beach caters patio
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    7 - 12 of 220 reviews
    Reviewed 27 July 2023


    I couldn't say how long ago it is since I first visited SRH. 40 years at least. I've been in and out over the years, but usually just for food or a function; I was never a regular, so it's hard to say how it's changed over the years. I know it's been spruced up a lot since my last visit- a much more dignified paint job for a start. Better parking facilities. Some new decks on the lawn. New furniture. But at heart, it's still the same old hotel, a bit of a time warp, but all the better for that. Our first day was blessed with one of those Natal coast midwinter days- bright and sunny. What a pleasure to sit out on the deck, Indian Ocean stretched out below us, and order a cold beer and a toasted curry sandwich- that's the life! We were back in SA for a wedding nearby, so we didn't dine in. Breakfast was OK, if a little overpriced, and the curry lunch we had on our last day was exactly as expected-worth every mile we'd travelled to get here.
    Our 2nd floor rooms were fine, if a little dated, with fantastic views from the balcony over the gardens, the beach, and the ocean beyond. One of them however was a little cramped, especially the bathroom, as it has been built around some sort of service shaft. Luck of the draw, I guess, although I think this should reflect in the pricing.

    Date of stay: July 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Jim D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 13 July 2023 via mobile

    We spent my wife's birthday and had a wonderful meal and stay. We were a little late for dinner but Rakesh our waiter was 11 out of 10 service. He made us feel so comfortable and welcomed. We have not met a friendly and respectful person like him in a very long time at a hotel/restaurant. To top it off he surprised my wife with a happy birthday cake and brought along his colleagues to wish my wife. Rakesh you made our evening thank you so much, we appreciate it

    Date of stay: July 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank damo1202
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 13 February 2023

    Stopped over for tea and scones and a beer or two in the late afternoon. Lovely environment with a beautiful view of the sea. Prices very reasonable and scones were lovely.
    Unfortunately I was really looking forward to their recommended curry but the evening we arrived we were turned back at the gate because of Covid and only guests were allowed in. Will be back.

    Date of stay: December 2022
    Thank Ray J
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dean Gilder, General Manager at Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2023

    Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed your scones. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Dean Gilder.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 31 October 2022 via mobile

    The hotel is right on the beach! That already had my kids chuffed. It is an old hotel, well looked after. The designs are old looking as well. Rooms are all sea facing. We stayed in a standard duplex room, had upstairs and downstairs worked well for us, family of 5, 2 adults and 3 children. The room we stayed was clean, and the bathroom looked new.
    It really is a good place to go and spend time outside. Good for the kids as well, on Saturday they played outside on the lawns till late and there were other few kids around. It was a nice treat for them.

    Date of stay: October 2022
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank L_Zul
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dean Gilder, General Manager at Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2023

    Dear Guest, thank you for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Dean Gilder.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 October 2022

    Waited One and half hours no food appalling service. We are Locals went somewhere else for lunch 😢. The waiter was the worse we have ever had
    Asked not to be charged? Never done this before!!! But today was the worst ever !!!!

    Date of stay: October 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank Wendy1454
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dean Gilder, General Manager at Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2023

    Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. Sincere apologies for the delay and for the poor service you received. We will do our best to improve on this. Kind regards, Dean Gilder.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews