We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ray J

Pleasant sundowners in a lovely environment

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Feb 2023
Stopped over for tea and scones and a beer or two in the late afternoon. Lovely environment with a beautiful view of the sea. Prices very reasonable and scones were lovely.
Unfortunately I was really looking forward to their recommended curry but the evening we arrived we were turned back at the gate because of Covid and only guests were allowed in. Will be back.
Date of stay: December 2022
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean Gilder, General Manager at Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review
Responded 26 Feb 2023
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed your scones. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Dean Gilder.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 814
  • Booking.com
0.1 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.3 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 055
  • Booking.com
0.5 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.6 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room #1 bathroom
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • eDreams
0.4 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
1.3 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 601
  • eDreams
0.6 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 561
  • Booking.com
2.4 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Breakfast
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
2.4 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Salt Rock
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
73
81
39
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
73
81
39
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews curry jungle gym scones family break sea beach caters patio
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2022 via mobile

The hotel is right on the beach! That already had my kids chuffed. It is an old hotel, well looked after. The designs are old looking as well. Rooms are all sea facing. We stayed in a standard duplex room, had upstairs and downstairs worked well for us, family of 5, 2 adults and 3 children. The room we stayed was clean, and the bathroom looked new.
It really is a good place to go and spend time outside. Good for the kids as well, on Saturday they played outside on the lawns till late and there were other few kids around. It was a nice treat for them.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank L_Zul
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean Gilder, General Manager at Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2023

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Dean Gilder.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2022

Waited One and half hours no food appalling service. We are Locals went somewhere else for lunch 😢. The waiter was the worse we have ever had
Asked not to be charged? Never done this before!!! But today was the worst ever !!!!

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wendy1454
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean Gilder, General Manager at Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2023

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. Sincere apologies for the delay and for the poor service you received. We will do our best to improve on this. Kind regards, Dean Gilder.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2022

The location is excellent. The rooms are clean. The Restaurant is appalling.
The service was,shocking and the food worse.
For breakfast I was presented with 2 rushers of burnt bacon. A ' sausage' that I couldn't cut and a dirty egg.
I entertained 14 guests and the food took so long one couple had to leave for an urgent engagement. We booked the table for 6.00 and finally got our food at 7.45.
I won't be back.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Celianne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean Gilder, General Manager at Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2023

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. Apologies for the poor service and quality of food you received. That is definitely not our usual standard. We will do our best to improve on this. Kind regards, Dean Gilder.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2022

Service was slow and manager was rude and miserable. The food is not to the standard it should me it's the most expensive in my opinion
The manager was rude and his attitude was not what I called professional. He needs to know how to speak to his customers

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank nerfititis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean Gilder, General Manager at Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2023

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. Sincere apologies for the slow service and rude manager. Will do our best to improve on this. Kind regards, Dean Gilder.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2022

We had a room with a balcony and a piece of the Ocean to marvel at. This is a charming old hotel and resort that caters for all ages. There is a lot to do within the resort and there’s a lot outside on the beach. It’s a pity that the restaurant manager couldn’t accommodate vegans in the breakfast special - we were forced to eat out for most of our meals - which was probably a good thing or we’d never have left the resort! There’s everything here from ping pong, to pool, to swimming and amazing Sunrises. I’ll definitely be back to this place.

Room tip: All rooms face the Ocean, but the rooms with balconies are definitely best
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank isangomap
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean Gilder, General Manager at Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2023

Dear Guest, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your review. Apologies that your vegan requirements were not accommodated. We certainly will do so when you next visit us. Kind regards, Dean Gilder.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews