We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
L_Zul
Krugersdorp, South Africa

Family break

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Oct 2022via mobile
The hotel is right on the beach! That already had my kids chuffed. It is an old hotel, well looked after. The designs are old looking as well. Rooms are all sea facing. We stayed in a standard duplex room, had upstairs and downstairs worked well for us, family of 5, 2 adults and 3 children. The room we stayed was clean, and the bathroom looked new.
It really is a good place to go and spend time outside. Good for the kids as well, on Saturday they played outside on the lawns till late and there were other few kids around. It was a nice treat for them.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean Gilder, General Manager at Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review
Responded 26 Feb 2023
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Dean Gilder.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 800
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    R 800
  • Vio.com
    R 800
  • eDreams
    R 800
0.3 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room #1 bathroom
R 1 415
  • Priceline
    R 1 415
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 415
  • Vio.com
    R 1 414
0.4 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 650
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 650
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 647
2.4 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Breakfast
R 1 650
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 650
  • Vio.com
    R 1 649
  • eDreams
2.4 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
Blue Room
R 684
  • Agoda.com
    R 684
  • Vio.com
    R 684
0.4 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 125
  • Priceline
    R 1 125
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 125
0.5 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Villa Lorelei
R 900
Fully refundable
    0.6 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
    R 2 250
    Fully refundable
    Earn Trip Coins after your stay
    • Vio.com
      R 2 241
    • ZenHotels.com
    1.3 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
      R 2 748
    • Vio.com
      R 1 838
    • Priceline
      R 2 190
    0.1 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
      R 1 513
    • Hotels.com
      R 1 353
    • Agoda.com
      R 1 513
    0.6 km from Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Salt Rock
    Reviews (221)
    Filter reviews
    221 results
    Traveller rating
    74
    81
    39
    18
    9
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    74
    81
    39
    18
    9
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews curry jungle gym scones family break sea beach caters patio
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    12 - 17 of 221 reviews
    Reviewed 30 October 2022

    Waited One and half hours no food appalling service. We are Locals went somewhere else for lunch 😢. The waiter was the worse we have ever had
    Asked not to be charged? Never done this before!!! But today was the worst ever !!!!

    Date of stay: October 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank Wendy1454
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dean Gilder, General Manager at Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2023

    Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. Sincere apologies for the delay and for the poor service you received. We will do our best to improve on this. Kind regards, Dean Gilder.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 September 2022

    The location is excellent. The rooms are clean. The Restaurant is appalling.
    The service was,shocking and the food worse.
    For breakfast I was presented with 2 rushers of burnt bacon. A ' sausage' that I couldn't cut and a dirty egg.
    I entertained 14 guests and the food took so long one couple had to leave for an urgent engagement. We booked the table for 6.00 and finally got our food at 7.45.
    I won't be back.

    Date of stay: September 2022
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    Thank Celianne1
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dean Gilder, General Manager at Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2023

    Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. Apologies for the poor service and quality of food you received. That is definitely not our usual standard. We will do our best to improve on this. Kind regards, Dean Gilder.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 August 2022

    Service was slow and manager was rude and miserable. The food is not to the standard it should me it's the most expensive in my opinion
    The manager was rude and his attitude was not what I called professional. He needs to know how to speak to his customers

    Date of stay: July 2022
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank nerfititis
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dean Gilder, General Manager at Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2023

    Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. Sincere apologies for the slow service and rude manager. Will do our best to improve on this. Kind regards, Dean Gilder.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 June 2022

    We had a room with a balcony and a piece of the Ocean to marvel at. This is a charming old hotel and resort that caters for all ages. There is a lot to do within the resort and there’s a lot outside on the beach. It’s a pity that the restaurant manager couldn’t accommodate vegans in the breakfast special - we were forced to eat out for most of our meals - which was probably a good thing or we’d never have left the resort! There’s everything here from ping pong, to pool, to swimming and amazing Sunrises. I’ll definitely be back to this place.

    Room tip: All rooms face the Ocean, but the rooms with balconies are definitely best
    Date of stay: May 2022
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank isangomap
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dean Gilder, General Manager at Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2023

    Dear Guest, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your review. Apologies that your vegan requirements were not accommodated. We certainly will do so when you next visit us. Kind regards, Dean Gilder.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 May 2022

    A favourite spot for us to unwind at the end of the week. The beer is cold the food is tasty and the service good. The kids have a ball and really enjoy the jungle gym and make friends easily.(Only critique would be have some spot lights that illuminate the jungle gym in the evening) Really like that you have extended the patios overlooking the palms and beach. See you soon again

    Date of stay: May 2022
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank mashman123
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dean Gilder, General Manager at Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2023

    Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback, much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Dean Gilder.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews