We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8 970)
Filter reviews
8 970 results
Traveller rating
3 244
3 213
1 492
642
379
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3 244
3 213
1 492
642
379
Show reviews that mention
All reviews adult pool beer garden las dunas family pool international buffet seafood a la carte restaurants lobby bar family section the bus pizza santa clara ice cream parlour chicken romantico restaurant the grill large resort
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 8 970 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Had a wonderful time here. Our room was excellent and walking distance from a great beach, complete with cabanas and a rustic bar. The main building was very modern and kept clean (like our room) by many hard working Cubans. The cafeteria had a good selection of food even though some things are hard for them to acquire due to the American embargo. There are also restaurants available for those who might like a change of cafeteria food.-----

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mugsyvictoriaB_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Guest:

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our resort as the destination for your vacation and for taking the time to post a nice review about your stay with us.

Do not hesitate to contact us if you decide to give us the chance to serve you again.

Best regards,
Laurent Labal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

It is my great pleasure to write review for Melia Las Dunas witch i visited more than 15 times already and i called this resort my home away from home.This resort is huge and beautiful, beach is breathtaking not mentioning the employees of Melia Las Dunas in each department represents the highest level of the hospitality theirs warmth and friendliness can melt your heart.I stayed in many different buildings and i love my room each and every time,thank you dear Sandra,Alejandro and Laurent for looking after my accommodation.Food was great , many variety of desserts and fruit you can not ask for more.That is one department witch i always mention their names because my holiday would not be full of fun and dancing without them,the most amazing Entertaining team thank you Yasel,Teo,Gisela,Carlos,Menesses,Isidro,Yoan,Yailyn,Barbara,Carlos Alberto,Alfredo and many more!!!! DJ Lazaro,Coco,Yasmani .Singer Liset and very talented dancers thank you !!!!!!! Thank you to all departments for the another amazing stay.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Renata S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Mrs. Renata:

Wow thank you very much for your 15th visit to Melia Las Dunas, I hope that real soon you will be here for the 16th one!!

Thanks also for mentioning so many staff members; I will let them now that you remember them all.

You will be always very welcome to our country as to Melia Las Dunas.See you soon Renata!

Laurent Labal
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

We spent one week at the Melia Las Dunas in May last week of this year with family and friends. this was our third trip to Cuba and I like this one the best.This is a large resort at the Santa Maria and it is beautiful resort touching the long beech.We stayed very close to the main loby, dining room and the beech. There was transportation for guests who needed.The rooms were big with balcony,fridge with bar and good comfortable bed.They had two large pools, alacarte restaurents and good entertainments. The nightly shows were very good, live music in the loby with talented singers. They had good staff in the dining rooms, bar and the transportation department.The house keeping staff was sincere and did a good job. The beech was long and never overcrowded. The food was typical Cuban food with many choices but it can be improved to the level of global guests.Finally we liked it very much and will go back .

Room Tip: All rooms are located close to everything.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank metha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for posting your comments on Trip Advisor about our hotel.

Do not hesitate to contact us when you decide to come again to our resort. We will be waiting for you in your next visit!


Kind Regards,
Laurent Labal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

The hotel must be rated on its location and facilities.....which if they’d been all open would help to make it worthy of a better rating.

Negatives - lots of renovations taking place
Many restaurants / bars and facilities were closed inc pools and jacuzzis, the ones open had algae, tadpoles and crabs in. Kids pools were empty. Fountains in lobby green with algae. ‘Sports club’ closed so
couldn’t get bats and cues for snooker and tennis etc.
Mosquitoes were horrendous but due to previous bad weather not surprising, and lots of fountains that were turned off, but the times of the fog truck could be better advised, not at meal times!
The buffet was not great and regularly had queues to get in or at the chef stations. BBQ area had a sewage smell.
The sanitation bins in restrooms were over flowing especially at the entertainment pool and lobby.
Many guests being ill with sickness and diarrhoea, not convinced that this is unrelated to hygiene/food as not suffered this in previous visits to Cuba. (Menus in restaurants advise its your responsibility to ensure the food is cooked properly!)

Positives - Stunning beach.
Staff were super friendly especially Pool bar staff and the entertainment team are a credit. Could be a great hotel if they open up, clean up.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank ChemTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear Guest:

First of all, I apologize and offer you our excuses for not having completely fulfilled your expectations in this occasion. Our intention is always to improve our service, that’s why your comments help us in this objective.

With regards to your report of illness, let me point out you that we, as hoteliers, follow the sanitary regulations according to the Health Ministry of Cuba, and our hotel is subject of frequent health and safety inspections held by the group of inspectors of the Cuban Health Ministry. Also Meliá Hotels Internationals is a company well known all over the world with regards to solid procedures and standards for food manufacturing and cleaning processes in all of our hotels and I guarantee you that our Meliá Las Dunas Hotel is not the exception. We do follow and respect all the necessary procedures to guarantee the health and safety all our guests.

Nevertheless, in most tropical countries, it is common the appearance of viruses that affect some people, this is not always related to food not-stored properly or use of contaminated water. Actually tourists may be more affected than other people as they are facing a great change in relation to weather and some other conditions, in some occasions we can see the apparition of tourist diarrhea, as a consequence of these changes.

Finally, let me tell you that it would an honor if you give us a new opportunity to demonstrate you the quality of the services of our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Laurent Labal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Absolutely disgusting, hotel rotten, full of mosquito... Food restaurant dirty and appalling, mice running round. Beach full of broken shells.... Place needs knocked down and built again, travelled to cuba 6 year and this has to be the worst hotel.... Stay well away from melia las dunas.... Disgusting!!!!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Danny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorMLD, General Manager at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Melia Las Dunas for your holiday.

We apologize for all of the inconvenience you mentioned and we are very sorry that the service received was not up to the standards you expected and deserved.

We sincerely thank you for your comments.

Please be assured that we will take them all into consideration, in order to improve our services and make our hotel a better choice for our clients.

Best Regards,

Laurent Labal
General Manager
Meliá Las Dunas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews