We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best vacation of my life!”
other travellers have booked this property
Dock at Back of Cottage on Dorcas Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dock at Back of Cottage on Dorcas Bay
Romantic Sunsets Views from the dock
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
Dock at Back of Cottage on Dorcas Bay
Romantic Sunsets
Views from the dock
Sunset views from deck
Master Bedroom - Queen Bed
Master bedroom
Master Bedroom - Closet
2nd Bedroom - Lower Double / Upper Twin
2nd Bedroom Closet
3rd Bedroom - Lower Level
3rd Bedroom Features Double & Twin Beds
3rd Bedroom Full Closet
4 piece bath - Main Floor
Powder Room - Lower Level
Living Room - Great Views
Living Room
Nice Leather Furniture Living Room
View From Massive Living Room Window
Field Stone Fireplace - 32' HD Flat Screen
Eat in Kitchen for 8+
Kitchen
Kitchen - Hallway
Gourmet Kitchen
Wood for fireplaces - Lower Level Entry
Wet Bar in Family Room
Family Room - Has Sofa Bed for Extra Guests
Wood Stove in Family Room
Wood Stove in Family Room - Bar at Far Side
Laundry Room - Front Load HE Washer/Dryer
Wet Bar View From Laundry Room
View of Bar at Far End of Family Room
Entertainment Center - Family Room
Wood Shack on Property
Long Paved Driveway - Lots of Parking
Jungle Gym / Wishing Well - On Property
View of Cottage From Dock
Fire Pit in Backyard
Views From Back Deck
Gas BBQ - Outdoor Dining for 8+
Dock
New Dock Addition with Sun Shade
New Dock Addition with Kayaks
New Dock Addition
New Dock Pavillion with Chairs
Tobermory, Ontario, Canada
Driveway Entrance Marker
Thanks For Visiting - Hope To See You Soon
Fall - Afternoon Sun, Morning Fog, Calm Sunset, Early Snow
Winter - Making The Ice Rink
Winter - Ice Rink Made
Winter - It's Hockey Night In Canada
Winter - Skating Behind The Cottage
Winter - Neighbors Drop By For Dinner
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Tobermory, Bruce County, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kaleenacr...
2 reviews
“Best vacation of my life!”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at Ethan's escape for 2 weeks, this was the best vacation of our lives! There was so much to do at the cottage and it was fully equipped with all you need plus so many other great things to do! Kayaking, paddle boating, biking, and bon fires! It was a trip we will never forget. We also got married while in tobermory, Nancy m was amazing she let us decorate how we wanted and allowed us to bring our guest back to the cottage for reception! Definitely a vacation that made so many memories for our family! Highly recommended!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S S
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Cozy and Relaxing”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Great relaxing weekend. Fall colors are fantastic in the Bruce Peninsula. The cottage was exactly as the pictures 'depict' and the amenities were as advertised. The place actually looks like its furnished 75% out of the IKEA catalogue and 25% from the Pottery Barn. We like both schemes, so for us the place was very cozy.
Our first cool fall evening was spent relaxing next to a toasty fire in the living room with a nice bottle of wine, a baguette and some cheese. The next morning we awoke to a lone coyote down by the dock, crunching across some very heavy frost laden grass.
Hiked the trails at Singing Sands which was only a few minutes away. Lots of critters scurrying everywhere in preparation for winter I suppose ... lots of photo ops. Kitchen was more than adequate for any type of meal preparation ... lots of pots, pans, utensils, etc. The property has a nice little archery range with archery equipment supplied...better half kicked my butt. Rode the peddle boat...that was a hoot!
The property is very central to most activities. Over all, a great place with lots to do or not to do. We'd like to come back in the winter for some snowmobiling and/or some cross country skiing, the trails appear close.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeroShan
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“amazing weekend getaway”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We had an amazing weekend at the cottage. Excellent scenery and very comfortable stay. As soon as we walked in, we felt at home. There was enough room for eight of us to sleep comfortably and amenities were available as advertised. I will definitely come back next year :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: scenery, backyard and rooms
Liked least: no complaints :)
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: spacious, clean, waterfront backyard
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TravelAng...
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice Stay in Tobermory, but with Pros and Cons”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed at Ethan's Escape for a weekend in May and enjoyed touring Tobermory and Flower Pot Island. The cottage stay had both pros and cons:

Pros:
-Hosts were very responsive to e-mail inquiries and answered any questions we had. Booking process was easy and all correspondence with the hosts were friendly.
-Accommodations are pet friendly, which was great for our little dogs.
-Nice view and centrally located, with ample parking.

Cons:
-Cottage appeared older than what we expected based on the photos.
-Lots of bugs outside of the house and also already inside the house when we arrived, so we had to spend a lot of time swatting mosquitoes. I would suggest providing some sort of mosquito repeller as it was really hard to go outside and use the BBQ/firepit due to the overwhelming amount of bugs.
-Kitchen is in need of an update, as well as windows, and some sort of window covering in the shower...

With a bit of renovating, I would consider to stay here again and recommend to friends, as the location was very convenient and the cottage was well equipped.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Pet Friendly
Liked least: Age and Cleanliness of Home as compared to online photos
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$113
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing