We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect views and pool”
other travellers have booked this property
Large pool, very private with fantastic mountain views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large pool, very private with fantastic mountain views
Pool terrace with umbrellas, loungers and sunbeds Living room with raised dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Large pool, very private with fantastic mountain views
Pool terrace with umbrellas, loungers and sunbeds
Living room with raised dining area
Living room, landing to bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 ensuite bathroom
Front patio, plenty of shade and fantastic views
Al fresco evenings, dining for ten
Bedroom 2, L-shaped and large enough for another bed, ideal for a child
View from bedroom 2
House bathroom, situated off the hall and next to bedroom 3
A shady garden path with a glimpse of the pool
The ancient olive tree gives poolside shade
Entrance and front garden, looking south to the coastal mountains
Relax and enjoy the view
Entrance hall and sun lounge, leading to the pool terrace
Spacious kitchen, room for all the family
A cosy corner where you can enjoy our collection of books
For more formal dining, the table extends to accommodate ten
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Orgiva, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Little_Au...
Winchester, UK
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect views and pool”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Five of us spent a delightful week relaxing here in a very hot July. The pool is superb and an old olive tree provides shade if you have done with baking in the sun. The views of the mountains are amazing. A car is essential (with aircon in summer) to reach the place, go shopping for provisions in nearby Orgiva - excellent butchers and bakers as well as two supermarkets - and up into the Alpujarras for some superb walking as well as a day's visit to the Alhambra in Granada.
The owner, Tuna, is very friendly and happy to provide advice and help if needed; she lives in an annex at the side of the property with her cats and dogs. She keeps the property spotless and was there to welcome us when we arrived.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: The local cockerel
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jules_Le...
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We wanted some serious down time, and this was the perfect place. A delightful villa, we didn't want for anything. Wall to wall sunshine and endless blue skies, pure heaven after the weather we have been having in the UK! The pool gets the sun all day, but there are plenty of places of get shade if needed, The most beautiful gardens, well done Tina, with home grown herbs for salads and BBQ's. Loved the terrace, we sat out till silly o'clock watching the hills turn pink as the sun went down, whilst drinks cocktails, with visits from Mr Jones the resident cat. Tina and Azzy were the perfect hosts, can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sitting on the terrace, the only should was birds and bees
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy B
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“An Oasis in Ogiva, Spain”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Just (reluctantly) returned home from an amazing time at Cortijo Caliz - and already wishing we were back at this fantastic place.

Tina and Azzy (and of course Jonesy the cat) made us so welcome from the moment we arrived to the time we left.

The house is an absolute oasis of peace and quiet. It's a 5 minute drive to the eclectic town of Orgiva which we also loved. Plenty of great bars and restaurants and a real local Spanish vibe.

However we spent most of our time around the superb pool and gardens at the house, which itself is well equipped with everything you will need. Loads of space to spread out and a lovely terrace to enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner during the barmy hot days and warm evenings.

We absolutely fell in love with the place and the peacefulness of it. Only 45 minutes drive from Granada and the same to the beaches via excellent roads - but nestled in the breathtaking hills with the most incredible views (a trip to the top is a must)!

What more can I say? Only that we've never been more sad to be leaving a holiday. We'll definitely be back.

We found Cortijo Caliz on Rustic Blue (ref ZA11) who were also superb in managing our booking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Didn't stay long enough.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiinaL248
1 review
“A rural yet luxurious holiday villa which exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Cortijo Caliz exceeded all of our expectations. From the warm welcome by the villa owner to the beautiful accommodations - not to mention the pool. The villa offered high-quality living including excellent mattresses in all beds, and the great welcome package was much appreciated by the tired travellers.
The villa is situated in a peaceful location 2 km outside the market town of Orgiva. Not impossible to walk but a car is a must. The town offers excellent groceries shopping at an incredibly cheap prices. The mountain scenery all around is simply stunning and the stars are something else to watch at nighttime.
The villa owner, Tina, was extremely accommodating and available to provide additional information. She recommended places to visit and restaurants to go to.
The best of the holiday was to hang around the pool during the day and to sit on the outdoor patio at night and enjoy the peace and quiet. We were an extended family who doesn't get to see each other too often. We loved the opportunity to enjoy each other's company in this beautiful setting, but also the villa being so big we all had our privacy when we so wanted.
The location allows for multiple day trips such as Alhambra in Granada and the quaint little village of Pampaneira. But there's much more!
A huge thank you to Tina and we hope to be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the multilayered living of the villa
Liked least: Seriously everything was great
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loveslife
st paul mn
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“perfect oasis of beauty and charm”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My husband and I stayed here for only 3 nights but we could easily have been happy for a month. The house is spacious and totally charming with outdoor spaces and terraces and beamed ceilings The gardens are gorgeous and you can sit by a beautiful pool under an olive tree reading a book in bliss. You feel like you really are in the country with roosters crowing and birds singing and goats and cats ambling. Orgiva is just a short drive away and there are the hill towns to explore and roads to wander. Tina the owner of the house is lovely and welcoming. She is available to answer questions but also does not intrude in the least. Do follow her directions and do not use your GPS!! It is a bit of an adventure to find the house but really not difficult and once you do, you will be so pleased with the feeling of being in real southern Spain with olive trees, ancient hills and towns --and the best part-good inexpensive wine to enjoy on a patio!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing