We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beatifully renovated house with lovely owner a...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Chapel Schoolhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Chapel Schoolhouse
The Old Chapel Schoolhouse - help yourself to the herbs in the garden! Across the valley
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The Old Chapel Schoolhouse
The Old Chapel Schoolhouse - help yourself to the herbs in the garden!
Across the valley
View to Stoodley Pike
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Living Room
Living Room
Solid Oak Staircase
Bathroom
Bathroom
Double Room
Double Room
Twin Room
Twin Room
Mezzanine chill out space
Utility Room
Secure Bike Store
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Todmorden, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Chris P
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beatifully renovated house with lovely owner a bonus”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My partner and I, with my 13 and 11 year old boys stayed for a long weekend. We dealt with Shirley, the co-owner - who was lovely and so friendly from start to finish. The house is newly renovated and is beautifully finished. It was a nice surprise that Shirley even left milk, bread, butter and OJ as a "starter kit" too. There are tins of food that you are expected to replace if you use too - so don't worry about arriving late with no provisions.....The main bedroom's mattress is very soft - which may suit some and towels are included too as is all linen. All told this is a wonderful place to stay in the local area. We will return when we visit family again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: No Wi-Fi - but we knew this when we booked - so no surprise there!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2013
Thanks for your lovely review, very pleased you had a great break. It was a pleasure to have you all stay and we hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 10 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Jul 2013
Many thanks for your positive review. Absolutely delighted you enjoyed your stay, enjoy the rest of your time in the UK!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LynG7
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful, clean, lovely outlook, and all facilities..”
Reviewed 11 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed for a long weekend as we had a family party in the area.
The house was beautifully decorated and had lots of interesting features.
It also had everything we needed for a lovely weekend, and not too far out of Todmorden.
There were also many footpaths and walks from the house, which we didn't have time to explore, and beautiful views over the valley towards Stoodley Pike.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position
Liked least: Cocks crowing very early across the road in the field.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your stay and many thanks for the lovely review. Hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christian...
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Many thanks for the lovely review. Perfect guests we look forward to seeing you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christian...
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2016
Je vous remercie infiniment pour la belle revue. Nous sommes très heureux que vous avez apprécié votre séjour et, évidemment, comme de grands clients, vous êtes les bienvenus à tout moment de retour!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing