We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for lunch”

Black Oystercatcher Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Bredasdorp
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: At the Black Oystercatcher Restaurant, we live by the season. We serve fresh produce that grows in our own garden as the seasons dictate. As a result, we offer a fresh dining experience, set in a relaxed country atmosphere. Here fresh food, complimenting our boutique wines, is prepared to order and enjoyed at leisure. The seasons also determine the mood at this Cape Agulhas restaurant: the refreshing sea breeze will cool you down in summer, or enjoy our cozy log fires in the winter months.
Reviewed 23 November 2017

Nice restaurant, fairly new built, roomy, relatively wide lunch menu, food well prepared. Pleasant ride through part of the beautiful Overberg landscape to get there (approx one hour drive from Hermanus). Nice view from the restaurant and very attentive service.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 571bengt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackOystercatcher, Public Relations Manager at Black Oystercatcher Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Hi 571bengt, thank you for taking the time to review our Restaurant, and for the kind comments. And we agree - the Overberg landscape is certainly fantastic, and worth visiting at any time.
Kind regards,
The Black Oystercatcher team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Very slow service, no welcome and a waiter who speaks so loudly the conversation at the far table is clearly heard at our table...

The electricity was off due to ESKOM. OK!
Can we have coffee please?
There's no power!
Don't you have gas?
Yes, but the kitchen is very busy!
Us and one other table, also finished eating, at that moment... but the kitchen is too busy to boil water...

No bill shown, just told our balance... Can I see a breakdown please? There's no electricity...
Just gave up asking as we just wanted to get away by now!

And shut up! There's no need to speak so loudly!
Ditto the staff arguing inside! Keep it down please?

No, no tip! Really disappointing experience...

To be honest? Very mediocre to disappointing food as well. The cheesecake was great, not the rest... two pieces of bread with a platter and most of the items like the pate were barely as much as a teaspoon full!

We will not go back!

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank GC_31427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackOystercatcher, Public Relations Manager at Black Oystercatcher Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Weary_of_Work_Travel, thank you for taking the time to review us. And we apologise that you had a disappointing experience at our restaurant. We were indeed caught off-guard without electricity - and apologise that we couldn't meet your expectations as a result of these circumstances beyond our control. We really do work to improve our service - even under circumstances such as when the power is off, and of course take all your comments very seriously. Our aim is to provide a fun, relaxing experience in the countryside; and your input helps us to always improve, even during trying situations.
Kind regards,
The Black Oystercatcher team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

The very scenic two-hour plus trip from Hermanus is highly recommended: Stanford, Gansbaai, Uilenkraalsmond, Baardskeerdersbosch, Elim and past two of our southernmost vineyards. During the whale season, allow enough time for a detour at Die Kelders to spot these magnificent sea creatures from the cliff-top – perhaps while having a coffee.
The entrance to the restaurant, past the “water-vywer” and across a large lawn, is very welcoming. Lunch is served either on the wide veranda or in a large, very pleasant hall. As a winery, the Black Oystercatcher offers a range of very nice house wines, and we were allowed a tasting of the various cultivars to help us choose the wine to go with our meal. The restaurant prides itself on their wide range of tempting salads, made with ingredients taken directly from their herb garden. Our party chose the steak pan: rump steak marinated in garlic and chilli, served with parmesan, garden salad and fresh bread. A very good choice, but not an easy one, when noting the tempting platters and other dishes ordered by other guests!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hekkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackOystercatcher, Public Relations Manager at Black Oystercatcher Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Dear Hekkies, thank you for such a wonderful review of the entire area - including the trip to the Black Oystercatcher. And we agree, setting some time aside to look out for whales is a must at this time of year. Thank you for the kind words regarding the Black Oystercatcher wines and our garden-to-table meal offerings. We hope to see you soon again.
Kind regards,
The Black Oystercatcher team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Without a doubt.....the best meal we have had in our 2 week holiday in South Africa.
The sun was shining so we sat outside, the staff were very friendly, professional and great fun.
The food was perfection on a plate!!
Steak, mussels, salads, breads, wine and beer tasting.
Thank you for our 3 hour lunch with you, we will most certainly be back on our next trip to South Africa.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank chubbyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackOystercatcher, Public Relations Manager at Black Oystercatcher Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Hi chubbyu, thank you for stopping at the Black Oystercatcher during your South Africa trip. And for the kind review. We really enjoyed spending those three hours with you, and look forward to seeing you on your next trip.
Kind regards,
The Black Oystercatcher team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

We started our visit with a wine tasting. Their wines are excellent & affordable. We then had gourmet burgers for lunch. It was very tasty & absolute value for money. If you leave hungry most definitely your own fault.
The staff is very professional, great sense of humour & an absolute delight.
This is a visit as often as possible venue.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Rascis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackOystercatcher, Public Relations Manager at Black Oystercatcher Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Hi Rascis, thank you for the kind review. We're glad you enjoyed the wine and the gourmet burgers. We take great pride in our service, so it's wonderful to receive feedback like this.
Kind regards,
The Black Oystercatcher team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Oystercatcher Restaurant also viewed

Bredasdorp, Overberg District
Bredasdorp, Overberg District
 
Bredasdorp, Overberg District
Bredasdorp, Overberg District
 
Bredasdorp, Overberg District
Bredasdorp, Overberg District
 

Been to Black Oystercatcher Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing