We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whale Trail guided by Africansunroad.”

De Hoop Whale Trail
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

Hiking the Whale Trail was truly an amazing experience. Especially thanks so Gillian and Ralph from Africansunroad. The food was great and the company even better! I would highly recommend.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cape nature"
in 8 reviews
"the cottages"
in 9 reviews
"cell phone"
in 5 reviews
"bunk beds"
in 4 reviews
"hot water"
in 5 reviews
"group of friends"
in 5 reviews
"de hoop"
in 8 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 5 reviews
"great hike"
in 3 reviews
"eco system"
in 2 reviews
"whale sightings"
in 3 reviews
"rock formations"
in 3 reviews
"don't expect luxury"
in 2 reviews
"an upgrade"
in 2 reviews
"hut to hut"
in 2 reviews
"plant life"
in 2 reviews
"five days"
in 2 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2018

This is a self-guided 5-day "slack pack" trail that certainly gives you a bit of everything.
Days 1 and 2 are in the mountains, which are covered in the most amazing fynbos. You'll get spectacular views of the Breede river and the surrounding valleys. Days 3, 4 and 5 are along the coast, where you'll be treated to whale (in season) and dolphin sightings.
If you're able to muster up a group of 12 friends / family, you'll have the accommodation to yourself. Don't expect luxury, but the facilities are more than adequate. The trail and accommodation is due for an upgrade next year, so hopefully the few niggles we had about the facilities will be dealt with.
Your food and clothing is transported from hut to hut, which is a real treat.
Wonderful experience; one needs a moderate degree of fitness for Days 1 and 2, but very enjoyable and well worth it.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Farm_girlTableView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018

Our long awaited Whale Trail already a week behind us and it is with absolute joy that I relive every moment of the trail. We were a group of 10, eight family members and two close friends, guided by our hosts Gilly and Ralph. This was, for me, close to a perfect holiday. The scenery, by times, took my breath away. The variety of fynbos, the flowers, the rocks, the cliffs, the sea and the white sand at times were absolutely stunning.The purity and undisturbed nature made this a special trail. Our hosts, with their passion for and knowledge of plants, animals, insects and nature overall, definitely contribute to the way we experienced every aspect. Their friendliness, patience and good spirit amazed me. We were treated on breakfast, teatime snacks, lunch, a delicious supper, tea and coffee and wine every day. For me ,to have nothing to do with the planning of meals for the trip and be surprised by delicious meals each day, was heavenly. Then there were the whales. Lots and lots of them on our hike along the coast. What an experience and definitely one of the highlights! At the end, when we had to bid our hosts farewell, it was sad to leave our hosts, who became like friends to us. This is a get away in the true sense of the word and I would recommend this trail with AfricanSunRoad to everyone who wants, a break away in nature and a treat to themselves, at the same time. Minda Kuschke

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Minda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

We did the AfricanSunRoad guided Whale trail with Ralph and Gilly as our guides. It was and amazing experience and our guides made it all the better and very special. They are great cooks and great storytellers!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Compass827657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Ralph and Gilly were our guides on the whale trail we completed on the 12th of October 2018. They took such good care of us and all we had to concentrate on was to enjoy the sight seeing and get from point a to be. I really enjoyed the fact that they had so much knowledge of all the animals and plants we saw on the trail and that includes everything I got to learn about Southern right whales and humpback whales. The food Gilly and Ralph prepared for us was amazing and to meet people that have so much passion and love for nature was truly an amazing experience!

I would without a doubt recommend Ralph and Gilly as tour guides for anyone interested in doing something like the wail trail!

Best regards,

André Kuschke

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank André K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Hoop Whale Trail also viewed

Bredasdorp, Overberg District
Arniston, Overberg District
 
Bredasdorp, Overberg District
Bredasdorp, Overberg District
 

Been to De Hoop Whale Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing