We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa with pool and views of the sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa with pool and views of the sea
Villa swimming pool with views to the sea Praia das Maçãs beach, less than 5 mins walk away
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Villa with pool and views of the sea
Villa swimming pool with views to the sea
Praia das Maçãs beach, less than 5 mins walk away
Spacious lounge with satellite TV, DVD and WiFi
Lounge
Fully equipped, modern kitchen
Sintra World Heritage site: Pena Palace in Sintra, just a short drive away
Sintra World Heritage site: Magical Reqaleira Palace and Gardens, 20 Mins drive away
Sintra World Heritage site: Monserrate Palace and gardens, just a short drive away
Front entrance and landscaped garden with games to enjoy
The lovely private pool
Master bedroom with ensuite and access to upper balcony with views of the sea
Twin bedroom with ensuite and access to upper balcony with views of the sea
Sunny upper balcony with loungers and seating
Double bedroom with access to private balcony with views of the garden
One of the 5 bathrooms
Twin bedroom with views of the garden
Twin bedroom
Ground floor double bedroom with ensuite and views of the sea
Many lovely restaurants, open all year. Just 5 minutes walk from the villa
Village Lido, 300 meters away.
Tennis courts and 5-a-side football pitches, 5 mins walk away
Wine tasting in Adega Colores, 5 minutes drive (or one stop on the tram)
Activities throughout the year including cycling, golf, horseriding & even paintball
Local festivals include the Blessing of the Sea at Praia das Maçãs on the last Sunday of August
Take the tram from the village to Sintra, a 100 year old voyage!
Sun deck and loungers
Balcony with seating for twelve, perfect for al-fresco dining.
Dining Room, decorated with beautiful Portuguese tiles and seating twelve
Entrance hall
Upper landing
View of Praia Das Macas with the villa on the far right (with chimney, past the lido)
Beautiful landscapes and things to do, even in winter
Praia Grand beach, popular for surfing. 15 minutes walk, past neolithic cliff-top remains
Nearby village of Azhenas Do Mar, 15 minutes walk away
Lisbon, capital of Portugal can be easily reached by train from Sintra or is a 40 minute drive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Praia das Macas, Lisbon District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah J
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Getaway”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The villa is beautiful, the pool and gardens are stunning, the location is spectacular and the host Ralph is first class. His local knowledge is brilliant and the local restaurants he recommends are well worth a visit especially Buzio....the beaches are clean and the locals are so welcoming. We will definitely be returning as there is so much to do locally that we couldn't fit it all into a week. Loved every minute

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver T
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spacious villa in a good location”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We've just returned from a week in Casal de Santa Maria, with a group of 11 friends aged 27-30 and had a great time!

Location and local area:
The villa is very conveniently located a short (5-10mins) from the village centre and beach, and all the other facilities that Praia das Macas offers - numerous good restaurants, a few bars, cafes (and even 1 nightclub!), so was perfect for our group. The village is based around the beach area and despite being smallish, is fairly lively every day of the week. Fortunately it doesn't appear to have any large hotels or mass foreign tourism that some areas of Portugal have. The village is well geared up and welcoming for tourists, but retains a local feel. The restaurants, for example, are authentically Portuguese, good quality and very reasonably priced, almost all offering a range of fresh seafood and local wine (from €6 a bottle!).
We did not hire any cars, but this wasn't a problem. We all visited Sintra for a daytrip, and both the tram and the buses that go there are on the villa's doorstep. Travelling to Lisbon (and the airport) by public transport was also possible, which was an advantage as we all arrived separately.
The only thing we might have used a car for was a trip to the supermarket. Though the village has a well-stocked shop as well as baker, butcher, and market, the nearest large supermarket is in Sintra. We took a trip there by taxi, which was €37 return.

Villa:
The villa was plenty big enough for 11 adults (we could have squeezed in one more), spotlessly clean and very well equipped. Everything is as described and presented in the photos. There is outdoor space at the back (around the pool which has 6 sun-loungers, as well as table and chairs), on the terrace, and in the garden at the front, so I would imagine there's plenty of areas for children to be entertained. There are also plenty of games, including table tennis and darts. There is potential to dine indoors in the dining room, or outside on the terrace, with both having large table and plenty of chairs.

Ralph, who manages the property, was entirely helpful throughout the whole process, from booking to checkout. A few of us hired bikes one day and Ralph took us for a spin around the local area, free of charge. Our group was, shall we say, perhaps a little paler skinned than average, so we asked whether there were any more sunshades - Ralph bought several new ones and delivered them the next day! He was always available to answer any questions and make recommendations.

Our deposit was returned before we left, in cash with no issues.

The price of the villa is fair, especially as you can save money by avoiding hiring a car/taxis as everything's walkable.

Overall I booked this villa because it had everything we wanted: pool, close to the beach, near a choice of bars/restaurants, but not in a large resort, and with options for daytrips nearby.

Thanks Ralph!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Villa facilities, amenities in town, close to beach.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne M
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fabulous villa in a great location”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Fantastic villa for a large group. Plenty of space for everyone, spotless bathrooms, well equipped kitchen and good sized pool. Every need has been catered for and the small town of Praia das Macas has everything we needed in terms of restaurants, bakery, beach and access to the beautiful area around Sintra. Highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murtie
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic villa and great part of Portugal”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Casal de Santa Maria is an amazing villa. Probably the best equipped rental property I've stayed in. We spent a week there with four kids (10, 8, 4 and 9 months) and five adults and it was ideal for all of us. The villa was spotlessly clean, secure and there are tons of bathrooms, which is great when sharing with so many. There's loads to do for kids (young and old!), including a games room (table tennis, darts) and volley ball net and target golf in the front garden. The pool and pool area are excellent. The only very minor downside is the pool was too cold to swim in May when the outside temperature is 18-20 degrees (about half the week we stayed). When the sun shined and the temp got above 20 we did swim (bracing, but fun).

Ralph, the villa manager, was incredibly helpful and knowledgeable both before we arrived and whilst we were there...nothing was too much trouble for him. He does cycling tours if you're keen.

The Praia das Macas area is great. Plenty of eating and drinking options, but very low key (it's where people from Lisbon holiday rather than loads of European tourists). The locals are very friendly and most places were very reasonably priced. The beach is large, sadly it was too chilly to swim. One word of advice: if you get the tram from Praia das Macas to Sintra, arrive early. We were in the off season, and the tram was full! Also, get advice or a good guide book and map when you get to Sintra, as the tram drops you in the new town, not the old town where all the sights are. We were a little unprepared and spent a while walking in the wrong direction (not fun with a push chair and young kids!). Sintra is well worth a visit though, loads to see.

All in all, we had an excellent holiday and would thoroughly recommend both Casal de Santa Maria and Praia das Macas.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBrouwer2...
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
“Comfortable house in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed at the villa for one week with two families. We'd asked Ralph to do some groceries the day we arrived, so on top of the nice welcoming basket with delicious fruit and other surprises, we found fresh fish, vegetables in the fully equipped kitchen.
The house was very comfortable and clean and all you need for a perfect stay was there. 6 bedrooms and 5 bathrooms, beautiful garden, swimming pool and great view!
We loved the small village, the ocean and cafes and bars and the very friendly local people. We had long walks from Praia das Macas to Praia Grande..If you can wait with breakfast until 10 am you will find a small bakery within only a few minutes walking distance where you can buy the most delicious fresh bread.
Definitely a place to return to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice places to sit outside
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing