We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
31
16
9
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
16
9
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lapland safaris teething problems chair lift northern lights booking trips ski lift local dishes light show would definitely stay here again toboggan slope wonderful hotel easy access meatballs sofa bed hotel restaurant town centre glass roof
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

First I must refuse all negative comments here. Maybe somebody was awaiting something that didn’t get, but this is Finland - moreover Lapland! We are here to enjoy the nature, slopes, northern lights or hiking. Not perfect shower or stairway.
Location of the hotel is simply unbeatable. Go across the hill made of snow just next to your room and you are on the slope. Skiing here was maybe the best I have ever experienced.
Suite is small but good. New, wonderful smell of wood and clean. Housekeeping also worked well.
Breakfast also cool. Dinners amazing! Try the raindeer triple. Out of this world.
Comeback location, no doubt. Staff of the hotel is really cool also. Loved it.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank JiriR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

The most outstanding thing about this hotel is it's location away from the town which grants visitors an excellent opportunity to view the Northern Lights from their room without being washed out by street lamps.
The staff was very helpful and friendly, and the atmosphere was cozy and comfortable.
This was a family vacation and we stayed in a scenic view room which could accommodate all four of us (two adults, 17 and 13 year old boys). The beds are upstairs with a sofa bed on the ground floor. Because of the stairs, my husband and I decided to sleep on the sofa bed which turned out to be surprisingly comfortable. The stairs are steep and dangerous even for my kids. One of them slipped twice, thankfully they are young and didn't get hurt. Overall the room served it's function, sleep, shower, etc..... after all, we were outdoors all day. In my opinion the rooms are limited in size and when all four of us were together in the room it felt cramped. I would recommend the room for two people, but then, with the beds upstairs........... well..........
The breakfast was nice with many local products and VERY strong coffee. The staff was always making sure that there was enough food out in the buffet. We had dinner once and the food was delicious. Lunch was a buffet of local food (soup, salad and dessert) and it was all very good.
The hotel might seem expensive, but prices are very high in Saariselka so in the end it is well priced for the area.
Overall my family was very happy with the hotel and we would like to return.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

A lovely quiet hotel in a wonderful location. The staff were really helpful booking trips, arranging taxis, tables for dinner... nothing was too much trouble and all ran smoothly. The restaurant food was tasty and fresh. The hotel is warm and welcoming. The acccomodation (we stayed in an aurora cabin) and it was clean, modern and comfortable. The fact the shower isn't enclosed in the bathroom didn't bother us. We could have done with somewhere to hang a coat or drawers/storage for our clothes but this isn't a deal breaker. We were lucky enough to see the northern lights on our trip (early March). We would recommend the Husky safari and had great fun tobagganing from outside our hotel (skiing/snowboarding is also available from the hotel door).

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank WalsallMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

The hotel was well located to see the aurora borealis, but that was wasted by very poor customer service.
We stayed in the Star Artic for a week in February. The website promised luxurious facilities and top- quality service, but nothing furthest from reality.
When We arrived, we saw that there was no reception- the front desk was the hotel bar itself. The woman who was there was totally unfriendly and inattentive,and there was no body to take our suitcases to the room. Do we have to carry them down the frozen and slippery road? No, thank you.

We took a scenic view room first and aurora cabin afterwards. Both were disappointing.
The former because the stairs were very dangerous , or as other have described,"a death trap". The latter,because the bathroom was tiny, so when you have a shower, everything got splashed and there wasn't enough room for one of us to take a shower while the other brushed her teeth. Really uncomfortable!

There was no closet, nor a place to leave your luggage,that's why we had to leave it on the floor all the time. Amenities were low quality and there weren't enough of them.

Breakfast and dinner were very low quality and there was a very limited offer. Having mash potato for dinner three evenings in a row isn't what I would call top-quality service.

The airport transfer service left much to be desired. Not because of our driver ( who did everything he could) but because we shared the ride with other customer, but not the price! We were charged as if we had been alone in the car. Besides, I think the hotel should also have a transfer service to Saariselkä. We had to go there several times and had to pay a fortune in taxis.

All in all,we had very poor service at luxury- hotel prices.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Anaetxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarArcticHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Star Arctic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear Anaetxe,

Thank you so much for your comments!

We are keen to let you know that the points you have made were all things we needed improvement. We have been doing our best to make things improve during the season, and now that the season is over, we can actually really start to go everything else through with our staffs and managing team. The issues you have mentioned, some has been fixed while still open, and those what was possible while guests were staying with us, and all others will be taken care of during this summer, while we are closed most of the time. We have located an own team to counter and fix these issues.

We want you to know that we will do everything to improve all the aspects mentioned above. Thank you again for your important feedback, and hopefully you will give us a new chance in the future, if you find yourself wanting to visit Lapland again! :)

Best Regards,
Kang
Star Arctic Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

You cannot imagine, how much light this place has on sunny day!
Perfect views from the restaurant, friendly staff. Most of the places in town are very rustic and dark, here you feel like you are in Swiss Alps.
Saariselka needed place like Star Arctic.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Indrė P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews